The Story of Me #1 : My Mum and Me, aged 2

in #life7 years ago

For the prelude to this, please read The Story of Me, and everyone I know


This is the first photo of me I can find. About two years old I think.

That's my mum holding me on the swing in our back garden.
The swing was red, I remember I loved it. Sometimes as I got older I would swing so hard it would tip over and I would be told off.
It just had tent pegs to hold it down. And I was tougher than tent pegs. I wanted to be Action Man.

The photo was taken in the early sixties before my mum got ill.

This is the only photograph I can find of my mum before the illness took hold and she changed.

Cameras were scarce then. The photo was taken on my dad's box brownie. That was the only camera we owned until the late 60's were booming and our family began to inch up from working class to lower middle class. Then we bought a Kodak Instamatic and rented a black and white television from Radio Rentals.

 

The photograph was taken in our back garden. The house was a medium size semi-detached house in the Home Counties. My parents bought the house in 1952 for only a few hundred pounds.

I was born there, raised there and lived all my life there until I moved out into my own place when I was 25.

The neighbours

Next door was the vicarage. There was a succession of Church of England vicars that lived there through my childhood. One I remember most was Father Gay.

The other side was a rented house. People came and went quite regularly. Before I can remember one of The Barron Knights lived there before they were famous.

In the sixties a Scottish family came to live there. That was great. They had a son called Frankie who was just a year younger than me.

Sometimes we were the best of friends. Other times we were the worst of enemies and we would regularly get into fights.

One time I remember we were having a good punch-up at the bottom of the stairs just by the open front door. Frankie's dad was cheering us on. My dad heard the commotion, came round and pulled us apart. I got a good telling off. Our families were different.

The balcony

At that time our house had a little balcony outside the back bedroom. A few years later it had got too rotten to be safe. By the end of the sixties it was taken down and a conservatory was built. My Uncle John was a builder.

The balcony has always been in my mind. To have a house with a balcony is one of my Five Dreams. One dream not yet realised.

I was wearing short trousers in the photo. I kept on wearing short trousers all the way through my primary school. Boys did in those days. It was not until I was eleven and going to secondary school that I graduated into long trousers.

The fatal roundabout

Sneaking in the bottom left of the photo was our roundabout. This roundabout remains imprinted in my mind, quite literally, to this day.

The roundabout was metal with rather sharp edges. One day I was crouching near the roundabout picking up my soldiers. A friendly friend spun the roundabout round and caught my head. Screams and blood were everywhere.

I had my first trip to the hospital and got stitches in the wound.

I remember I had a butterfly stitches for one head injury. But I think that was a few years later when I walked through a glass door that was closed. I am sure I had seen Hazel do it first.


Well, that's about 600 words. They say a picture is worth a thousand words. So I've sold you short this time by 400 words. But I was only two at the time so you can't expect me to remember everything. 😊

[Main image by Pennsif // camera images from pixabay - Creative Commons CC0]


If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.

You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

Sort:  

It is crazy to see how much things have changed in just 50 years, sorry to hear you lost a loved one at a young age, that's never easy.

Yes, when you write it down the changes become even more apparent !

thanks for sharing i love hearing old stories they bring my old memories. I'm so sorry about your mom.

Thank you. Another 'episode' hopefully coming out this evening.

From the picture only we wouldn't know that you were going to get hurt and be in stitches :)

Cheers!

All part of childhood!

Haha indeed getting hurt a lot is part of our childhood XD

Lovely, raw and real ...looking forward to more of your works
b.a.

Thank you. Next episode coming soon.

Things change over the years. They say our memories change too. But I think our adult perspective of what we remember comes through. We try not to remember horrible things, just the good.

Yes that is very true. Age filters childhood.

I do remember good things and bad things. Not sure which will pop out with these photos though.

So many change.... in fact I believe that there is changes in every second of our life... even our emotions changes minute to minute.. great post :)

Thank you. Another episode coming out this evening.

Ok great will check it :)

Congratulations @pennsif! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65054.60
ETH 3558.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35