INTRODUCTION POST

in #introduceyourself7 years ago (edited)

About Me

Hey everyone! So as a new member of Steemit, I figured I'd write a brief post introducing myself. If you couldn't already tell from my username, my name is Brandon and I just graduated from college in May with a Bachelors degree in Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering.

(I'm the one on the left and sorry for the blurry picture)

During my time at UB, I was a member and Captain of the AIAA Design, Build, Fly (DBF) Team... basically I helped to design and build a really cool RC airplane, pictured below.
For those of you who don't know, DBF is a yearly competition hosted by Cessna or Raytheon Missile Systems and is an international competition. This past year, it was held in Tucson, AZ, hence the mountains in the background. Anyways, check out their website if you want to know a little more about it and the missions this plane flew. I might even make another post dedicated to this years competition and upload a video of it flying if its something that you would like to see. Let me know in the comments!

Hobbies and Interests

So in addition to designing and building RC airplanes for my club, I also fly my own RC airplanes and quadcopters. I'm hoping to post a brief article or two about my newest airplane that I am designing and the build process that goes along with it... just have to finish the preliminary design work, but here is a sneak peak of that:

While I may be a huge nerd, I am also extremely into health and fitness. I enjoy working out 4-5 times a week, running 2-3 times a week, and eating healthy. I'm also a huge Big Brother fan (the show on CBS ) and watch it every summer. With the new season starting tomorrow, I'm thinking I might do a weekly review of the game and make predictions on what I think certain players will do or what will happen.

Let me know if you think any of these are ideas worth writing about in the comments! If you enjoyed or might enjoy anything I mentioned above, give me a follow.

"Always remember, there are no boring subjects, there are only boring people." - Dan Holohan

Sort:  

Welcome! gave you a follow!

Welcome to Steemit @brando95 :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Brandon, welcome to Steemit! Sounds like a really cool career path you're taking. I actually worked for Raytheon for a while and know the true definition of nerding out. LOL. I was thinking about getting into quadcopters because of all the advances in those types for drones. It's really interesting. Let's support each other. I'm following.

Oh wow how did you like working for Raytheon? And yes drones are definitely the future of the aerospace industry.

It wasn't bad. But, it's a really huge company with many entities within itself. You can feel like a number some days. I got to do some traveling and meet a lot of great people. Depending on which area you work, it can be a nerd dream-come-true.

Congratulations @brando95! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

 Welcome to this incredible platform, hope everything will work out for you. Being here it’s not easy but not difficult neither only an extra effort will go a long way, engagement is the key good luck I’m @tinashe Start by Following ,Upvoting &Resteeming people and they will do the same. 

Support steemit Zimbabwe👉 CLICK HERE

Thank you

 

Thank you for the tips, I will definitely keep those in mind.

you are welcome

Welcome to steemit Brandon and congratulations on getting your degree, I'm also new to steemit, it seems like a great platform with wonderful people, let's support each other I just followed you

Thank you, I'm very excited to see where my degree takes me in life. I gave you a follow back as well, thanks for the support!

Welcome to Steemit! I gave you a follow. Have you considered working in drones at all btw?

I've done a little work with drones. I modified the CX-20 (Quanum Nova) quite a bit to make it more user friendly and to take better pictures. I added telemetry, a gimbal, camera, fpv capabilities, and made the battery bay slightly larger. Do you fly drones yourself?

Not regularly, but I had a roommate for two years who worked with them a lot. Now he's developing a company in his country that uses drones for data acquisition. I'm not well-versed enough to understand all those terms you mentioned but I've at least heard of all of them lol

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprise you on August 1 ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62934.10
ETH 2452.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66