Pennsif's Progress - The Days are Numbered // Day 920 : Up on the roof, down in the earth

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Three weeks since my last Pennsif's Progress update.

What a HomesteadSlacker I am 😊
Lol, as the young folk say. For most homesteaders slacking is something you rarely have time for.
There are always things to do. Nature doesn't stop for anyone.

The seasons progress, the crops grow, the weeds prosper, the harvests come, and the rain arrives just at the wrong time.

And the animals they just want to be fed...

The Chimney

Alongside all that never ending day to day stuff our chimney has been leaking worser and worser and worser.

We've been patching it up, but now the bedroom ceiling is starting to sag just a worringly little bit.

So now the scaffolding is up (£450 / US $600 !!) and the builder is rebuilding the chimney properly. It is made of slate and stone with an earth filling - no mortar - no wonder it was leaking.

Not sure yet what the builder's bill will be but it is one of those jobs that really has to be done before winter. Alas it is not a job I can do myself 😞 - rather too far out of my skillset to do a proper job.

One cool thing about having the scaffolding up is the great view from the roof - I've never been up there before. It would be a great place to set up my ham radio rig 😎

.
The Garden

Out in the garden the crops are still flooding in. Tomatoes by the bowl full, courgettes (zucchini) by the box full, potatoes by the wagon full.

Then there's cabbage, broccoli, cauliflower, runner beans, broad beans, French beans, onions, garlic, carrots, marrows, chard, spinach, sweetcorn, cucumbers, lettuce, rhubarb and herbs of many, many varieties.

And the chickens are still laying at least half a dozen eggs a day.

Isn't producing your own food wonderful...

.

As the harvests come in and the beds are cleared it is time to see what I can plant for the autumn, winter and spring.

This year I've got the polytunnel and the greenhouses so I am really hoping I can ramp up the off season production.

I've already got more carrots, turnips, onions, bunching onions and lettuce in the ground and growing well.

I'm also planning to get more beans, brassicas and chard going.

Any other suggestions for what to plant now...?


New Fruits

One of my goals for this year was to increase and to diversify our fruit production.

We're two thirds of the way towards our goal of planting 100 fruit trees - mainly apples, cherries, pears, plums but also a few more unusual ones like apricots, medlars, mulberries, nectarines and quince.

Alongside the trees I've been trying a few more 'exotic' fruits. Two of them are now coming to harvest.

One is Cape Gooseberries or Physalis (Physalis peruviana). We tried three of these last year but they weren't planted early enough to bear fruit successfully. I left them in the greenhouse over winter but the frost got them. I was clearing them out in the spring when I noticed one of them had some tiny green shoots.

I potted it on to a bigger pot and with its earlier start it has grown fantastically and is now bearing dozens of fruit. I don't know whether I will be able to overwinter this again.

I also planted two new Cape Gooseberries this year and it looks like they will yield a few fruit as well.

.

The other new unusual fruit is the Fuchsiaberry. This is actually a specially bred version of the standard Fuchsia that produces much bigger berries. We got ours from Thompson & Morgan. I am not sure if this strain is available elsewhere but the berries of all Fuchsias are edible.

Fuchsia Genii is a standard variety that is supposed to produce good berries if you cannot get the Fuchsiaberry. I have some of these as well but they have not reached the fruiting stage yet to compare them with the Fuchsiaberries.


That's it for tonight. I want to catch some of the Minnow Mayor’s Town Hall on MSP Waves Radio with @aggroed and guest @stellabelle.

I have just last week found MSP Waves Radio. It is a project of the PAL Network and has some excellent programs. Do check it out.


If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.

You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[all images provided by @pennsif]

Sort:  
Isn't producing your own food wonderful...
Yes it is! Your posts reminded me of some of my more pleasant childhood memories. My folks rented a big house with a large side-yard. For several years we grew our own beans, greens, and tomatoes. I've often thought about starting a little garden, but I never learned how. Maybe one of these days...

Hi @theninthart, thank you for dropping by.

I would definitely encourage you to start growing. I would imagine with your climate in Honolulu you will be able to grow a lot more exotic fruit and veg than I can in Wales.

If you check out the posts on the #gardening and #homesteading tags there are all sorts of great posts that will provide help and advice to get you started with growing again.

I notice you do graphic design, what sort of work do you do? I may be looking for a graphic designer shortly for a steemit project.

Does the leaking chimney show any signs of mold? It can be pretty devastating to your health, and repairman don't always know the best way to remediate.

No mold luckily, just the earth filling between the stones was totally wet. The house was originally built in 1799 so it doesn't quite meet current building standards 😊

Wow, that is an old building!

Your zucchini and tomatoes are literally picture perfect!

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pennsif to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment!

For more information, Click Here!

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Are you fans of garlic? If you plant it in the fall you can harvest it next summer, as long as the ground isn't too wet.
Sounds like the chimney is an expensive but much-needed project.
I think I know the cape-gooseberries under the name pinapple-cherries, at least from the look of them and I had no idea fuchsia berries were edible, so thank you for sharing that.

What an amazing harvest! I love exploring new seed types as well. We, myself and @bluerthangreen, had a gooseberry like that, but we called it a ground cherry.... tastes kind of pineapple like. Where do you get all of your fruit trees from?

You have a beautiful property. It's actually breath taking. I traveled to the UK when I was 18 and instantly fell in love. Your berries intrigue me, I have really tried to plant such a variety of berries here, but we are so limited, to strawberries, raspberries, blackberries and goji berries, our season is just too short, but I am going to look up those berries you planted and see what possibilities they may have on our homestead. Thanks for sharing and keep the good stuff coming. Upvoted

I have heard that stone Masons are very difficult to find these days. You were lucky to find one. Sure is a pretty place you have and a great bountiful garden. Hope the chimney is back up and working asap. 🐓🐓

You've got a lot going on in your garden!

I'm always so excited to read your updates. Wow, that chimney job is a big one. Glad you know when your skills don't match the job. I've seen too many folks try it anyway and create a much bigger problem to correct. Though probably an expensive fix, it will be one to last for decades. I would have had to climb up there too. I bet you just sat there overlooking your property for a long while. Sure looks peaceful up there.

I'm very curious about these Fuchsiaberry's. I've never heard of them. I'm gonna have to do a bit of research on those.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36