Hi from west Wales in the UK - I'm a prepper and a homesteader (and before that I used to be a penguin catcher)

in #introduceyourself7 years ago

First and foremost I'm a prepper and a homesteader.

A big part of my prepping is learning new skills. I love going on courses around the country. I've been on almost a hundred over the past four years.

More on those later, but here's me on an introduction to blacksmithing course. That was hot and hard !

And here's me again learning how to handle heavy horses. I really enjoyed that one.

I'm also a numbers person - I love maths and spreadsheets. I have spreadsheets for everything. If you can't put it in a spreadsheet it's not worth doing :-)

So here are a few numbers to fill in a bit more of my backstory :

  • I was born in the 60's
  • My weight is in the 70's
  • I got married in the 80's
  • We had kids in the 90's
  • We bought our homestead in the 2000's
  • I got serious about prepping in the 2010's

I have 17 acres, 16 chickens, 15 pairs of socks, 14 apple trees, 13 raised beds, 12 broken computers (I'll fix them one day), 11 rooms (in the house and the coachhouse), 10 gardening books, 9 rhubarb plants, 8 power tools, 7 favourite shirts, 6 ducks and geese, 5 walkie-talkies, 4 blue cars, 3 children, 2 greenhouses and a lake.

Phew, try saying all that without taking a breath !

I'm hooked on gardening - particularly the growing food part of it. But I don't like bugs and pests - particularly slugs and cabbage white caterpillars. I will defeat them (organically of course) before they eat me up...

And I like raising chickens. That gives me a good excuse to end for now on a cute chick pic :

Much more coming soon - about prepping, homesteading, gardening, cooking and my general thoughts about the world.

If there is anything in particular you would like to know more about just drop a note below and I'll do my best to answer.

Sort:  

Welcome. I am now following. and Upvoted. Fellow prepper friend. Waiting for you to reveal some of the stuff you learned. Those courses look amazing. Especially the horse one.

Thanks so much for adding me to your Preppers list. It's great to be around like minded people and am honored to be in the company of a great community. I'm in the Tampa Fl USA area. I have a lot of catching up to do with this groups vids and blogs. Good luck my friend.

Hi @gulfcoastprepper, good to see you posting again. You might be interested in the Homesteaders & Preppers Slack group. There is a link to it in some of my more recent posts.

Thank you botty :-)

Congratulations @pennsif! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Welcome to steemit community. You will love it. Following links may help you to get started.
New Users Guide: https://steemit.com/welcome
Dos and don’ts on Steemit:https://steemit.com/steemit/@najoh/dos-and-don-ts-on-steemit
Top Earners List:https://steemwhales.com/
ChainBB Steem Forum: https://steemit.com/chainbb/@jesta/chainbbcom-a-blockchain-forum-platform-for-steem
If you find this post useful, Feel Free to up vote, follow me.

Thanks for the links @maheshreddy - most useful.

Welcome pennsif to the community follow me @jzeek and i will return the favor thanks.

Hi @jzeek. Now followed you. Looking forward to reading posts from Pakistan - I don't know much about your country.

Hello there @pennsif and welcome to Steemit! I just upvoted you!! I hope you enjoy your time here and make lots of $$$. If you're interested in lotteries, please check my profile out @steemitlotteries. I run FULLY TRANSPARENT LOTTERIES with promotional posts where I issue FREE TICKETS for those who help me curate my promotions. All the best! :)

I'll take a look @steemitlotteries, thank you

Welcome to Steemit Platform. Upvoted and Following you.

A very warm welcome to Steemit! Enjoy your time here. Follow me @prabhavathi

Thank you - now followed - tasty looking recipes you have.

Pengine catcher ??? wow ..and I loved the way you told your backstory I will have it saved somewhere for future :) ..Welcome to the family .. would love to read more posts by you .. keep posting
Upvoted the post!
You Can follow me @utfull if you like
Will follow you back! See you around.

Glad you like the post @utful. Yes I was a penguin catcher in my younger days. Best job of my life. Will definitely do a post on that soon if I can dig up some of my old photos from then.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62104.41
ETH 2404.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49