Pennsif's Progress - The Days are Numbered // Day 905 : The garden keeps on giving

in #homesteading7 years ago

One of the things I'm most happy about on the homestead this year is how I am managing to extend our growing season.

This time last year we were coming to the end of most of the crop harvests and beginning to clear up the beds for winter.
But this year with staggered planting, second sowings and an increased variety of crops we still have two thirds of the beds in full production.

That is alongside extra crops growing in the greenhouses and the polytunnel.

We've got a third crop of carrots in the new greenhouse, alongside a fast growing bed of lettuce. In the first glass greenhouse the fuchsiaberries are cropping well to add an interesting new fruit variety to our diet.

In the old greenhouse the cape gooseberries are still going strong and the strawberries are on their third crop. The fig tree there has a lot of figs on it. I have never successfully grown figs before so I am really hoping they will ripen.

In the polytunnel we've got an experimental set of late tomatoes that are looking very green and vibrant. I'm hard pruning to concentrate all the energy towards the fruits but I don't know if it is just late for them.

There are also a dozen bell pepper plants coming to fruition, and the sweet potatoes might just yield something yet.

Out in the raised beds we still have potatoes, carrots, onions, cauliflowers, broccoli, kale, kohlrabi, red cabbage, chard, courgettes, marrows, pumpkins and rhubarb flowing into the kitchen on a daily basis.

Up high on my gardening dream list is to achieve full on year round food production.

I've just bought Eliot Coleman's book 'The Winter Harvest Handbook : Year-round Vegetable Production Using Deep-organic Techniques and Unheated Greenhouses' to help me in my quest.


The Joy of Giving

One of the great things about all this growing is that we have plenty for us, and then some left over.

We've been canning and freezing and dehydrating but still have some surplus.

One of my goals for our little patch of land has been to see if we can feed our family and others around us.

It has only been small scale so far with the vegetables that we have been able to give away - mainly courgettes, marrows, onions and rhubarb this year. But I hope this will grow.

On the egg front it has been even better. Our hens have been particularly bountiful. This year they have laid over 2000 eggs so far. We have given over half of them away.

We have never planned to sell our surplus crops, nor even trade or barter. We are happy just to give.

Giving has a wonderful side effect - unexpected receiving.

We have given vegetables and eggs. Friends have given us in return milk kefir grains, a spiralizer, cakes and most recently some delicious Chilean empanadas.

Giving tastes good.


Farewell Miss Rabbit

As I mentioned a couple of weeks back our pet rabbit had started a liaison with a dashing young wild rabbit.

She had been popping in and out every evening to see her beau, but it is now a week since we last saw her.

I am pretty sure she is pregnant as there were signs in her hutch that she had been making a nest.

My hope is that she has gone to live with Mr Wild Rabbit in a safe burrow somewhere roundabouts. Maybe we will be seeing cute little brown and white baby bunnies running about on the hillside in the next month or so.

Here's hopping...


Tasty Eats

I thought I'd end this post with a couple of delicious eats I've had today.

First up was my favourite rhubarb and angelica crumble. We have loads of rhubarb and loads of angelica so we thought we'd try them together. The angelica lifts the rhubarb up with a beautiful almost perfumed added flavour. Do give it a try if you have the ingredients.

We have lots of eggs so we are always looking for ways to use them. We didn't have time to make pastry so for a quick evening treat we made a cheese, onion and broccoli quiche using a couple of tortilla wraps for the base. It worked extremely well.

.

That's all for today. I'm off to listen to @sircork's show on MSP Waves Radio - he has top witness @timcliff as a guest this evening. Tune in at twitch.tv/mspwaves, and join in the chat on the PAL Discord server.

Night all.


If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.

You might also be interested in some of my other posts :

[all images provided by @pennsif]

Sort:  

Baby bunnies!!! I hope so, too! Those are going to be adorable.

Your garden fresh food sounds delicious, even though I don't know what half of it is. I've never even had a quiche!

I'm glad your ladies' egg production was so high! Sharing with friends definitely makes the work worth it.

Great post! I can't wait for baby bunny photos!

@hethur240
sweet comment
so how are you planning to keep those fresh harvest of yours come winter?

I didn't grow enough veggies this year to last us all winter. I might be able to make some tomato sauce, and something with my jalapenos but other than that, it was a loss for me this year.

It's ok...next season will be better .. @hethur240 do check my blog posts as i posted a lot on natural ways to have good yields..even in winter...i know you love it...

Thank you. Hopefully we will be seeing baby bunnies. But there are a lot of foxes around here - my avatar was one of them.

Oh goodness! I forgot about predators. Fingers crossed!

I love that you give your extras to friends or neighbors. Our little garden is just enough for us but we usually have some extra eggs. It does the heart good to give more than take! I like your philosophy! 🐓🐓

Thank you. I enjoy the giving as much as the growing - it's like a double achievement.

@pennsif
awesome post...got me hooked to the end... wow... love this lines "Giving has a wonderful side effect - unexpected receiving." keep it up... and my best wishes to your miss rabbit... and expect me for dinner soon ... wonderful arrays of tasty yummy foods... loving this which earns my support and follow
now my question is...this coming winter, do you still maintain your fresh crops and harvest?

Thank you, we will wait and see how it goes over the winter.

Ok dear...and do find time to check my blog posts

Looks like you'll be adding some hoppy days to your homestead soon. Oh MIss Rabbit... You sly thing!

Gorgeous strawberries!

Angelica? New one for me- will have to investigate! thank you for that!

@originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pennsif to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Mrs. Bunny will probably hop back when she has the little bunnies weened. Having a four season garden is wonderful. So far we have only managed three but hope for the fourth soon. I need more beds...sigh...

You can never have enough raised beds. I'm adding one about every two months at the moment until we run of space. Finding the soil / compost to fill them is the tricky bit for me.

Me too. Making our own compost just doesn't seem fast enough to keep up with our demand...

Well that's a brilliant piece of work.

Quiche in tortilla wrap?! THAT SOUNDS AMAZING!

Thanks for the update; good to know what you're getting up to. I hope you see baby Miss Bunnies too - that would a nice little continuation of the story. :D

you are a good writer..

Wow! I really hope your bunny shows back up and you see some babies. I'd hate to think a predator got her. Keep us posted!

@homesteadbuilder
good comment and me too... so whats homesteading plans this winter?

Those strawberries look great! Congrats on this years garden!

Yeah you are absolutely right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49