Homemade Natural Pain Reliever for Your Pups!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #howto7 years ago

In the above video, I show my own healthy pain reliever and anti-inflammatory for dogs. I will also type the recipe below.

Since making the video, I did a bit of research and found that this will also work great for cats though you may want to leave the catnip out since it is a stimulant for cats, but for dogs, it is a sedative.

You can make whatever amount you want but I used about 1 cup of melted coconut oil and to that I added 1 Tablespoon each of the following:
*turmeric powder
*moringa powder
*dried catnip (great as a painkiller and what I use most for headaches and such for myself)
*ginger
*ceylon cinnamon (NOT the common Cassia cinnamon! It must specifically be CEYLON cinnamon. Cassia cinnamon can cause liver damage).

I even put a pinch of cayenne pepper. One can also consider using a pinch of Valerian root as it is not only great for its calming effects but I have found it is wonderful as a muscle relaxer and have used my homemade Valerian tincture when I was having lots of shoulder pain from muscle tension brought on by stress.

My sweet boy

DSCN1105.JPG

I then put the mixture in the fridge and stirred every few minutes. You can also pour in to small candy molds and let chill until solid. Candy molds are about a teaspoon, which is perfect for a small dog. For a medium size dog, you may want to give two, and larger dogs 3-4. Since it is totally safe and healthy, there is really no fear of overdose.

'Cotti and his sister Luna happily munching on baby potatoes from the garden

DSCN1131.JPG

As shared in the video, I have found this mixture to work amazingly well. In fact, I had to use it again last night as my little Biscotti ("Cody" for short since it is pronounced the Italian way, not the Americanized way), is very active and occasionally pulls a muscle or sprains something. He did this again last night when jumping up into my lap, he was in so much pain, whimpering and crying and could not move without hurting. About 20-30 minutes after I have him some, he was fine and running around again.

I do hope you enjoyed this post and learned something new! Thank you for your time :D ~Heidi

NOTE: I am NOT a doctor or a veterinarian nor pretend to be either. Nothing I say should be used to replace professional medical counseling! Also, PLEASE do your OWN research!

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

This is great! Thanks for posting. I didn't know catnip was a sedative for dogs. And good for headaches? Good to know! I am following you now. Upvoted and resteemed as well!

Thank you goatgarden!

Fabulous! I use essential oils on my furbabies! Good to know other options too! Thanks Rain! I always learn so much from you! 💖 Ya!

This is a very helpful post as I have two senior girls. Thank you and happy Saturday to you!⭐️

I am so glad this can be helpful to you, I hope you have an amazing and beautiful day <3 :D

You too! Thank you!

I'll have to keep this in my toolkit. As a pet-sitter, I'm sure some my clients could benefit from these.

Thanks much!

You are welcome and thank you for checking this out :D

Awesome post - all these ingredients totally make sense but I'd have no idea where to start of how much of each- thank you this is great! Love the candy mold idea. Will be sharing with my mom who's a dog trainer 👍🏻💕

I wouldn't have known whete to start either. She is such a wealth of information!

I'm new to these videos but I've truest enjoyed every one I've seen so far! 😊

wow thanks for sharing
my dog is sick
and i really need this..l
UPVOTED!

I sure hope this is something that will work for your pup! Thank you!

Hi @raincountry. We're just looking to get a dog at the moment (we can't all decide on what type yet). I am very much into natural remedies so I will hold on to this post in case we every need it. Thank you.

Great info! Thank you!

When I find then Ceylon cinnamon, I'll try the recipe! Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55111.68
ETH 2306.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31