I am looking for the helpers

in #religion8 years ago (edited)

My community is international. A large part of it is Muslim. I have witnessed atrocities against my non-white and Muslim community members as a result of 9/11, which is the most horrible day in my memory. I did not lose anyone I knew personally in the attacks that day, but it still feels far worse than the loss of my dearly beloved grandmother which happened much more recently.


I imagined this looking much cooler--the black in my purple compassion gloves making that peace sign pop. . .

This is because the terrorism never ended. It has only grown. I am not talking about terror by Muslims or Arabs or brown people. I am talking about terror against the Others in the United States and worldwide who want freedom of religion, sexuality, expression or simply to live without harassment.

I have been scrutinized with the expectation that I will be violent based on my ethnic roots (Middle Eastern) and because some members of my family are practicing Muslims. It does not seem to matter that I am not a follower of Islam, or that I am just as much white as I am not-white. Or that I have been vocally anti-war and anti-violence my entire life. Or that no one I know who is Muslim or Arab or brown has ever been violent, been arrested, tried for violence or ever found to be violent when I have cut many white Christians out of my life because they were violent or dealing drugs or had committed hate crimes.

I am sad today because I know more white people who have committed hate crimes against brown people than I know brown people who have committed crimes.

I am sad because this day reminds me how unsafe it is to be born as I am, and that no matter how much I contribute to my country, I will always be suspected. I only want to do good in this world. Even on Steemit I see people trashing Islam under the assumption that it breeds terrorism. Hate and restriction breed terrorism. If we practice empathy and freedom, peace thrives.

I choose to focus on the helpers. Everyone who showed up at the Twin Towers, every life lost in an effort to save another, every selfless act, every individual who came to the aid of friends who were being physically or verbally harassed since 9/11. The woman that one time when I was shopping at Target and a couple stopped me when I was trying to find shampoo for "mixed hair" to ask me where I was from and whether I thought I should "be here."

She put an arm around me and said, "Hey, I was looking for you. Aren't we going for lunch?" Then she walked me to through checkout and to my car and apologized for their behavior.

I told her don't apologize. I knew what she was doing: she was identifying with them because they shared her looks, color, accent, etc. But looking, sounding or being from the same place as a jerk does not make you a jerk. Your actions do. Same is true for terrorists. She had nothing to apologize for.

She was not a jerk. She was a helper. I am going to be a helper too!

I am wishing peace for all on this percussive day,

@honeyscribe

Sort:  

People who trash on Islam do it out of fear alone projected by the media. Not because of terrorism, because the fear of not wanting to learn what other races are is just easier. Being a none white user I can relate. But at the same time it's only a selected few that decide to hate just as there are a handful of Muslims that decide to hate. We are not all created the same but that does not mean we cannot live in peace in this wonderful world. Look at the jungle if animals can do it, why the hell cant us more intelligent species.
Never listen to any one that projects hate they know no better and where raised by parents that had no love for all life. Stay strong we are all in this time together let's all appreciate that we can all breath the same air.

Thank you! It feels amazing to see this support. :)

I don't hate muslims but having read the koran and the sirat rasul allah I see nothing but a lot of hate filled nonsense. I have read the koran in chronological order and it's quite clear that allah is nothing more than muhammads alter ego. Coming up with revelations just to suit muhammads difficulties.
And for what its worth the bible is just a lot of nonsense as well.

I'm not at ease with any religious system. I respect the right of others to use it to organize their life as long as they are not hurting anyone in their practice.

No, what the woman was doing was making the people who were abusing you realise that you're a person. By making them believe you were friends with her, she gave them opportunity to hang a 'friendly identity' on you.
It's deflecting their hate and anger away from you, because suddenly you're one of 'them/us'.
I'm so very sorry you went through that.
Unfortunately, you'll probably go through it again, but I hope that woman, or someone with the same heart comes forward for you again and again - one day, it may be me.

Please don't let those people make you think "we're" all the same. "We" aren't, some people can still hear our ancestors - way back down the centuries, back to where we ALL came from.
You are me, I am you, we're ALL human <3

Great peice at the end. I agree with you, good people and bad people will always walk side by side, what the actions they do tells them who they are inside, color aside we are all earth's citizens.

Thank you!

What a beautiful comment. Gorgeous. Thank you.

That's a really nice comment to a heartfelt post. <3 indeed.

Peace to you too!
We need to stop the hatred.

Make love not war!

This is EXACTLY what I needed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43