You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Of sock puppets and witch hunts

in #identity8 years ago

I am sorry about all of this that has happened to you. Even though I partly understand @bachist's posts about kushed'd suspicious voting activity, we should still not start revealing users who clearly wanna remain anonymous, or pressure them to do so.

The biggest reason I think stuff like this happens is because of humans worst flaw; greed. I have been trying to ignore it and keep an eye shut when I see it happen ever so clearly on the platform, but some times things go too far. Greed is a powerful weapon and for many very hard to handle, it is mostly showing when something is given to you, you hold it for a long time and then it is taken away. Reminds you kind of about the effects of ring in Lord of the Rings. Without having to name any names, I am sure some of you may know who are/were affected by this and I think one of the problems of this is the amount of whales that follow certain well-established authors.

I understand the platform is still at an early stage and that amount of voting power is concentrated on a few, even though its being dilluted on a daily basis. But seeing authors write 4 posts per day, always make a huge amount of rewards (regarding the rest of content creators) and thus bringing an unfair viewpoint to many users. This is usually when drama starts to break out and most of the time by those who have been in the same position before but aren't any more, they want to cause as much noise about it as possible. Threatening the platform, all users, their own reputation and account, just to screw it up for everyone else because they themselves can't handle the greed. I have seen this happen in a lot of other communities and even more in the decentralized ones where anonymity is easy.

Anyway, in my opinion, those who are receiving a big part of the daily pool in payouts, should in one way or the other provide some sort of verification to some trusted parties, (take example of the reddit IAMA's and how they verified to the reddit mods so they could anonymously answer the IAMA without giving away who they are (this was mostly the case about people who have experienced something rare or are in a special situation that is interesting to readers)).

What I mean is, I have no problem with you staying anonymous and since you have a problem with revealing your identity the community should respect that and value you for your content you provide. But since the economy is what it is lately with a decline in steemprice (something that happens all the time in crypto), people are on the edges of their seat and want to act when they see foul behavior that hurts the future of the platform. Hope you understand.

Sort:  

I disagree that writers who are creating original and unique content have to verify themselves due to the declining price of steem tokens despite the current 'economy'. 5 months into any new cryptotoken project is nothing. Steem has more potential than most other projects that I have encountered, some of which (like Ethereum or even Lisk) didn't have basic features beyond a blockchain.

Give it time.

I don't think we need to sacrifice principles of people choosing to remain anonymous because they've managed to achieve some level of success because the economy is going down the drain.

I'm not sure I fully understand this comment. I want to let you know I am glad you are voicing your opinion. What I gather is that people want to know who is getting a piece of the pie if there are limited pieces of pie? That seems natural, but is also not necessary or always achievable. But I am also seeing you recognize my reasons for requiring anonymity and support it. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44