Intro: Jake Here. Long time bitcoin / crypto user brand new Steemian (Let's have a chat)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

Hello Steemians - I'm Jake and this is my first day here. I started my crypto / bitcoin journey in 2011 and struggled to find a way to buy 2000 coins via paypal..lol. I didn't quite trust Mt.Gox so I held off..for 2 years. I piled in..in 2013, made a fortune, lost a fortune..normal crypto stuff..been there, done that, have the t-shirt and the regret.

I'm an American expat in Bangkok, Thailand. I've loved it here since I first arrived on a deployment via Okinawa, Japan. I'm a U.S Navy Veteran and former "warzone" contractor.

Here's me looking silly in Kuwait when I had to figure out why people were firing shots outside of the base
kuwait2.jpg

Bonus pic of me in Afghanistan dropping off computers as an IT contractor..I'll share more if anyone is interested. 3.5 years in the stan fixing governemt and military IT issues
delldelivery.jpg

and here's a pic from a helicopter above Kabulkabulfromabove.jpg

It was always the highlight of my day / week. Flying up above all the BS in Afghanistan was always a way for me to relax and take it all in. I loved it and for a couple of years I was able to fly 3-4 days a week.

When I first started contracting I was in Iraq, in the North a bit south of Mosul - which is a complete mess right now. I was bored out of my mind after 1.5 years and moved to Bangkok. I wish I could say I was here ever since but as the pictures above show I departed and went to Afghanistan for 3.5 years....responsibilities were calling and I had a kid on the way....sure, I guess I'll take that job!

Going forward..A friend told me about Steemit the other day, I read the white paper..and I sort of fell in love. It's a brilliant design and I sincerely hope it becomes the future of social media. I believe it will or maybe a reincarnation of it will. We / this is the future..and I'm excited beyond belief to have come across such a platform. Nearly as excited as when I stumbled across bitcoin.

Very happy to be here and I'll be sure to tell more of my story and my current lifestyle over the next few days. Follow if you would like to get to know me a bit better.

--@bkkjake

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @bkkjake :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Appreciate it..Thank you!

Welcome @bkkjake Great to see you onboard. I'll resteem ya!

Cheers..thanks!

Welcome, also based in Bangkok. Following.

Followed you back!

Hey Jake. Welcome. Yep, it is the future of social media. I'm excited to be here and just started too. Can't wait to learn more about your story. Cheers

Welcome to family :) Follow me back and I will surprise you on August 1 ;)

Welcome to steemit !! check this link out it might be helpful.. Goodluck

https://steemit.com/steemit/@yemmy4eva/5-easy-steps-to-building-a-great-steemit-page

You made it here! WELCOME!

Hey! Thanks!

Hello and welcome to steemit. Greeting from India. I am going to upvote and follow you. Hope you will do the same. Join my facebook group to stay connected: https://www.facebook.com/groups/1476509005704483/
Hope you will enjoy this platform.

Welcome to Steemit @bkkjake! Nice to meet you. Remember me when you are rich!

PS. Follow @ENAZWAHSDARB for entrepreneurial value content, my blog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44