How to Coax a Fresh Egg from a Chicken (Video) & How to Decipher the True Freshness of Store Bought Eggs

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

My mother-in-law, well, she’s a cowgirl through and through. She goes on trail rides every year. Her voicemail says, “Hi Cowboys and Cowgirls, this is Jaynie! You know what to do at the beep! Leave a message and I’ll holler at ya later! Love ya!” She’s surrounded by animals… 2 horses, 4 dogs, 3 cats and quite a few ducks and chickens.

I’m highly allergic to fresh duck eggs, so my post today is going to be about fresh chicken eggs.

Video - Coaxing a Fresh Egg from a Chicken & Yolk Comparison

In this video, I’m going to teach you how to coax an egg from the chicken, then I’m going to crack it open and compare the yolk with the store bought eggs.

As you can see from the video, not only is there a huge difference in yolk color, but also in yolk consistency.

What you may not know about fresh eggs is that there’s a protective coating on the shells to keep bacteria out so when you get fresh eggs, you don’t need wash them right away. You can even leave them out on the counter for a few days. As soon as you wash them, you’ll need to refrigerate them.

Click here to learn why America chills its eggs and most of the world doesn't.

Taste Test

As you can see, the eggs come in all different sizes and colors depending which chicken laid it. I absolutely LOVE the taste of the brown eggs. Amazingly yummy. There’s a small white chicken that lays big white eggs… but for some reason, her eggs have a weird earthy taste to them.

super fresh eggs from the chicken coop.png

I tried my first fresh egg from a chicken coop only about 4 years ago. I don’t know why it took me so long to try the eggs. My mother-in-law used to try to send me home with eggs but I always said, “No, it’s okay. Already have some at home.”

Then, I read up on fresh eggs vs. grocery store eggs and that made me change my mind forever about fresh eggs. Technically, farmers have 30 days to get their eggs to a grocery store and the grocery store has 30 days to sell the eggs, then you have however long you take to eat them. Thankfully, they typically don’t take that long to get to the store.

Deciphering the True Freshness of Store Bought Eggs

The most important thing to learn is how to properly read an egg carton for true freshness or to see if your carton of eggs are caught up in an egg recall.

egg carton.jpg

What the Heck is a Julian Calendar

A Julian Calendar simply counts each day starting from Jan 1, being 001. So, a Julian Calendar Date of 190 means that these eggs were packaged on July 9th, more than 5 weeks ago, yet according to my egg carton, they still fall inside the Best by date!

The USDA, United States Department of Agriculture, provides a Julian Calendar you can use.
usda julian calendar.JPG

I never turn down fresh eggs anymore. In fact, I make special trips to my mother-in-law's to pick some up.

Lessons Learned While Creating This Post

  • In this post, I created a video for the first time that combined multiple clips.
  • I learned how to read an egg carton for true freshness.
  • I learned that most countries do not wash their eggs, so they don't need to refrigerate them.
  • I learned what a Julian Calendar is and how to read it.
  • I had to use CloudConvert.com to convert a movie file to an MP4. - The link to this tutorial is here.
  • I learned how to sign up for notifications on all recalls, including egg recalls, from the USDA, by clicking here.

My Other Posts

Remember to upvote, follow, resteem or comment to show support. :)

Much luv,

@karencarrens

100% Original Content

Sort:  

Great article as now I know more about Fresh eggs vs those from the store. Now I know more about Julian calendar on the box as well.. Whats the number and alphabet next to the Julian Calendar? how does the store advise on this recall, via what method of communication? Never know there is recall for eggs.... interesting!! Maybe you can enlighten me. Thanks
@jackpot

You bring up some great questions. I will update my post to reflect some of your awesome questions. I put a link that you can get the notifications from USDA if you're in the US. :)

Wow! So big and really fresh eggs @karencarrens, Nice to eat Ha! Ha! :)

I know! Amazingly good! Thanks for stopping by! I hope you and your family are doing well. 😀

Why you so scared of chicken? Did she bite you before? ))

I'm such a chicken! A while back, I posted about some peacocks in my neighborhood. Yes. What if they peck you? LOL

I was pecked by chicken before at my mam's farm when I was trying to grab the eggs, its was quite painful. But it is true, that those eggs taste so different!

So, you know exactly why I'm asking her politely for her egg! hahaha. She complained a little bit, but I won out! Egg was yummy! OMG!!! Thanks for the Resteem!!! <3

My god,I can't remember what was the last time I ate a fresh egg from the chicken, always everything is from the store.When I was little we used to have chickens and ducks,fresh eggs in the mornings 😋 - the best!I miss those times,you are lucky you have your mother-in-law 😊

I know. She's always got so many animals running around her. That's so cool that you grew up with fresh eggs! So many of us never get to taste a fresh egg until we are adults! You'll need to get some chickens again! :)

This post has received a 16.36 % upvote from @lovejuice thanks to: @karencarrens. They have officially sprayed their dank amps all over your post rewards. GOOD TIMES! Vote for Aggroed!

This post has received a Bellyrub and 18.77 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to: @karencarrens. Vote @zeartul for witness!

This post has received a 7.89 % upvote from @nettybot thanks to: @karencarrens.

Send 0.100 SBD to @nettybot with a post link in the memo field to bid on the next vote.

Oh, and be sure to vote for my owner, @netuoso, as Steem Witness

Have a great day!

This post was resteemed by @resteembot!
Good Luck!

Learn more about the @resteembot project in the introduction post.

Congrats! This post has been selected at random as a part of our promotional campaign for a free resteem. Learn about this new service

Thank you! That's so wonderful!

This is an awesome post. The Julian calendar bit, in particular, blew my mind.

Your Mother-in-Law sounds awesome.

Here, we're currently down to a single rooster after having had about 15 chickens total a few years back.

We've still got ducks wandering around and 3 incredibly annoying geese though, so we probably don't need any more birds. Just rescued a swallow and wrote about that here too. So many birds...

Hi sweet friend! Glad you stopped by! Yes, my mother-in-law's an amazing lady. She raised an amazing husband for me 🤣. What I love is that we get to learn so much when we prepare to write a post.

I can't keep away from your posts haha.

I can attest to each post being quite a learning experience. Sometimes I wonder if we learn more about ourselves as we write than we learn about the subject itself.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59425.55
ETH 2345.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44