Who made it through to the final around of the Laura Lemons tribute Art prize?

in #lauralemons7 years ago

The short answer is all three artists that submitted a work for the latest round!

Congratulations on your perseverance @mattclarke, @kaylinart, and @juliakponsford

The theme for round two was hope. Here are the entries:

@juliakponsford entered with (in her words): The galaxy/space imagery represents the infinite support networks we all have access to when we are in need of a hand (or should). There's also something freeing about the idea of floating in space so I worked all these ides together to create this final surreal and dreamlike composition.

source

Indeed, the work conveys a sense of fragility, the ethereal, and the fact that like all emotions, and existence, hope is feeling. The background of a cosmos contrasts with a single figure's position in the universe, showing, in my view; the innumerable moments we have, and the extreme luck we all experience to merely be. An excellent entry.

Next, we have @mattclarke, who hoped for upvotes with his entry. His persistence in the competition has gotten him to where he is, the FINAL round, and I bet its a sweet torture for him, given the theme I have in mind for the final round! In his words: There are some amazing artists in this competition and I feel like that African swimmer at the Olympics.
My country may not even have a pool, but I'll swim my heart out to honour the competition.


source

While I have a formal art education in my history, its always interesting to see work created by those who may not have had an education in art beyond very early school - unless you're hustling us all, Matt, I like what you've done, and thank you for your efforts.

Finally, our lucky last (who just slipped in in time!), is @kaylinart, who submitted a portrait. It is a beautiful and haunting image, and the more I look at it, the more the details and the honorific nature of the image to laura's memory screams out. Its a beautiful piece.


source

The theme for the third and final round is that of Surrender

I look forward to your contributions, as always. The prize pool at current remains a 50 STEEM power delegation for 12 weeks, and 10 STEEM.

Thank you all for your attention, start your engines!

Sort:  

Yay!! Good job everyone :)

I''m really looking forward to what you all come up with under the new theme!

Nice initiative, interesting entries. The project seems to be getting bigger.

Awesome and congrats to the other artists, when is the due date for this round? Last day of November?

Last day of November.

good to see .. :)

The project is getting bigger

This post received a 15% vote by @mrsquiggle courtesy of @choogirl from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ). Join us in Discord.

Upvoting this comment will help support @minnowsupport.

I made my third entry! Woohoo I did them all :D

It's called Beautiful Agony
ezgif-3-87e5a4c181.gif

You can see the post here: https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/beautiful-agony-of-surrender-entry-for-holoz0r-s-lauralemons-tribute-award-round-3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58729.26
ETH 2640.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47