Round 2 entry - Laura Lemons art tribute contest - Hope.

in #holoz0rlltaa17 years ago

So much happening right now. Planning for the Adelaide steemian BBQ, 360 VR camera and Silver coins on the way; and becoming a voting power landlord.

Capture.PNG

Without an artistic bone in my body, I've actually surprised myself with the relative quality of this entry.
There are some amazing artists in this competition and I feel like that African swimmer at the Olympics.
My country may not even have a pool, but I'll swim my heart out to honour the competition.

I moved 5 bitcoin across into steem power just before this massive btc price jump.
It's funny how much more it stings when you regret having done something, rather than when you regret having done nothing.
Every day an altcoin triples, and I'm not haunted by having ignored it; because it's not acting which cost me the opportunity.
When you act though, and mistime the market, it stings, because its acting that did the damage.

Why couldn't I have just slept in?
I do nothing all day, anyway.
I should have just done even more nothing!
Why couldn't I just sit and wait a bit longer??

The upside to all this, is that I'm now much more heavily invested in steem; and I've started delegating/leasing out my voting power in lots of 10,000.

The Adelaide BBQ is coming up fast and my 360 Xiaomi Mijia 3.5K camera is on the way.

Mij.jpg

I'll have it on a tripod, which is great for any non-Adelaide steemians with goggles, who want to experience the day; but has some implications for those who might be a little more shy, or who have privacy concerns.
Suggestions or insights appreciated

These little beauties are all finished, and in the process of being shipped as we speak.
As much as I love having zeroes and ones on blockchains; that feeling of silver in the hand is hard to beat.

DQmf4mFKKQydiuArqNxtWTm9Tb6ebdM6UCKUxtAi6ALKUMP.jpg

My friend put me onto an option for Aussies to buy steem directly, online, through Bpay or Poli, with 2-3% fees to buy crypto, and no fees to convert back to fiat. I don't like the onerous ID requirements, which are obviously legal necessities, so I haven't used it myself, but my mate buys bitcoin through them, and says they're legit.

If these KYC (know your customer) requirements are in place for the foreseeable future, blogging on steemit may be the best way for privacy minded folk to get into crypto.
I always assumed bitcoin would end up being the on-ramp, but if governments keep getting in the way, steem may end up in that role.

It feels a little like this place has taken over my life, recently.
I guess it just feels novel to be online but doing something of consequence. Like a video game, except there's a real princess who gets rescued if you succeed.

There's a motto there...

Steemit. Social media but for keeps.





From an older post of mine, time lapse video of the tide coming in

Sort:  

Looking forward to getting the silver rounds myself. Shouldn’t be long now!😁

It'll still be a while before they make their way to South Australia, but I can wait.
Appreciate the resteem btw :)

I transferred a bunch of ETH into SP a few days ago as well, before ETH started popping. All least steem was lower though, so all good. Swings and roundabouts.

It's all about the long term, right? Besides, steem power brings in growth and yield, bitcoin just growth.
These hardforks are getting tiresome. They're too nerve-wracking.

Yes. Steem is like having savings account that pays you daily interest that you can't just dip into.

I don't even care about bitcoin gold. Sure, I'll take the free coin but I kinda hope it tanks so future forkers think twice about it.

I think a lot of people overlearned their lesson when they got/heard about all that 'free' bitcoin cash after the last fork; now they're mooning btc, hoping to get another stab.
I was always a bitcoin maximalist, but it's getting a little silly. Moving that 5 btc in took 15 hours, while Steem blocks are generated every 3 seconds.
I thought btc would be the hub between fiat and crypto.
The US dollar of the crypto world. Now I'm not so sure. People keep building tools to buy/sell alts directly. Kinda makes bitcoin look like a dinosaur.
(I feel like such an apostate saying that)

Yeah I don't really see the point of bitcoin gold. Why not just use one of the other blockchains that does the same thing? Makes little sense to me. Where is the demand going to come from?

Hey, I'm a big BTC fan too, it makes up the largest share of my crypto portfolio. I like that it's been around the longest and seems to survive and prosper despite whatever gets chucked at it. It's a proven product (so far) and none of the other coins have the same level of experience (if that's the right way to say it).

But yes 15 hours does seem long. However, if we fast forward a few years, will other coins face similar real world scaling issues? I don't know.

I know Dan Larimer, co-creator of steem/steemit, is working toward a 0.5 second block. Steemit runs on a 3 second block; and bitcoin is roughly 10 minutes.
I always assumed that bitcoin would.
A: Harness superior hashing power to destroy any threatening alts
B: Incorporate any new, exciting code/ideas into itself, retaining it's network effect and nullifying any first mover advantage the altcoin had.
DPOS stops bitcoin miners from launching a 51% attack, and the btc devs don't seem to agree on anything, so superior code is unlikely to make it past the gatekeepers.
That's my main two reasons for keeping btc front and centre, both dead in the water.
Certainly something to think about. (I also currently hold a reasonable amount of btc, but I know we're not deciding the truth here, merely trying to discern it)

Looking forward to the BBQ, and checking out your cool gadgets :)

It feels a little like this place has taken over my life, recently.

Oddly that is the thing I avoid the most. I don't like to get sucked into stuff...don't matter what they are. Partly cuz I have a tendency to get sucked up super fast and then I fail in other areas. :D

@atopy - Yes, I've had the same odd feeling but with less worry and an underlying assurance that I might actually be learning something. (Imagine that!) You joined Steemit in the month before I joined, so part of that super-suction is the learning curve. And look at your very commendable reputation score. Congratulations! You're not failing, your succeeding!

@atopy - Yes, I've had the same odd feeling but with less worry and an underlying assurance that I might actually be learning something. (Imagine that!) You joined Steemit in the month before I joined, so part of that super-suction is the learning curve. And look at your very commendable reputation score. Congratulations! You're not failing, your succeeding!

The engagement between you and your followers is something special and unique.

Looking forward to what the future has to offer :)

You're building quite the audience yourself, there.

Cheers mate, it's been a great first month!

@mattclarke - Hi, Matt! Just checking on you. You're very wrong about not having an artistic bone in your body. You have a wonderful future as a Pulitzer prize-winning cartoonist! We haven't conversed since you began the lease offer so I wanted to see if you're pleased with the results. It appears by the immediate response that your idea is exactly what forward-thinking Steemians have been waiting for. And don't worry too much about missing the big Btc jump. Instead, congratulate yourself that your reasoning was right and there was method to your madness. The market was wrong!

Have fun at the Adelaide BBQ and take lots of pictures! Many thanks for all those tiny little one-cent upvotes. You may have single-handedly nudged my fledgling account towards positive territory :) (I think I should be using Steemit.chat for messages like this, so I'll try that next. Be bountifully blessed!

Thanks, Sarah. Every bit helps :)
I've ordered a 360 video camera and I'll shoot hopefully about 45 mins of footage. If you have access to VR goggles and youtube, it'll be like you're standing right there with us.
Otherwise, I'm sure the other Mallsballers will post about it too with lots of photos.
Damn straight the market was wrong. I sold for what they're objectively worth, but these idiots with too much money have since overpaid...
(Isn't it funny the crap we tell ourselves sometimes)

@mattclarke - Yes, Matt, I have filled up my head with my own absurdities and have no one to blame but myself. Like, how did the idiots with so much money that they can afford to pay way too much for whatever they buy get all that money in the first place? Hmmnn. I could spend a little while on that. But why torment myself? I'll join you on YouTube instead, so have a really, really good time for me!

5 BTC worth in steem wow that's what i call a smart invest, i want to see more ideas like BBQ in places as south america i have my youtube channel and i promote steemit there but culturaly latins are so much distrustful hehe. Regards

I think it's important at this point, to develop offline relationships to compliment the online ones.
Free beer tends to override trust issues, I find :)

Jajajajajaja yes free beer can make wonders, I'm totally agree about the offline events

Lovely art dear, that is a great tribute I think.

Congratulations, @mattclarke, you're in the next round! Find your next artistic challenge here!

That art is very rich in detail and says a lot about the artist. Laura Lemons must be smiling somewhere in the sky watching this tribute to her.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63549.78
ETH 3107.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88