My California - Just Playing My Guitar Part Thirteen

in SoCal Steemit2 years ago


Playing guitar cover.png

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @socalsteemit I continue this musical series where I relax at home and...

just play my guitar!!

SoCal divider.jpg

The music continues!

If you missed them be sure to check out Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8, Part 9, Part 10, Part 11 and Part 12.

I'm back this week playing my guitar again! This week I'm going back 52 years to 1970 when the hippie movement was in full effect. And one of the biggest bands to come from that movement was none other than the Grateful Dead. They created a culture of Dead Heads which were die hard fans who would follow the band all over the country. While I'm much too young to have ever been a Dead Head, I really do enjoy their music and so today I'm going to play a cover of their song "Casey Jones" which is inspired by a story about an engineer on the Illinois Central Railroad in the year 1900 who died in a crash where he was unable to stop and plowed into another train that was parked on the track. If you are interested you can read more about the story here. And without further ado... here is my cover of Casey Jones!

And here you can hear the original 1970 version by the Grateful Dead.

And so until next time...

I hope you have enjoyed this glimpse into

My California!!

SoCal divider.jpg

all photos by @derekrichardson

cma new banner yellow.png

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

Sort:  

Cool stuff, and nice job! 😎

Congratulations @derekrichardson, your post won 1st prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 55093.98
ETH 2894.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22