You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of sock puppets and witch hunts

in #identity8 years ago

I don't think it really matters if they ask for your identity, just ignore them. I'm not sure why they do this to some and not others. @chadcrypto pointed me to this post, he was targeted like this as well over his photography articles. They never bothered me once about proving I am who I say I am. I understand your concern of people figuring you out though, being a public writer for a well known establishment. My advice though when they ask, just respond to them with this:

I work hard on my articles most times, other times not so much, and I deal with one of these sorta trolls on a daily basis but for a different reason, he falsely flags everything I post and he will show himself in this post as well now since I commented.. don't worry though, he shouldn't target you, just my comment. Keep at it though, do your best, ignore those types of people and just respond to them with that image.

Sort:  

I don't think it really matters if they ask for your identity, just ignore them. I'm not sure why they do this to some and not others

Because There are no women on the internet!

I have noticed a trend on Steemit to look very closely at female-identified contributors more so than male.

It's an internet tradition. A technological extension of the fact that Witchhunts were directed at women, over 70% accused witches were female. The males most likely their immediate circle (supporters). Often a woman achieving some type of 'unusual' success; material, power influence or otherwise was a trigger of a witch-hunt. As it was believed she made a pact with Satan for it.

this isnt meant as a feminist theory, rather I analyze things from a cultural-historical perspective as it's how humans work; aegis developed over the centuries, we don't decide on it rationally.

Do you have a longer piece on this? Because I would LOVE to read more.

I will write one about that specfically. I mention a bit about it in many of my blog posts. Thanks for the interest/feedback. Specifically the Witch-hunts or more general?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43