You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open Happiness (Week 6): Touching lives through Selfless Giving!

in SteemAlive3 years ago (edited)

Goodevening friends and welcome to our Open talk this evening. Here is our Question:

1. How did your dad or mum discipline you when you were small?
2. Will you do the same as a parent if you have your own kids?
3. What is one mistake parents make which you would like to avoid?

Take a question at a time

Sort:  
  1. When i was a kid, i received strokes of lashes till i got so used to it. It wasn't the best way to discipline me though.

  2. I will discipline my kids but with words. I think words have a way of going straight to the marrow of a child and will help the child a whole lot.

  3. Always preventing a child from doing something without telling the child what the consequence that thing will be. For example, parents to female will be like " do not let any boy touch your breast" if the female child asks "mummy why" they will be like, "shut up and don't question me". I think it is best to give a child good reasons why he/she should or should not do something.

 3 years ago 

Well @davosimple mere scolding and 'talking-to' may not be enough.Children of these days are stubborn minded.

#My thoughts

Lols...
Yeah, they are stubborn but most the cane sef can make them even more stubborn

 3 years ago 

They disciplined me through flogging to the extent that my body got used to cane and other things.

As a parent I won't discipline my children like that oh because at some point we would do wrong and know that highest it's cane they'll flog us..cane that our body was already used to

Parents think flogging children's will make them stay right and not go wrong,it's very wrong. Every parent should know their child and know how to deal with them peculiarly. It isn't always flogging. A parent can discipline a child by simply sitting the child down and talking tot he child. Sometimes we children do things because we need attention not because an evil spirit is in us

Well, for me, my dad disciplined me like there was no tomorrow...i was the very stubborn on so my dad flogged the hell out of me....

I dont think i want to do same with my child because i would want to give my child the chance to express his or her self which my parents never gave me the opportunity to.

Patents fail to understand that now, technology and modernization has taken over...we arent in the old era like them, so they should give us the chance to live in our time and not in their time.

 3 years ago 

Waooh @kinkyamiee. Does he use bar hand, cain or anything to beat you? Is he a huge man? Do you escape sometimes?

Mehnnn...it was this black and red wire wined together ooo...my dad is just average...yes, most times i escape ooo but the day he catches me...i am in a big mess...

 3 years ago 

Waooh. @kinkyamiee. Am touched as you realized that you were a little sturborn then. So with this insight, how will you treat your really stubborn child in the future

Most times a child isnt just for no reason, there must be something that child wants to do or what that child is trying to say...so if that doesnt blend well with the parents, they feel he or she is stubborn..for me, i will listen to my child, i wouldnt say him or her as stubborn..i will allow my child be that person or thing he or she wants to be...

 3 years ago 

Chia...I wonder how it feels to be flogged by my dad. My dad only flogs my brother. As for the women, my mother flogs even add my brother join.

I don't think disciplining a child as per flogging is that bad unless it's out of hate and you end up giving the child permanent injury.

Parents and technology aren't in good relationship 🤣. My mother can legitly use her phone for one year. One day she'll call you to come and save a contact for her on her phone 😂😂😂

You'll now be wondering what she has been using the phone to do all this while.

❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky.

Hahahaha....exactly..same with my mum...she is in owerri and i am in awka, and she is calling me to ask me how she can save a number on her phone...

 3 years ago 

Beckie what will be the discipline that you will give to your kids if you have one. Tell us please..

 3 years ago 
  1. My mum and aunt did the flogging while my dad did the gentle shouting.
  2. I Will discipline them in a different way though I will flog occasionally.
  3. I don't know about other parents but when it comes to my parents and discipline, they excelled at it.

The mistake most parents make to me is over pampering last borns🤣
It now looks like we the others were born from the oven 😅😅

I will try as a parent to be equal in my love for my children. If not no last born 😂😂

❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky.

 3 years ago 

@beckie96830 I do notice that last borns are treated with special favour. It causes jealousy isn't it? Can you share with us how you dad or mum disciplines you when you do something that makes them really angry

 3 years ago 

My last born and I are 5&6 so some of the favors she gets I get too because as she's my mum's favorite, I'm my dad's favorite (I think 😂😂). So I'm not jealous and I can't be jealous.

Can you share with us how you dad or mum disciplines you when you do something that makes them really angry

My mum never runs out of canes 💔. Back then when she used to flog, I'll first warm up by kneeling down for long. She'll now flog me after we're done eating (I was allowed to sit and eat). She'll call me to her room and be shouting and flogging me. After flogging me I will cry and sleep til the next morning. I wouldn't even remember what happened.

❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky.

My mum never runs out of canes💔💔💔

 3 years ago 

I hope you wont have a collection of canes for your kids. Can I ask you this: Is it proper for a parent to run after their kids into another person's home all for discipline? How do you see food deprivation as a form of discipline?

Mehnn...i am a last born oo...they never treat me like, they treat like every other person...even till now..

You dad really was a gentleman. Doing the gentle shouting

I don't think the care special for last born.
What think is that our parents don't have the strength when the last born will be if she to be disciplined...
Like the last born if our house ...she enjoys most ..and some time she get Cain like 3 stroke...I will jez laff..durin my day there was nothin like stroke of Cain massive beating

I grew up knowing my Dad. He acted like a Mum and Dad to me. One thing I learned from him was that he never shouted at me in the public no matter my offense. His method of correction was more like a dialogue. He always gave reasons why my actions were wrong. Then you will see reasons never to repeat wrong actions or behaviors.

 3 years ago 

Very interesting @tambarie. Your dad is really special. Does he do that all the time, especially whenhe is really mad at what you did. Will you use the same method to raise your kids?

I will.I think that's the best way to raise children. Shouting or flogging doesn't send the message. Though you scold them. But they should know the reason why you are upset with them.

 3 years ago 

My dad can't embarrass me in public but his voice is loud sha.

His method of correction was more like a dialogue

Typical of my dad too.

❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky.

My dad never shouted at me for once, i am a typical example of daddy's girl.

 3 years ago (edited)

@tambarie Very good.
His method is good.
Dialogue, that appeals to your conscience and mind. It's the best approach.
My father started using same method with us when we grew up.

 3 years ago 

Good evening @focusnow these questions are cool.

My parents disciplined me by spanking me.

Spanking is an effective method of training the Nigerian child.I will do same to my kids but not often.

 3 years ago 

How did you feel about spanking as a child. I remember sometimes I become so angry at them that I would reject food. Which naturally leads to more beating

 3 years ago 

I felt bad then as a child.
However,when I grew up.I appreciated the Spanking approach.

  1. While we were small, our parents don't allow us close to the food cubburd.
    Once we have breakfast, the next meal will be lunch. No one eats intermittently.

  2. Yes.
    When I have my own kids, I will discipline them as such.

  3. The mistake some parents make I will like to avoid is parents locking up their children in the house, to prevent them from playing with fellow children.

 3 years ago 

@uzoma24. Yes its wrong to lock up a child as a form of discipline. What does your dad do when you do something terrible?

 3 years ago (edited)

@focusnow When we do something wrong, Dad seldomly flog us. He normally scold us with a very loud voice.
But when he does beat us, he may inflict us with an injury.

 3 years ago 

Hey @uzoma ..that was real discipline...That could not work for us because we did not even have a cupboard where food could be preserve...So once in a while i usually help myself in the pot.....😁😁😁

@breeze.com
That's serious😀
We had a cubburd but without a lock.
We were just three. So if you go to the pot it's easy to find you out

 3 years ago 

Hahaha.That was not good for u guys....

No I wont, no matter how stubborn my child his I will never discipline them the way dey did to me...chai uncle is like you don't know the Kain beating I received sha....
If I did wrong for steady straight days ..I will be punished for every offense

 3 years ago 

Waooh. This is really serious. @olabillions. Sometimes, you dont feel the beating or take it serious because its like that is their worst. Isn't it?

 3 years ago 

Good evening dear friends.i am delighted to be present in this open happiness.

  1. How did your dad or mum discipline you when you were small?

When I was a kid, I was desciplined by flogging, showing, sometimes by chasing me out and by denying me of some essentials. It was those I lived with not really my parents because I left home when I was still small.

  1. Will you do the same as a parent if you have your own kids?

Well, each stage of a child requires a certain form of discipline. I can flog, advice, shout but I can't chase them away and I can't deny them of their basic necessities.

  1. What is one mistake parents make which you would like to avoid?

Most parents make the mistake of raining down curses and abuses on their kids, I will not do that. I will also not condem a child because there is always room for improvements.

That chasing away is normal with Nigerian parents.
This happens mostly when we go out to play and return very late. With nostalgia, I can remember the feeling

I love the point you made on the third question, curses and abuses are a no no for me

 3 years ago 

I really appreciate your input. Living with relatives is a different ball game all together. Let me ask you this: How do you feel if s child is starved as a form of discipline?

 3 years ago 

It is not a good idea at all. I will never subscribe to that. That one is not discipline but wickedness. I will not feel bad. We should imitate our heavenly father who despite how bad people are, he still sustain them with all that they need. Thereby giving us opportunity to change in a living way. Such is expected of us. Discipline is meant to correct not to inflict lasting injury

 3 years ago 

My parents can never chase you out of the house but they can chase you out of their room 😂.

As for food, you'll eat to your satisfaction so you can have strength to cry and cry till sleep comes.

Parents rain abuses on their kids which is very wrong. I wouldn't do that and I don't think my husband will either. We will respect our children on that aspect too.

❤️❤️❤️❤️
Becky.

 3 years ago 

Good evening everyone @steemalive community and greetings to you my boss @focusnow,am really happy to participate in this once more.
For the above questions,I must admit that they are hard for me personally to answer but I will try my best.
•The word discipline for me means a whole lot of things,because my mum made a mistake in her youthful age and gave birth to me,everyone sees me as a mistake,discipline for me was maltreatment,my uncle will always use a block or a log of wood and hit me any time he see me with any guy,I will always be starved and most at times I will be forced to sleep outside just because I was seen with a guy,that was inhuman.
•well to start with,I will try my best to avoid the mistake of my mother so that I won't have the same mindset my people had and no matter what the situation is,I will never treat treat even the child of my worst enemy the way I was treated when I was a kid.
•most parents don't teach their children sex education at the right time which will make the children to learn from their friends and as well practice what they learnt,so as I soon to be parent,I will avoid the mistake of not telling my kids the things they suppose to know at any age if their life,thanks

This is baberic, how can someone hit another human being with a block😢

 3 years ago 

Dear @kanuprecious,till date I still take treatment for the fracture I had as a result of the hitting,it actually happen seat

@ladyofpolicy this is so sad to picture on my mind, I'm so sorry for what you had to go through.

 3 years ago 

It's fine dear,don't feel pity for me though,it made me who i M today,thanks for your concern @kanuprecious

@ladyofpolicy dear its good to know you're a strong woman! I dont feel pity, I admire your strength.

 3 years ago 

Thanks love,I appreciate @kanuprecious

 3 years ago 

Waooh that is so serious? Thats abuse and sad. Am sorry for the treatment you received. This is extreem

 3 years ago 

Thank you sir @focusnow

 3 years ago 

Ladyofpolicy I like this name. You aren't a mistake sometimes it happens like that

 3 years ago 

Hi daer @kingcent,thanks for that word,I never see myself as a mistake,I am part of God's agenda....hahahahh

 3 years ago 

The Lord is good hopefully you turn a pastor someday....

 3 years ago 

Hahahahahahahaha
It's not my calling dear,I have a calling to fight for girl child and I must work towards that dear @kingcent

 3 years ago 

When you say fight for girl child educate us more please....

 3 years ago 

@kingset, anticipate a post about this topic from me

 3 years ago 

@ladyofpolicy. You really had a difficult childhood. Am sorry about that. It no doubt had some effects on you. The sex education is something that is really lacking in host homes. When do you think is the best time to start? And who should handle sex education at home?

 3 years ago 

Thank you sir @focusnow for this question, considering the time we are into now, internet has made everything open that even in our homes it pops up as an advert on our home videos,so as for this reason,at the age of 10,every child both male and female should have known everything about themselves to avoid mistakes.
Furthermore,it's not just a duty of a single parent,both the father and mother has a sole responsibility of achieving this in their home,thanks.

 3 years ago 

Hey @ladyofpolicy i don't think it was a mistake. The mistake would have been you not been here for us...But i know all what parents do, they do that do love

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37