Pennsif's Progress - The Days are Numbered // Day 941 : When Nature Calls, The Rabbit Runs

in #homesteading7 years ago

I've been on a bit of a tidying purge this past week.

There's always so much to do on a homestead with the planting, the fixing, the making, the digging, the building, the sowing...

There is never enough time to keep the place tidy.

And through the summer everything is growing like crazy which just adds to the look of wild abandon and disarray.

So this week we started clearing around the house and in the yard.

The front of our house is covered in ivy. We cut it back each year but it just grows and it grows. I was a bit late on it this year and it was trying to sneak into our bedroom.

A ladder, secateurs and a good tug and that got cut down to size.

Finally I got read of our spare Vauxhall Zafira that had been molding away in the corner. I got it from the scrapyard to replace the doors on my Zafira after a little bumpity-bump with a bollard.

It earnt its keep several times over as we stripped it of lights, brakes and various bits and bobs.

But now it's gone back to the scrapyard from where I bought it.

That has freed up the space at the end of the house for the scaffolding that is coming this week for fixing the leaking chimney.

We've also been doing some more work on restoring the old orchard.

When we first moved here the apple, pear and plum trees used to be full of fruit every year.

But the yield has fallen off over the years. This wasn't helped by the Angora goats that we used to have getting in and giving some of the trees a friendly nibble.

The reduction in fruit has mainly been due to the surrounding trees, shrubs and bushes growing up and up, almost totally cutting off the light to the fruit trees.

We've made a start with the big holly tree on the corner that was totally shielding several of the fruit trees with its dense leaf structure.

That holly tree has been cut well back now. It will grow again very soon.

We also continued clearing out the coach house ready to make it into my 'Prepper HQ' (ie well organised store room).

It seems endless. I really don't know how I got so much in there. Today's load to the dump included cardboard boxes, an old duvet, a broken printer, damaged children's bike helmets, a toy phone, an imitation sheepskin rug that the cat slept in, more cardboard boxes, old cds and vhs videos... It just keeps coming - but I can at last see the floor in places now.

I always get to the dump on Sundays just before it closes at 3pm.

On the way back I pop into the local supermarket. That closes at 4pm so just when I get there they are doing the big markdowns on the products that have reached their sell-by date.

I got some good bargains today including some noodles and some nachos. And also a bunch of flowers for my wife.

I know I'm a cheapskate (they only cost £1.30 (US$1.68)) but it is the thought that counts.

And it was the memories too.

The flowers included red roses. When we were courting I used to take her a single red rose every time we met until we got married.

Another bargain at the supermarket was a treacle tart.

That's my eldest daughter's favourite.

I know it wasn't homemade but for 50p (US$0.64) who's going to argue.

Treacle tarts aren't so high on the healthy eating scale but I sorted it.

I had homegrown cucumber with mine 😎

After tea, it was raining and raining and raining. Much as it had been all day. But it was time to read the chickens their bedtime story.

Eventually I braved up and took out their evening snacks.

The pet rabbit now lives in the new chicken compound. It's a quarter acre of fresh grass and double fencing. She has been loving it there running around and digging holes in the mounds in the compound.

She is a very friendly rabbit. She always runs to greet us at the gate when we take her food.

But this evening she didn't. She was nowhere to be seen.

.

Then I found a hole. It seems she made a break for it. The overlapping fencing skirts down about a foot on the outside. It was designed to stop foxes digging in. We hadn't thought about rabbits digging out.

Why would she want to get out? She has everything she might want in the compound.

Early this morning my wife saw a wild rabbit in the yard heading over to the chicken compound. We've never seen one here before.

I'm guessing love has come a calling 😍


If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.

You might also be interested in some of my other recent posts :

[all images provided by @pennsif]

Sort:  

@pennsif Snick! Snick! A baker eats his mistakes and a doctor buries his, but an architect tells them to plant ivy.

😊 The house was built in 1799 and the walls are nearly a metre thick so I'm hoping it won't all fall down just yet. Although the chimney is rather wobbly...

Crossbred rabbits are cute. I am sure she dug her way out to find her love. She'll return to where it's safe to have the babies.

She's back now! We will wait to see what happens in 31 days...

Wow, you seem to have gotten alot done today! I hope your bunny comes back...

I managed some canning, Nyai fixed the AC rooftop unit that stopped working this spring, and I got a stack of orders packaged up to go out tomorrow. But your list seems so much longer! I might have to step up my game a little bit :O

Sunday is a good day for getting things done here 😊

The canning of tomatoes and sauce looks great.

Well done on finding your floor!

A tidying purge is definitely something I need to get on with, but like you say, the day to day tasks kind of take over. Then just when you think you've got a day, something unexpected happens and that takes the rest of the day up! Just spent over an hour at the doctors with hubby because they forgot to actually log in that her was there after all the form filling! Sigh.

You've just reminded me that I need to get the neighbours ivy cut back again before it invades our house. It's found its way under the pathways and will be crawling up the walls soon.

It's growing time of year here too, but because it's winter rather than summer. It's the perfect climate for all the plants that prefer British weather at the moment.

Luckily the ivy isn't so hard to control. But it has got entwined with the incoming phone lines so I have to be careful with the pulling and the snipping, else my internet connection for steemit might be....

You were busy! It's so freeing to get rid of things you no longer need.
It will be interesting to see if your bunny comes back with a litter some day. Is it a male or female?
Ivy is so beautiful, but my husband always tells me how it ruins the structure of the buildings it's growing on. I don't care, I still find it beautiful.

Our rabbit is female, so maybe she'll come back with some little baby ones. That would be cool. I wonder what they would be like - domesticated/wild cross.

Yeah, I wonder what they would taste like, but that's probably just me. I loved wild hare growing up, but I'm not sure that's the same as a wild rabbit.
It would also be interesting to see what kind of fur and markings and personality they would have of course.
I really want a rabbitry, I've read you can get 90kg of meat from just two does and a buck each year. Have you breed rabbits for meat or is she purely a pet?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64940.81
ETH 3553.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33