Pennsif's Progress - The Days are Numbered // Day 907 : Where should I put my nuts?

in #homesteading7 years ago

I have a 3 year plan of to plant 100 fruit trees and 100 nut trees.

This is year 2 of that plan and the fruit trees are on target with around 70 in place so far.
The nut trees are lagging behind though. With only about a dozen already in the ground and another 25 in containers waiting to find a suitable planting place we will really have to shift up a gear to meet the target next year.

One of the problems for the nut trees is space. We have cleared room now for the fruit trees in the field nearest the house, but for the nut trees we will need to plant them in the two fields farthest from the house.

So today we took advantage of the absence of rain and a bit of sunshine to take a walk round those two far fields to see where we might plant the nut trees.

Both those fields were planted with a forestry grant five years ago. So they are already quite well covered with a mixture of oak, ash, wild cherry and a few beech and hawthorn.

However there were some patches left there which will give space for about a dozen nut trees. There are also several clumps of ash that have suffered badly from Chalara Ash Dieback disease. We will be clearing those dying and dead trees shortly and that should open up spaces for another 20 or so nut trees.

We already have 3 walnut trees that are now about 7 years old, and another new one coming along in a pot at the moment. There are also a number of hazel and one sweet chestnut.

The nut trees waiting for planting now include 9 more sweet chestnut, a couple of almond trees and a dozen monkey puzzle trees (Araucaria araucana). These should all be going in the far two fields over winter.


Food Production Targets

Our other big project for the winter will be building the final raised bed in the polytunnel and then gathering enough compost to fill all four beds there.

It looks like we will achieve my target of doubling our food production this year. With the polytunnel all ready for planting from the spring, as well as the two greenhouses and half a dozen more raised beds, we should be able to more than double production again next year.

My eventual goal is to produce one tonne of food per year. I think I can achieve that within another three years, particularly if I manage to get a second polytunnel next year.

Also each our soil fertility is improving and my growing skills are getting better each year.

You might ask what I am going to do with all that food. I have plan for that too - but that is a subject for another post 😊


Chimney

Dodging between the rain showers all week we have finally managed to get the leaking chimney rebuild finished. It looks so smart now it makes the other chimney look rather tatty now.

With the chimney repair finished the next job is repoint the walls in the loft, put in new insulation and start boarding it over.

Unfortunately our old roof beams (over 200 years old) are too low to make the loft into an extra living space but it will be fine for storing extra prepping supplies.

I am hoping to get at least another 6 months of long term food supplies up there when that storage space is ready.


Electric Car?

Both our eldest and our middle daughter have now started learning to drive. Once they have passed their tests the big question then will be whether we get another car.

If we can find the money I am really keen to get an electric car. A friend nearby has just got a Nissan Leaf and he is really enjoying it. Over 95% of my journeys these days are less than 30 miles so an electric car would be ideal. Particularly with our solar PV coming before next spring.

I have been driving now for 40 years and the idea of no longer being dependent on the global oil industry for my transport really, really appeals to me.

Just need to get my steemit posts motoring and one day I'll be able to afford the electric car. So far I think I've earnt enough for the two front wheels...


Fungi, fungi, fungi

To end I think we need a bit of gratuitous fungi. After my recent post The Fungi of My Land I've started looking more and they are quite literally popping up everywhere.

The one on the left I believe is the Common Puffball (Lycoperdon perlatum). When we poked it with a stick it went 'poof' and all the spores flew up - but I just could not capture that on my little camera.

The fungus on the right I think is Dryad's Saddle (Polyporus squamosus). It is on the giant sycamore tree in front of our house.

If I have identified either of these fungi incorrectly do let me know in the comments.

.

That's all for tonight.


If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.

You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[all images provided by @pennsif]

Sort:  

Bahhaha

So far I think I've earnt enough for the two front wheels...

You're killing me. On a slightly more serious note, my husband wants an electric car too. On the island, it will do fine, but it won't be able to transport us outside of it.
A tonne of food sounds like a lot, but then I started adding up just what we consume in apples and potatoes and went, huh, I guess we need to shoot for a tonne too once we figure in everything, when we get a garden...

Hope you can get an electric car. I guess it is pretty flat where you are?

Maybe we should start The Tonne of Food club 😊

That would be fun. Comparatively flat although the island is a very hilly one, but no mountains of any kinds.

GREAT update. Love seeing all those projects, especially (as you've guessed it) the nut trees. I really must start loooking as I want to pop the first ones in this winter. I'm guessing they'll probably come as bare root but I need to find a decent supplier that I can afford.

Also - great idea on the electric car. I'm almost certain I heard a news piece a few weeks back about Nissan bringing out a new electric car with a MUCH larger mileage - like a couple of 100 miles or so. It's definitely the direction we're moving in, so would be great to get on board. Honestly, the low mileage was the only reason I didnt' get one when I first past my test a few years ago.

Again, great update. Looking forward to reading more.

Glad you like the post.

I've bought the nut trees from various sources. Often from ebay - I take a bit of a chance on the quality, but if they are cheap enough it is worth a go.

Yes I believe that is correct about the new improved range Nissan Leaf. That is one of the reasons I have been hanging on.

Good luck with the tree planting. I've got about 100+ hazelnuts I foraged while at Lappa Valley Railway (Cornwall) back in August (while the girls were playing crazy golf), just waiting for them to fully dry out and then into storage (for later planting, not consumption).

Yup, look like Dryad's Saddle (Pheasant Back). Watch MCQBushcraft's video on these 'shrooms on YouTube :)

Good luck with the hazelnuts. Thanks for the tip re MCQBushcraft's videos, I will take a look.

Just this once... 😊

thank you :)

I hope I live long enough to see a harvest from my pecan trees. Can take about 15 years for the ones I planted. They'll be awesome for my kids to inherit, lol.

Wow, to think enough Steem dollars to upgrade my solar and buy an electric car. Now that is thinking BIG. I like it!

Wish I could grow pecan trees - I love pecans - but I don't think they would work here in Wales.

I see the nut trees very much as a long term investment - leaving a legacy for my children and whoever arrives here after me.

Yes I'm a bit optimistic on the electric car - but one can always dream. SteemDreems rule 😊

Congratulations @pennsif! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44