Of sock puppets and witch hunts

in #identity8 years ago (edited)

Steemit, I have something to say and I don’t think you’ll like it.

I came here by @kushed’s invitation based on my writing on The Huffington Post and what I could offer as far as original work that will both support Steemit through the curation of quality content. I understood the community to be supportive and excited about building a platform based on excellent, meaningful content and rewards for its curation. I wanted to contribute, but what I hoped for was a place I would be welcomed based on my original work rather than my credentials.

The fact is, I have the credentials. I am a woman with a family and friends, a history and a career in writing. I also have a stalker I would love to not have access to just one piece of who I am and what I do as well as abusers who have stood in the way of me expressing myself fully at every turn of my life. To say I was excited to have a space where I could be honest about who I am and what I am going through without those people finding it is a vast understatement. It is not easy constantly curating my life, but I have done it since I understood how to hide or stay silent.

I read around Steemit for awhile before choosing to share as @honeyscribe. I wanted to be sure my topics would be welcome. I was unaware of what happened with @msgivings until my own anonymity had been ripped from me—but not because I was plagiarizing. I have never plagiarized. I stated in my introduction that I am a well-established writer who is sharing work on Steemit it is not safe to share in my public life. The work appears nowhere else because it was written for this forum, this community.

I approached it as though I was writing for any other publication, feeling out the community first to get a general sense of responsiveness, but quickly beginning my work on issues I would otherwise avoid due to my given name in the byline. My work being promoted by @kushed struck me as normal. After all, there were other “publications” running on Steemit, other circles of promotion, and having him stamp his approval on my work is no different than appearing in a well-known magazine.

I shouldn’t need to prove myself or unmask myself.

You can learn plenty about me through my writing if you care to actually know me. However, it is my right to tell my story without my face attached if that is the safest way for me to do so, regardless of potential curation rewards.

Yet here is what happened: The Steemit community set to work exposing masked contributors in a knee-jerk response to betrayal by a long-term trusted writer. I was caught in the crosshairs. It became unacceptable that I write without a face. I didn’t understand that a girl can’t be no one here. My grasp of how Steemit works is still tenuous. I have been treating it like Facebook meets Reddit. We share information such as personal stories or researched work, interact and make friends. The only difference being there is a financial reward for good work. Since no one told me in comments or otherwise that my work was not good, I assumed it was being well-received and that I was as well.

I was wrong. I was being hunted.

Discovery

It didn’t take long for the rumor mill to bring me news there were efforts to unmask me. That was immediately frightening. I requested a “fresh” account from @kushed. I asked because I wanted a place where I could write pieces of my present and past under a new pseudonym. I put up a placeholder introduce yourself post, thinking of it as my landing pad should @honeyscribe be compromised. I created a persona I could write from that was slightly less exactly myself, giving her a different name but my history. @kushed had been sitting on an account that was perfect for me to try writing my story from a new angle. Like @honeyscribe, because I didn’t create it, it wouldn’t lead back to me. That account was @perspective.

Almost immediately after, I came into contact with @reneenouveau outside Steemit. On Sept. 10, we private messaged about @honeyscribe on social media over the course of a day so she could better understand 1) I am an actual person and 2) I have real reasons for wanting to remain anonymous. Real reasons, again, such as physical and mental safety.

Using a pen name or alias is not a new practice. Have you ever wanted to speak up but felt unsafe? Many know the feeling I am talking about.

Once @reneenouveau knew who I (@honeyscribe) was, the paranoia truly came crashing in. I stuck with writing about positivity, the same type of writing that made me think Steemit was an encouraging, caring place rather than an angry, paranoid machine hell-bent on revealing all secrets.

Even though @reneenouveau has shown herself to be kind and supportive, she knows who I am and that removed my immediate sense of safety. My identity was no longer controlled since choice had been taken out of the equation. It was a double-edged sword. Now someone could vouch for me, but she was also someone who could reveal me. And when you have been repeatedly abused and are struggling with a stalker, this is not a simple consideration.

The birth of @perspective

September 11 is a dark day reminiscent of its own horrors. I made a goal to keep my chin up and started in on telling my story as @perspective with the intention of gradually shifting away from the more dangerous (i.e. partially known) parts of my story as @honeyscribe.

I didn’t want @perspective promoted. I just wanted to start again and try to find the under-community I know Steemit is harboring; writers and survivors who choose positivity when given the chance.

I fleshed out @perspective with the goal of making the account more personable and less suspect, interacting with it as @honeyscribe and vice versa. My thinking was it would differentiate the pair of accounts. I didn’t know that was a practice that fell under the term sock-puppet or that it was frowned on. It’s embarrassing, but I was fully ignorant of these facts. In light of @msgivings et al, I can see why it would be a monitored practice on Steemit, but that has only just occurred to me. My skills do not lie in the technical realm.

Trying again

I jumped right back into writing aspects of my various abuses from a different “perspective,” hoping this time Steemit would leave me to my writing. I grew the account more organically and worked to incorporate more photos from my life.

Here are the strange facts: the majority of my writing in both accounts is true. Names, dates, places have been changed and I jumbled the timelines, but the topics are the heart of who I am and have been. Both faces are me. No, not “schizophrenic” faces. I am both @honeyscribe and @perspective just as you are a daughter/son and a sister/brother or girlfriend/boyfriend or wife/husband or lonely woman/man or cat/dog.

Re-discovery

I applaud the detective work of @ats-david. He is very clever and deeply dedicated to eradicating any whiff of duplicity on Steemit. What he has shown is that I am no great wit when it comes to technology, but he is. I had no goal of “scamming” the system. I am a writer. I wanted to write. I thought it could be my freedom from constant policing. So I wrote. I appreciate his educated journalistic work and the neutrality he extended with his suppositions as to my reasoning behind my actions. I also greatly appreciate the care he has for the sanctity of Steemit. In bringing up those concerns, he is working to make Steemit the safe place I was searching for.

Still, I wish he would have contacted me another way, such as inviting me to steemit.chat via comment, so I could connect with him and attempt to answer questions. He never attempted to contact me to confirm his suppositions which is an important piece of journalistic practice. Rather, he simply sought to expose me publicly to get to whales. This is of great concern to me, especially as he seems to have read my work and must therefore be aware I am writing on topics that put me in genuine jeopardy should I be publicly unveiled.

Please, Steemians, take note that sometimes people hide their faces not because they are liars, but because it is the only way they can step safely into the greater world. Again, I will point to the fact that all work here has been original.

Writing on two accounts and the curation rewards concern

While I didn’t want it promoted the way @honeyscribe was, I did want @perspective read. It wasn’t about curation rewards. Again, I can see why that would be a concern, but until recently, @perspective wasn’t being widely read. I understood the jump in readership and curation rewards to be a result of the commenting and following I was doing with that account with the goal of finding that elusive Steemit community and being heard (or, in other words, no longer feeling silenced). There is great power in stepping back into who you were to dispense the advice you wish you had heard.

An example being that if I were to talk to that just-unmasked @honeyscribe based on what I know today, I would tell her two things:

  1. Steemit is hurting right now due to an egregious misuse of anonymity, and while you will think it looks very different from the anonymity you seek, Steemit will see it as the same.
  2. If you are going to give this a try, do some research on covering your online tracks because you are not naturally duplicitous and this choice puts you at extreme risk.

I thought because I have learned to hide in real life, I could keep myself hidden online. Not so. At this moment, I genuinely wish I were a person who was better at lies than honesty. Not because I want to trick anyone. I only want to feel safe.

What does it all mean? What’s the takeaway here?

It has become an express concern that there are people here on Steemit who don’t believe or care that outing me could cause me mental and physical harm. They are intent on stripping me and tying me to the viewing post even if it is just to get at a whale for a perceived wrong.

I understand that this community is hurting due to recent betrayals. I understand how my trying to hide my identity a second time after having to out myself the first could be viewed as a betrayal. I offer you an apology if I have hurt you. I truly am sorry. I hoped I could be a thriving part of this groundbreaking platform. I had a wish to connect with other survivors of abuse. I will find another path.

I have experience recognizing when I’m not welcome. I am leaving, despite that @kushed has encouraged me to “not just give up because of a couple of internet trolls. Face them head on with the truth, for better or worse and never succumb to providing ID or any other info you are not comfortable with. There are always going to be nasty kids in the sand box, so you can’t simply stop playing.”

I agree. But when my personal safety is on the line, nothing is worth this level of scrutiny. I’m not a witch, although I did meet one recently. Still, I see the torches approaching. I don’t want to get burned for trying to contribute conversation on a platform built for it. I most especially don't want to add to the hurt Steemians are carrying due to recent events.

Steemit, I hope you have better luck not being betrayed. I also hope you have better luck not betraying the confidence of your contributors.

Many of you did show up as friends. I see and appreciate you. I believe this platform has the potential to be a safe space run on mutual empowerment via quality content creation and appreciation-based awards. It’s all about coming together in good faith. I wish that for you all.

If it turns out I have misread the animosity (although I think it unlikely), please let me know. @ned and @dantheman gave their stamp of approval on @ats-david’s skilled outing post. That doesn’t necessarily mean they dislike me or my presence here. Maybe they will chime in.

I would love to be proven wrong and keep writing here. I will be happy to answer questions as long as they don’t point to my offline identity. Again, my safety may not seem like a real issue to you, but it is extremely real to me. At the very least, please realize I have children who can be affected by the abusers in my life should they find more reason to come after me. As I’ve said, clean breaks aren’t always possible even if they are preferable.

Thank you, Steemit. It’s been . . . an adventure.

Images from pixabay.com

Sort:  

" I believe this platform has the potential to be a safe space"

The blockchain is not a safe space. It never has been, and it probably never will be. The blockchain is the jungle, it's the raw, untamed wild west, where a free person can either make a fortune or lose one. It is not for the meek, the timid, or anti social. It might be for the anonymous, but that's up to one who wants to be anonymous.

I agree now. I don't have a clear understanding of the blockchain. The platform I was referring to was Steemit itself. I do believe it has the potential to become a community model based in support and content excellence. I think that is what it tries to be but has yet to achieve.

Wow! Just . . . . Wow! (Please stay, honeyscribe!)

People need to leave accounts that state that they wish to be anonymous alone.

There really isn't anything that an anonymous account can do that is so egregious. Steemit is well protected against Sybil (clone) attacks.

I can understand being disappointed when a professed identity is not true -- and I don't have a problem with that being punished . . . . BUT outing a harmless truth-telling individual is A TREMENDOUSLY ANTI-SOCIAL ACT.

I suspect that @ats-david just thought that it was a really cool puzzle -- but we all must be careful how we impact the lives of others (with large stakeholders needing to be even more careful than most due to their out-sized power)

I suspect that @ats-david just thought that it was a really cool puzzle

Yes, and no. Internet trolling and harassment, including by self-appointed Internet Police, is real thing. People get carried away when there is a screen separating them from their victims and this is something that either needs to be accepted as part of the territory, or actively resisted. I have tried to support the latter, because that is not the sort of community I want Steemit to be. But, perhaps, @neoxian is absolutely right and this is and will remain the wild west where trolls, harassers, witch hunters, and self-appointed judges of right-and-wrong are going to run free with people like @honeyscribe and @kushed best advised to protect and defend themselves as best they can (or leave). These are issues well worth considering for all.

"I have tried to the latter, because that is not the sort of community I want Steemit to be." <- Please do keep trying. You always come across as a reasonable, thoughtful guy/gal. Trial by mob and stone-throwing are best left on the pages of history books. Communities should celebrate, reward and raise concerns loudly and passionately. The communities should appoint small groups of thoughtful, experts to deliberate and punish based on evidence and due diligence. The damage of rock-throwing can't be undone. Safety matters.

"The damage of rock-throwing can't be undone. Safety matters." <----This. Yes.

Yes, Jamie. Thank you for saying so well.

Thank you. I appreciate the invitation to stay. I love writing here. I hope this all resolves.

Sweet girl, I'm so proud of you! I hate that I had a part of making you feel uncomfortable. I honour your work on and offline. Thank you for your kind words about me that I do not deserve.
To everyone else, our actions here do have real-world impact on lives, please remember there are real people being these accounts.

Honeyscribe, Thank you for your persistence and bravery and not giving up on the platform. I wish you nothing but success.
Love,
Renee

Thank you. You couldn't help it. I know you were only trying to keep Steemit safe. You have also worked to help others respect my boundaries, and that is endlessly appreciated. We all need support like this.

I don't think it really matters if they ask for your identity, just ignore them. I'm not sure why they do this to some and not others. @chadcrypto pointed me to this post, he was targeted like this as well over his photography articles. They never bothered me once about proving I am who I say I am. I understand your concern of people figuring you out though, being a public writer for a well known establishment. My advice though when they ask, just respond to them with this:

I work hard on my articles most times, other times not so much, and I deal with one of these sorta trolls on a daily basis but for a different reason, he falsely flags everything I post and he will show himself in this post as well now since I commented.. don't worry though, he shouldn't target you, just my comment. Keep at it though, do your best, ignore those types of people and just respond to them with that image.

I don't think it really matters if they ask for your identity, just ignore them. I'm not sure why they do this to some and not others

Because There are no women on the internet!

I have noticed a trend on Steemit to look very closely at female-identified contributors more so than male.

It's an internet tradition. A technological extension of the fact that Witchhunts were directed at women, over 70% accused witches were female. The males most likely their immediate circle (supporters). Often a woman achieving some type of 'unusual' success; material, power influence or otherwise was a trigger of a witch-hunt. As it was believed she made a pact with Satan for it.

this isnt meant as a feminist theory, rather I analyze things from a cultural-historical perspective as it's how humans work; aegis developed over the centuries, we don't decide on it rationally.

Do you have a longer piece on this? Because I would LOVE to read more.

I will write one about that specfically. I mention a bit about it in many of my blog posts. Thanks for the interest/feedback. Specifically the Witch-hunts or more general?

Well this is an unfortunate turn of events...

Put your safety first, of course, but maybe wait for this to blow over a bit and come back anonymously, taking care not to leave trails. Research how to stay anonymous online. The community does not require people to identify themselves unless they are claiming to be 'somebody' in meatspace — as a way to stop identity theft. Anonymity is fine on here, and many people do it quite well.

I think some people owe you, and @kushed, an apology.

Thank you. I am happy to know this. It does make me feel better to see so much positive response.

Keep your head up girl

This made me smile. Thank you. :)

You are welcome !

I am sorry about all of this that has happened to you. Even though I partly understand @bachist's posts about kushed'd suspicious voting activity, we should still not start revealing users who clearly wanna remain anonymous, or pressure them to do so.

The biggest reason I think stuff like this happens is because of humans worst flaw; greed. I have been trying to ignore it and keep an eye shut when I see it happen ever so clearly on the platform, but some times things go too far. Greed is a powerful weapon and for many very hard to handle, it is mostly showing when something is given to you, you hold it for a long time and then it is taken away. Reminds you kind of about the effects of ring in Lord of the Rings. Without having to name any names, I am sure some of you may know who are/were affected by this and I think one of the problems of this is the amount of whales that follow certain well-established authors.

I understand the platform is still at an early stage and that amount of voting power is concentrated on a few, even though its being dilluted on a daily basis. But seeing authors write 4 posts per day, always make a huge amount of rewards (regarding the rest of content creators) and thus bringing an unfair viewpoint to many users. This is usually when drama starts to break out and most of the time by those who have been in the same position before but aren't any more, they want to cause as much noise about it as possible. Threatening the platform, all users, their own reputation and account, just to screw it up for everyone else because they themselves can't handle the greed. I have seen this happen in a lot of other communities and even more in the decentralized ones where anonymity is easy.

Anyway, in my opinion, those who are receiving a big part of the daily pool in payouts, should in one way or the other provide some sort of verification to some trusted parties, (take example of the reddit IAMA's and how they verified to the reddit mods so they could anonymously answer the IAMA without giving away who they are (this was mostly the case about people who have experienced something rare or are in a special situation that is interesting to readers)).

What I mean is, I have no problem with you staying anonymous and since you have a problem with revealing your identity the community should respect that and value you for your content you provide. But since the economy is what it is lately with a decline in steemprice (something that happens all the time in crypto), people are on the edges of their seat and want to act when they see foul behavior that hurts the future of the platform. Hope you understand.

I disagree that writers who are creating original and unique content have to verify themselves due to the declining price of steem tokens despite the current 'economy'. 5 months into any new cryptotoken project is nothing. Steem has more potential than most other projects that I have encountered, some of which (like Ethereum or even Lisk) didn't have basic features beyond a blockchain.

Give it time.

I don't think we need to sacrifice principles of people choosing to remain anonymous because they've managed to achieve some level of success because the economy is going down the drain.

I'm not sure I fully understand this comment. I want to let you know I am glad you are voicing your opinion. What I gather is that people want to know who is getting a piece of the pie if there are limited pieces of pie? That seems natural, but is also not necessary or always achievable. But I am also seeing you recognize my reasons for requiring anonymity and support it. Thank you.

dont think it matters whether someone is a well established writer or not... good content is simply good content. Regardless of credentials.

I agree. I hope I have provided that.

So sorry this has happened to you. I don't why these trolls just cant let good people write. I just found you, and I'm sad they are causing you so much trouble. This whole site is supposed to be a place for people to share their stories, images, videos and whatever. I'm a small minnow and I being a photographer. Got called out to prove who I am. It's pissed me off. I showed my real face in my intro, I even gave my website. Yet they wanted me to hold up a freaking paper to my face with Steemit and the date written on it. It was ridiculous. It's like I have to stand outside of Steemit Square and scream at the top of my lungs who I am! I got into crypto currency because of the crypto part. Not having to show my Identity. Yet this platform is the opposite to what crypto currency stands for. I'm fine with that, I never wanted to be a secret. Yet I respect the ones who do want that. Just like you @honeyscribe. You should be able to express yourself. If you got steempower, you own part of steemit. You keep going. I know I will be here to cheer you on!

Precisely--the "crypto" aspect speaks to that desire to be freed from the constraints regularly placed upon us and achieve our dreams.

I am so sorry you were put in the position of sharing more than you felt good about.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43