My California - Just Playing My Guitar Part Ten

in SoCal Steemit2 years ago


Playing guitar cover.png

For this weeks Show Us Your California contest by @socalsteemit I continue this musical series where I relax at home and...

just play my guitar!!

SoCal divider.jpg

The music continues!

If you missed them be sure to check out Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6, Part 7, Part 8 and Part 9.

This week I'm gonna change it up a little and cover a popular country song from the early 90's. This song comes from the one and only Garth Brooks. It's powerful lyrics bring images of thunder, both externally with a man being out late on a stormy night, and internally in the heart of a woman worrying about that man, but then discovering that he was cheating on her. The original version has a beautiful finger picking pattern, which is unfortunately a bit beyond my ability, but as usual I was able to put it to a nice strumming pattern that is more in my playing style. And so, without further delay, here is my cover of 'The Thunder Rolls'!

*note - for some reason this cover got a copyright claim. I've appealed it, so hopefully you can see the video, but if not I'm sorry. YouTube sucks.

And here is the official version by Garth.

And so until next time...

I hope you have enjoyed this glimpse into

My California!!

SoCal divider.jpg

all photos by @derekrichardson

cma new banner yellow.png

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @derekrichardson, your post won 2nd prize in this weeks Show us Your California contest!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56