The Story of Me, and everyone I know

in #life7 years ago

Ever since I first got involved in building community and social networks on the web back in 1995 I've been hatching a plan.

Could I use the web to write my life story and link it to similar stories from people I have known through my life.
A hyperlink extravaganza. A hive mind. A nonsense idea. Pure self-indulgence. All rolled into one.

Since that first idea over two decades ago I've never had the time, resource, skill, technology or opportunity to pursue this dream.

Now time is moving on, technology is advancing, and I've just recently unearthed two large boxes of photographs that I thought were lost.

The boxes contain well over two thousand photographs and slides. Each one a moment of my life, captured but fading fast.

Like so many well intentioned folk I did not annotate more than a handful of those photos. Some, perhaps many, I already cannot remember the who, what and where.

There are places I went, people I knew, events I witnessed.

 

Hopefully I am not going to die just yet. But by the simple laws of biology and mathematics it is clear I have passed the point of 'Peak Me'.

With a good five decades behind me I know my life is only going to get scarcer now.

I want to record all these memories somewhere permanent. The blockchain seems like the perfect place.

It is just for me. And for my family. And for anyone who might know me.

Perhaps someone will recognise themselves in a photo and make a connection. That will make my day if one little link is made.

But it is difficult to do this here on steemit. To peel back the layers and expose oneself. Am I me or am someone else?

I will be posting the photos in no particular order. As I find them and as I remember them.

A little photo and a little story. Each a little memory cemented in my crypt on steemit.

When all the bricks are firmly in place my story will be complete.

[All graphics and images by Pennsif]


If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.

You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

Sort:  

This is a mysteriously moving post. It touches on something we all want to do. It's a beautiful thought to preserve these moments in time.

I love the pictures you chose. They had a lot of feeling. Especially the snowball fight. It's just a pure moment.

Thanks. I love this idea.

Thank you @happymoneyman. I have very much enjoyed delving back into my past. It is amazing how the old photos bring back so many memories that I thought had gone. They are still there but just hidden deep, deep in the mind.

I like the snowball fight picture too. It was taken on an old basic Kodak Instamatic but captures so much. It almost transports me back in time and space to that very moment. I can hear the shouts and screams, I can feel the cold wetness of the snow on my face, I can almost feel the shiver in my spine...

Fantastic. You're right. That Kodak Instamatic gives such a nostalgic feel. It's funny, even some of the filters on new cameras try to capture that same feeling.

I can picture myself there and it wasn't even my picture.

Cheers. Have a great day.

Good idea. Leave an imprint.

Glad you like the idea.

This is a good idea. I too have boxes upon boxes of photos, some I annotated others I didn't. I wish I had now. As I get older, I forget. I love your photos and if and when you remember the stories, I will read them.

I should be putting the first one up tomorrow.

I am not a picture person. That explains why most of my musings on Steemit resemble graffiti.

Hey you, habla Español?

Welcome @pennsif aboard the steemit express. This is a great platform to express yourself just like any other social media outlet except this one pays its users for interacting with each other. Post good content and your rewards can be limitless but always stay true to yourself.

Checkout this post and give me some feedback on it
CIRCLE OF FRIENDS

@circleoffriends
#circleoffriends
#minnowsupport
#cof

Thank you for the greeting.

No problem pal.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64921.79
ETH 3541.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36