Pennsif's Pick of the Week - my top 10 Homesteading & Prepping posts I've found in my first 7 days

in #homesteading7 years ago

So I have reached the end of my first week on steemit.

Impressed. Engrossed. Addicted ?

And maybe also ... confused - uncertain - overwhelmed.

There is so much to learn. So much to read. That is one of the biggest problems.

There are so many great posts. So many that flash by without due attention and without due reward.

I got lucky with my Preppers & Homesteaders on steemit list. It got upvoted and resteemed by enough people to give it a bit of traction. Thank you everyone.

But for many good quality posts, for whatever reason, that doesn't happen.

So I thought I would pay back in some small way by putting the spotlight on the top 10 posts of the last seven days that I think deserve more attention.

I'm focussing on posts to do with prepping and homesteading, but the odd wildcard may slip in from time to time. So here goes...

Pennsif's Picks for the week ending 24 June 2017


Favourite Instructional / How To posts

@allforthegood : Super Simple Series - No Thermometer Overnight Yogurt https://steemit.com/recipe/@allforthegood/super-simple-series-no-thermometer-overnight-yogurt

@eggmeister : SHTF - How You Could Char!
https://steemit.com/prepping/@eggmeister/shtf-how-you-could-char-bushcraft-self-reliance-prepping

@farmstead : How to make a Chick Brooder
https://steemit.com/homestead/@farmstead/how-to-make-a-chick-brooder

@flusterfarm : Planning the First Garden
https://steemit.com/gardening/@flusterfarm/planning-the-first-garden

Best Researched post

@minighomestead : The Problems with Making Money on the Homestead (in Georgia) https://steemit.com/homesteading/@minighomestead/the-problems-with-making-money-on-the-homestead-in-georgia

Favourite General Homesteading post

@flusterfarm : HOMESTEADING Goal Post! Add your goals for this week! https://steemit.com/homesteading/@flusterfarm/homesteading-goal-post-add-your-goals-for-this-week

Favourite General Prepping post

@greenacrehome : Top 5 Preps to Survive a Storm [Article + Video] https://steemit.com/prepping/@greenacrehome/top-5-preps-to-survive-a-storm-article-video

Favourite post including cute animal photos

@raincountry : Homemade Natural Pain Reliever for Your Pups!
https://steemit.com/howto/@raincountry/homemade-natural-pain-reliever-for-your-pups

Favourite Random post

@homesteader : How To Hand Feed A Hummingbird
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@homesteader/how-to-hand-feed-a-hummingbird

Honourable Mention

I would also like to flag up the idea from @kiaraantonoviche for a Weekly Homesteading Newsletter. This can only be a good thing.
https://steemit.com/life/@kiaraantonoviche/proposition-weekly-homesteading-newsletter


Sorry there are no prizes. This is just for fun and hopefully for rewarding great content creators.

I do encourage you to take a look at these posts and share the love with an upvote, resteem, comment or follow.

If people think this Pick of the Week is worthwhile I’ll do it again next week.

And if you spot any real gems in the week ahead post them below and I’ll take a look.


Some of my recent posts :

My intro post

My list of Preppers & Homesteaders on steemit

Pennsif's Progress - Day 999 - Life in the Trenches


If you found this post useful or interesting please do upvote, resteem and follow. Thank you.
Sort:  

Thanks for including the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter as your honorable mention! I will be posting the first issue tomorrow - it is a short newsletter as I only began this project on Thursday, but hopefully it turns out alright!

Looking forward to reading your newsletter @kiaraantonoviche

Thanks for the compilation and the pick! Now to go read the ones I've not yet. Thanks!

Thank you. I'm starting on my hunt for the next picks of the week now.

Thank you for the post and being on Steemit!!

I'm enjoying being here. Interesting posts. Interesting people.

Thank you. If you spot any good ones for next week's picks do let me know.

Thank you for reading, commenting, and participating with me on my posts! It's real nice to see someone appreciating my works! Thank you so much!

You're welcome. It is interesting to see how other homesteaders tackle the same tasks I do here - like looking after the chicks.

Thanks for the shout-out @pennsif. That's a brilliant post format, are you going to do a weekly one?
Resteemed :)

You're welcome. Yes if people find this interesting / useful I'll be doing this weekly. Hopefully it will help other homesteaders and preppers get a bit more exposure and reward for their work. Thank you for the resteem.

Thanks so much for the shout-out, @Pennsif! I've also found this site overwhelming and confusing. Trying to stay on top of it but it's tough to do as I have weeding and chores (and, you know, life!) waiting on me. Hoping they make some improvements to the UI so it's not such a cluster.

You are welcome. Steemit can certainly be a time-grabber but I enjoy it. I've swapped out from YouTube - not watching that anymore so I still have time for the chickens, ducks, vegetables, trees etc. I'm sure steemit will continual to evolve and become a bit more user friendly.

Thank you so much. I am on a small homesread here and make video on youtibe about it and solar stuff as well. God Bless..

I enjoyed this and will be resteeming it so that I can go back later and check each of these post. Check out and follow me @myhomesteaded. I am brand new and looking forward to sharing our experience with others.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82