ADSactly Fun - Spring Is In The Air-Motorcycles Everywhere

in #humor6 years ago

Spring Is In The Air-Motorcycles Everywhere

You Know You Want One


Source

It’s Spring in the Northern Hemisphere and motorcycles are starting to appear everyplace. It’s that time of year.

Lots of people spend some time thinking of buying a motorcycle and ‘hitting the road’ this time of year. Some will even do so.

Chrome and leather is a look that a lot of people want and admire even if they aren’t bikers. But you can’t just wear the leather, you have to have a story. I’m here to help you out.

If you are a new rider, or just want to wear the gear, this list is for you. In more or less alphabetical order, and each with a sentence or two to let you know how to use the term in casual conversation.

Without further ado, it is clearly time for

Big Tom's Amazing Alphabetical List of Biker Terms

1%er: An Outlaw Biker. 99% of all riders are decent, law abiding folks. One percenters aren’t.

Don’t wear a 1% patch on your jacket unless you are ready to prove you deserve it.

Airheads: Older BMW air cooled motorcycles. Hair color has nothing to do with this. Be prepared to answer questions involving slash ie: a /7 Model designation for an airhead.

I really started riding on a slash 7 airhead back in the day.

Biker: A motorcycle rider who loves the lifestyle and dresses for it. Generally a rugged individualist who dresses just like all the other rugged individualists.

Bikers are normally found in or near a Tavern or Motorcycle Shop, Riders are on the road.


Source

Chaps: Leather protective riding gear that does not cover the groin or butt. Very much look better on some than others. Bonus points if your chaps are crash scarred. Derived from the old west Cowboys.

Chaps are generally found where Bikers are found.

Source

Dirt Squirter: Motorcycle made for offroad riding only, not legal on roadways. Fast and furious, not for the faint of heart. Falling down is part of the game.

Yeah, I have a dirt squirter at home, I just rode the Hog to the Tavern.

Evo: Evolution Harley Davidson motor made from 1984-2000. Raised stock Horsepower on HDs from 55 to 58. There is a reason HD doesn’t publish HP numbers.

I owned an Evo before I got the Twin Cam.


Source

Farkle: Accessories bolted on after purchase. Some are useable, most are chrome. Don’t believe the old adage ‘Chrome won’t get you home.’

Yeah, my old lady said if I buy one more farkle she’s going to shove it so far up I will walk funny for a month.

Grocery Getter: A Biker’s car. Used to take the kids to school and for shopping.

I brought the grocery getter because I thought it might rain.


Source

Hog: Harley Davidson. Noted for the ability to turn gasoline directly into noise without any appreciable Horsepower gain.

HOG: Harley Owners Group. An association of Harley Davidson Owners. Most are Rugged Individualists.

I rode my Hog to the HOG meeting but nobody showed.

Iron Butt: An association of riders who go long. Minimum qualification for membership is 1000 miles in 24 hours. Verified. Riders only, bikers need not apply.

I finished the last Iron Butt Rally with 12,200 miles in 11 days.

Source

Jugs: Cylinder assemblies or a part of a woman’s anatomy.

That Hog has chrome jugs.

Kickstand: Holds the motorcycle upright when not being used.

If you don’t get your kickstand down right you better know how to pick your bike up.

Leathers: Riding gear made of leather. Ankle to neck coverage, required for racers. Optional for race posers.

When you are sliding along the asphalt you will be happy you wore your leathers.


Source

Monkey Butt: A painful condition often associated with a long ride. A little sweat, a little vibration and you too can complain about Monkey Butt.

I got a serious case of Monkey Butt first day out and had 3 days of riding left.


Source

Naked: A bike with no fairing. No wind or rain protection. Often favored by Hooligans, a subset of the motorcycle community in general.

A naked Harley is a biker’s bike.

Organ Donor: A rider that doesn’t wear a helmet.

Look at that. An organ donor.

Poser: Person who pretends to be a rider. May or may not be a biker, but the story is always good.

  • What a poser. He doesn’t know his ass from his elbow.*

Quick Shift: Shifting before the motor gets near the powerband. Harley riders in particular like this action because it accentuates the V Twin growl. Or at least they seem to think it does.

He quick shifted into 4th gear before he was doing 30 MPH.

Rat Bike: Built with other things ie: Fire Extinguisher for the gas tank, a wrench for the shifter. Looks like McGyver built the whole thing in a junkyard.

That rat bike was so well done it was the star of the show.


Source

Squid: Inexperienced rider on a new sport bike. Usually also qualifies as an organ donor.

Like the sea creature the squid can go fast in a straight line but doesn’t turn well.

Tar Snakes: Cracks in pavement sealed with liquid asphalt. As slick as ice when the weather is warm.

I hit a tar snake in the middle of a corner and down I went.


Source

UJM: Universal Japanese Motorcycle Very standard motorcycle from Japan. They all look alike, ride alike and perform alike. From all manufacturers.

UJM isn’t a bad deal, they have sold millions.

Vincent: A legendary British manufacturer that went out of business in the 50s. The fastest production motorcycle on earth during the early 50s.

Of all the bikes I wish I’d owned, the Vincent Black Lightning is at the top of the list.


Source

Wheelie: Riding with the front wheel off the ground. See also Hooligans. Sometimes performed accidentally.

An unexpected wheelie with an 800 pound motorcycle is exciting.

X Out: Dead.

He got the X Out from a Buick that was turning left.

Yikes: Expression of fear and relief. Always accompanied by an adrenaline rush. Always.

Yikes. I took that corner wayyy too fast.

Zero: None. Nada. Never.

He had zero chance of making that corner at that speed.

There you have it. This is not intended to be a definitive list, but certainly is enough to give you a good start.

Now go down to your local dealer or hit Craig’s List to buy yourself a motorcycle. You now have enough terminology to not be branded as a newbie. At least until you kill your new motorcycle in an intersection, then who cares? You are riding, aren’t you?

Go get your feet in the wind.

Click on the coin to join our Discord Chat



Go Adsactly

Vote @adsactly-witness for Steem witness!
Witness proposal is here:


Witness Proposal
Witness Proposal Update


Go To Steem Witness Page
In the bottom of the page type: adsactly-witness and press vote.
witness vote.gif
Use small letters and no "@" sign. Or, click here to vote directly!
Thank you!


Sort:  

I really want one! nice post thank you for sharing

When you're riding, your mind is clear and free from all confusions. You have focus and concentration. And suddenly the vision becomes sharper, the sounds are richer and you're filled with the deep, powerful presence of life. These helmets and leathers gives us Superman like feeling. You get this feeling of invincible.

When you get to ride the best motorcycle that mankind ever invented in this world, You have to appreciate and feel blessed about it. Because nothing in this world lasts forever.

Happy Riding!

Cheers!

Yes! I love that I can smell things, too! I just love riding.

I does last a good long time if you are lucky like me. Over 50 years.

I can already hear the sound of motorcycle engines waking up after the hibernation. People (in particular bikers and amateurs) are happy to feel this unrestrained sense of freedom on the road again.

I think that for many "uninitiated" that is simple people of words the biker associates with people who ride a motorcycle. Some associate it with a high risk for life, as riding a motorcycle is fraught with danger. But this opinion is created by individuals who like to punt on a motorcycle. But for people like me being a biker means being a person who can feel freedom and not be burdened. As I wrote earlier to be a biker - this is a way of life.

The main means for achieving freedom and then without a chege is not possible to be a biker - it's an "iron horse". The article is written in a very interesting and understandable language for each person about the types of motorcycles and biker slang. The article is interesting for reading both experienced bikers and anyone. I read everything "in one go." The most important thing is that now I have added my vocabulary and have a great understanding of terminology. (although I thought I knew quite a lot).

Thanks for the work done. Good luck on the roads!

Thanks. Always good to hear from a fellow rider. We understand why the dog sticks his head out of the car window, don't we?

I have followed you.you follow me

I have always admired motorcycles from afar. I think they are beautiful machines. They are sleek and sexy and who doesn't like the idea of speed. However, I have never had any desire to ride one. There is something about having nothing between me and the asphalt in the occasion of an accident that has always made me shy away. I guess I worry about the possibility of being an "Organ Donar". I do however love a good ride on an outdoor 4-wheeler. Maybe someday I will become a "squid" and hop on a bike and give it a whirl. I'm sure I'd be popping my first "wheelie" in no time. I have always been a truck guy I guess. I must say though that I thoroughly enjoyed learning these terms. Thanks for sharing!!

My kid brother and I grew up exactly the same. I got a MC when I was 13. He rode it maybe 3 times and has never, ever been a rider. It's not for everybody.

But it sure is for me.

This post is AWESOME. It brings me back to an amazing part of my life when I lived on two wheels for an era. I started riding on an old Yamaha that didn't run, which my father gave me to fix when I was 15 or 16. I eventually sold that for a cooler beat-up bike and fixed that up to be resold a couple years later. This action repeated a few times until I was finally able to get my dream bike: a 1998 Harley Davidson FLHR (Road King). OH MY..that was the best bike ever. I could go on for hours about what I did to it and where we went together....but I digress...when my dog got cancer about a decade ago I had to sell my bike to pay for Loki's amputation and chemotherapy. I lost Loki two years after his treatments and have been aching to get back on two wheels again someday. My hope is that I can make some good life moves to be able to afford that bike again! Thank you for inspiring my thoughts about riding and about Loki. -Much Respect

I'm glad I got you thinking about riding again because, well, you know. Good Luck to you!

What a pity, you had monkey butt. Lol
I hope you got over it quick enough.

It is not a laughing matter when you have it :) Not even a little bit.

Great post 👍
I have made a detailed post about rare custom bikes in New Zealand. You will surely like those unique bikes. Check out my latest post.
Cheers !

that evo looks like a serious beast, i like it and wanna ride it, this bike are serious machines, awesome , and the monkey but is hilarious

wow mind blowing

I had great fun writing this, and finding the pictures was fun too. Glad you enjoyed it!


Great topic for motorcycle lovers. The Royal Enfield brand also has great bikes and it doesn't cost an arm and a leg like Harley or Ducati hahaha.

Dry funny jet bicycle video lol 😂

haha yes funny jet bicycle @josteem

Royal Enfield is really doing some remarkable things with their brand. I'm really glad to see them progress past the Bullet.

bikes are love

They certainly are for me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60274.16
ETH 2339.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55