Big Batch Cooking: A Recipe That Makes 12 Litres Of Morocan Spiced Vegetables And Beans In A Tomato Sauce

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

When you are first learning to cook in large batches, much of what you do, will be learned by trial and error. Eventually you will learn how many raw ingredients and how many spices that you will require (by volume) to fill your stock pot.

You'll notice two 14 litre  stock pots in the photograph. This recipe (that I have developed) will produce one big 12 litre batch of food, can be cooked in a large pot and be preserved in 500 ml, sealer glass jars for long term storage.

How big a pot will you need?

Generally the biggest pot that you have. Or, the 2nd or 3rd biggest pots along with the biggest pot that you have in your kitchen pot inventory. As noted, this recipe produces 12 litres of food, so you'll need to accommodate 12 litres of food, plus be able to stir the mixture without over-flowing it. Plan on being able to accommodate 14 litres of food (by volume) in your pot or collection of pots and you will have the working room you need to stir and cook everything consistently.

Does the quality of the pot matter?

Yes. A thicker bottom, proper stock-pot will transfer heat more evenly across the base of the pot. If you use a big pot, that's made of a thin gauge metal the chances of burning the mixture as it cooks, are significantly higher. A thin gauge metal pot will require you to stand at your pot and stir it frequently to avoid burning the batch. Yes, even on a low simmer flame or heat. If you burn the bottom of your batch, the whole mixture will end up tasting burnt by the time it's finished cooking because that flavour will transfer through. 

How long is long term storage, you ask... 

Well, most would say a year but technically as long as the seal (of the lid cap) is not broken after you process your jars through the pressure canning process, indefinitely. I still have chili sauce in storage in my cold room that was jarred in the summer of 2014. It's like fine wine and I'm down to my last 3 jars of it. (Saved to be placed as an offering on a table, laid-out for a special occasion brunch.) If the jar looks to still be in good condition, the colour of the food looks ok, you hear a pop-sound when you break the seal and the food doesn't have an "off" smell or taste, the food has been properly preserved.

Let's have a look at the mountain of vegetables and list of ingredients

  1. 1/4 cup of coconut oil or butter (to saute the onions with); 
  2. 2 medium size onions;
  3. 8 cups of cubed sweet potatoes;
  4. 2 whole medium size cauliflowers;
  5. 2 1/4 kilograms of tomato paste;
  6. 5 litres of water (or 1.3 gallons);
  7. 9 cups of mixed beans of your choice (I used a blend that contained chick peas, red kidney beans, black eyed peas. white kidney beans, Romano beans and Lima beans );
  8. 2 cups of chick peas;
  9. 2 small turnips;
  10. 4 cups of carrots (cut in rounds);
  11. 4 1/4 cups of green beans (cut in 1/4 inch or bite size pieces);
  12. 4 cups of beets (cut in rounds);
  13. and 8 tbsp of Moroccan spices (I used a pre-made spice blend that contains paprika, ginger, cumin, cinnamon, turmeric, white pepper, ground clove and cardamon).  

Directions:

  • Cut onions and saute them in a frying pan with coconut oil or butter.

  • Measure 8 cups (or 2.5 kilograms) of tomato paste and blend it with 5 litres (or 1.3 gallons) of water in the stock pot. This will produce a tomato sauce. You can also substitute strained tomatoes or tomato sauce. If you do this, you will need 7 litres of tomato sauce or strained tomatoes..
  • Add the sauteed onions and stir the pot really well. (My favourite part of the procedure is stirring the pot.)
  • Set the flame or burner heat on your stove to a medium-low simmer

  • Chop the sweet potatoes into bite-size pieces. Do the same with the green beans, the cauliflower, turnip and carrots.
  • Stir as you add each vegetable and continue stirring the pot, every 15-20 minutes.

  • Clean and slice the beets. I used a food processor to slice both the beets and the carrots, in order to make the prep work a little less labour intensive. Beets add a very distinctive flavour to this blend. If you don't like the taste of cooked beets, simply leave them out. These came directly out of the garden and I didn't want to waste the precious vitamins and minerals that they contain so I just incorporated them into the mix.

  • Rinse the beans and chick peas thoroughly and blend them into the mixture really well.

  • Add the spice last.
  • Stir the spice into the mixture really well.
  • Turn the heat down to a low simmer and cook for another 2 hours, stirring the pot every 20 minutes.

The next step is to put this mixture into glass jars and then into a prepared pressure canner for 90 minutes. I will show you this process in detail in my next post. :)

If you missed my previous post on the actual pressure canner that I am using, you can find it here: https://steemit.com/homesteading/@rebeccaryan/taking-a-model-921-pressure-canner-for-a-spin

I welcome your comments and invite your to follow me on my journey...CHOP CHOP.

~ Rebecca Ryan





Sort:  

The amount of effort you put in to your posts are second to none and deserve much more recognition that what they get. Your instructions are so simple, even I can follow them. The information about the pots was a great piece of information, thanks!

It's all in how fat the bottom is...Lol!
So, just know that I have scorched a few bottoms in my day...learning the hard-way. ;)
Thank you for appreciating my efforts. This means more to me than any $.

I love some thick bottoms and I have handled many!

Hahaha! That made me lol for real.

Thank you so much @homeartpictures! I am honoured to be included. :)

Looking at those big pots remind me of my time in the hotel kitchens! Everyday cooking for 400 people! With time it became a habit and a usual thing! Your spice mix is surely a great one my friend! My wife would be happy!

Oh Chef! This is a dinky little batch to ones that you made, to serve 400. This batch would only serve 40...still more (I guess) than most would normally undertake in a day.
Still took the skin off the sides of my hand, cleaning glass jars. ;)

It's still a big quantity for a household my friend.
Oh it's sad to read about the skin of your hand, wish I was living near your house, I would definitely help you out.

Original, in French: La bonne cuisine est la base du véritable bonheur. :)

Je ne pourrais pas être plus d'accord...merci @allabout!
Je vous ai suivi parce que nous avons beaucoup en commun. :)

Et en plus vous parlez le Français!? Je suis tres fiere de vous mon amie!

Comment pouvez-vous être la qualité de l'étoile michelin sans parler un peu de français?
Le français est une langue officielle du Canada.
Notre français n'est pas pur, il a beaucoup de dialectes.
Who's kidding who? I'd be kicked right out of a real French kitchen. LOL!

Mais franchement je savais pas que Madame parle le français aussi couramment que ça.
Et en plus vous êtes au courant de l'étoile Michelin!
Impressionnant ma chère.
Je parle assez bien le français mais je préfère écrire l'anglais c'est plus facile je trouve.
Hahaha! I wrote it in French.

Ne vous excusez pas trop car le français de madame est vraiment amer. LOL!
Tout n'est pas perdu, madame peut encore jurer comme un marin.
Sacre bleu, tabernac.
(See. I can feel the stress lifting as I have committed it to the blockchain forever.)
Merde! Essayez de ne pas pisser votre pantalon.
(If I get kicked off, I'm holding you responsible, Hahaha!)
Just kidding. ;)

Cooking in big batches is so the way to go. Thanks for sharing your method here. Your tip about using a thick bottomed (hehe) stock pot is spot on. I have one thick and one not thick and the thin bottomed pot scorches the food so easily. There is nothing worse than having the bottom of a huge pot of sauce burnt and sending that flavor all through the batch!! Thick bottom pots!!

Oh @jaymorebeet! This reminds me of my all-time favourite song by: Queen! Hahaha!


Crank this one up and feel the beat! LMFAO! I get in so much trouble because of this song. Red line my car, every time when I listen to it while I'm driving. ;)

I'm so glad we're on the same page!! Otherwise I'd be blushing a lot right now ;)

I'm impressed! I thought those days of people doing their own canning died when my Mom passed away. I haven't heard the term, "cold room" since I was a child.

I still remember the smell of wine in our cold room because someone left the tap open (likely bumped by accident) on a barrel of wine my Dad made and it kind of flooded the entire cold room. What a waste of good wine!

Anyone with a stocked cold room should be OK come the big crash I keep hearing about!

Oh!! That's a fantastic memory @happyme! I can smell the cold room now. That's such a distinctive smell especially mixed with the smell of a concrete floor of a cold room. ;)

@tippy vote

Let's see if this works!

@rebeccaryan
I don't do much cooking. Ha
But Pat had just brought home from her daughter's place 3 different kinds of soup or mixed vegetable soup if that is what you want to call it.
When I see any meat in it. I usually throw it away. And then I get scolded. lol
It was all delicious. Looks a little like yours does. But, I don't think all the ingredients that you put in yours was in the three.
I am the eater. lol. Whatever they say is good food. I eat.
So, with all the care and ingredients you put in yours. I would pig out.
Lucky for me. No for you. I am hundreds of miles away. Ha
You have given the incentive for many who reads this to fix and cook away.
That is what you do. Show the right way. Not the store way.
Thank you.

Francis

Thank you Francis!
I actually didn't realize that a lot of vegetables require very high heat to preserve (just like meat) until I started to read about pressure canning. Learning how to do this has been an interesting project and it's rewarding to preserve the goodness coming from the garden. Have a great time with Pat, in the city. :)

I would like to thank you for all them delicious recipes you put on steemit.I can make vegetable soup but I must say it wouldn't hold a candle to your recipes.thanks for sharing with us

that is looking spicy and delicious but hey why my mouth is watering though hheheh :D

That is a lot of food. I think that this could probably last me a couple of months with so much tomato sauce with some beautiful Moroccan Spiced Vegetables.

I absolutely love chick peas but I get really bad flatulence if I have a lot. More compared to any other beans I've had. However I can't resist a few of them haha

Great recipe @rebeccaryan

@arckrai
nice comment up the chick peas... flatulence is amazing kool and enjoy havi
please keep it...;) nice comment

Yes, beans and peas can be tricky to digest properly. You can adjust this recipe to include any vegetables that you really like and omit anything that doesn't agree with you or cut back on. What every you add, you'll want 8 cups of it, if it's a vegetable and if you take out chick peas, you'll need 2 cups of something else to fill its place. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63964.61
ETH 3433.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55