My California - Just Playing My Guitar Part Nine

in SoCal Steemit2 years ago


Playing guitar cover.png

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @socalsteemit I continue this musical series where I relax at home and...

just play my guitar!!

SoCal divider.jpg

The music continues!

If you missed them be sure to check out Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, and Part 8.

This week I am once again going to be playing another song by the incredible Jose Gonzalez, who I also covered in Part 7 and Part 8. This song is called 'Crosses' and it comes off of his 2003 album 'Veneer'. As with a lot of Jose's songs it's lyrics are quite deep and introspective. It can seem a bit depressing, but I really enjoy it because it makes me think and feel while listening. Intellectual and emotional. As usual my version has been simplified for my guitar ability. Jose always has the most beautiful finger picking patterns which unfortunately are out of my talent range for the most part. But I was able to pick out the chords and make up a decent strumming pattern. So while it is obviously nowhere near as good as the real version I hope you'll enjoy my attempt at playing Crosses!




And here is the official version by Jose.

If you are not familiar with Jose Gonzalez I would highly recommend checking out his music. He has so many great songs, you won't be disappointed!

And so until next time...

I hope you have enjoyed this glimpse into

My California!!

SoCal divider.jpg

all photos by @derekrichardson

cma new banner yellow.png

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

Sort:  

You have many talents my friend! Well done!

Congratulations @derekrichardson, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 62001.44
ETH 3479.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51