👨🏻‍💻 10001 Steemit Content Interface (SCI) Update: Communities & Enhancements

in Steem Dev7 months ago (edited)

Before going into some Steemit Content Interface (SCI) updates, I decided to include fewer zeros in the title and add additional characters as they're needed 🙂 I've also decided that I'm going to include emojis within this update based upon the numerical increment of the HTML code 🙃

🙄 KEY SCI Update #1 - BurnSTEEM Validation

The much loved burnsteem25 hashtag has received an upgrade... whilst the functionality remains unchanged with how posts are filtered (i.e. if a post has the burnsteem25 tag, it will be displayed irrespective of how much STEEM has been burnt), within the Post Details, the flame icon will only appear if the post has a beneficiary of 25% or greater set to @null. This removes the need to check if the tag has been used correctly.

Abuse of this tag happens less frequently than I'd expected but that might be because I've blacklisted so many abusers (417 to be precise) 🙅

🙆 KEY SCI Update #2 - Introduction of Communities

In my Happy New Year post, I mentioned that I'd started work on including communities. I've now reached a point where I can share some progress, even though I have not implemented everything that I want to yet.

By default, the Communities section is collapsed and requires a click to expand (functionality that I also introduced to the Tags area with the default state of open). I set the default options in this way because I want the interface to be Tag led rather than Community led and I'm keen to get your opinion on what you'd prefer 🙇

For a community to be included, it needs to meet a minimum number of active users - A rule that I implemented to filter out a lot of "shit-spam-pointless-waste-of-space-farming-fuck" communities. I don't think that it filtered out all of them and at some point, I'll manually blacklist any others that I come across 🙈

The next step for communities is to introduce additional items - like the much adored "Pinned Posts" and maybe the community information. "Pinned Posts" is next, I've not thought beyond that 🙉

🙊 SCI Update #3 - Other Bits and Bobs

I'm very forgetful when it comes to things that I've come across and fixed.

One bug that I remember is that the API picks up posts quicker than the steemit.com interface so I introduced an offset when loading new posts. Unfortunately, this offset was removing recent posts after tags had been selected so I've ensured that the only scenario the offset is used is when all posts are loaded 🙋

I've also continued to filter out more users - mostly the huge number of shit-spam accounts that coin-doubler likes to use. And I've highlighted h4lab as a voting bot - I'm fairly sure that it is but please correct me if it isn't.

It appears that there are a lot of newly created accounts which automatically post crap upon arrival (I mean actual pointless crap, not the generic farming Achievement 1 which I like to complain about). At some point, I'll try to think of a way of filtering this crap out too - the lack of an image is a fairly good indicator 🙌

Another thing was to limit the size of images loading (thanks to @moecki's suggestion) which improves the load time of pages. It also inspired me to introduce a tiny, little picture at the beginning of the post which will act as this post's thumbnail instead of the giant emoji picture. I'll have to wait until I press "Post" to know if it worked 🙍

UPDATE: It didn't. But it looks funny so I'll leave it 🙏
Another UPDATE: It made my interface look silly so I changed it 🙐

I think that's it for now. Please let me know if you're using the interface and what you think of it. If you're new to my work or haven't got it bookmarked, you can find it here...

https://raptor.in.ua/steemit.php

I really think the emojis added something, don't you? 🙎

Separator-tools.png

the-gorilla's Club Status Tool

I've also created a tool to help users review their club status - showing them where their power's coming from, how much they're powering up, transferring out and who they share a wallet with amongst other things.

Please use it wisely.

👉 Launch Club Status Tool 👈

Footer-Bottom.png

Sort:  

All right, you have blacklisted abusers that were abusing burnsteem tags, but has the site blacklisted or banned them too? What surprises me is that when you flag a user as a moderator, you get an upvote from 01, but the accused get neither a downvote nor are banned or even warned.

They are still posting and earning, or maybe they have found newer ways of abusing with a new user profile picture but using the same profile. I can give you at least five examples with proofs.

 7 months ago (edited)

The blacklist on my interface is for various reasons, often just shitty spam rather than tag abuse. Only a handful have been picked up by steem watchers or are getting downvoted by them.

My views on it all are long, complicated and rather depressing. The most recent situation with zunqi1 is a good example. She was an obviously fake account (fake profile pic, plagiarised content), promoted by another user so received undue upvotes. Despite subsequently being highlighted as a plagiarist and liar (which I got an upvote for), the user has not rescinded the support and most of the votes remain (although some downvotes were distributed). I won’t go into additional detail, I made my feelings clear in the comments of her following post which you can read - I’ll send you a link if you’re not sure what I’m referring to.

As you know, I’ve wasted a lot of my life catching abusers. They don’t stop, they go again. The rewards don’t reflect the effort required, especially when they don’t get downvoted.

I’m on my phone so have kept my response relatively brief. Let me know if I’ve missed anything or you fancy a rant. I’m sure my feelings will at the very least echo yours.

I know what you mean! I have given up the mod's job just because no one was serious about my reports (when I say no one that means no one). I wasn't doing all the hard work for a random upvote coming from big voters so I thought it's better to see the drama from a distance.
Yes, I would love to see more drama so all links are welcome.

 7 months ago 

Yes, I would love to see more drama so all links are welcome.

Well... this is probably a good comment to start from - you'll see the parent post and who was supported. You won't have seen the evidence that the supported user's profile picture is fake but it's pretty obvious when you go to her introduction post.

Rather than acknowledging her mistake (which she has yet to do), she pushed forward, prompting this reply. A reply which she appears to have completely misunderstood the point of 🤷

So sometimes, it's not just a case of finding a plagiarist, it's for users who promoted the plagiarist to acknowledge and rectify their mistake... which can be hard when their ego is greater than their SP.

Is it worth the effort? Hard to say. I'm not going to waste my time catching every abuser... but I'm going to point out when somebody's being promoted for (potentially) hundreds of dollars of rewards because they've not bothered to check them properly.

That's right! They know all the tricks of the trade. I have a similar case and if you see the end result, you will be even more surprised.

Check this post
https://ecency.com/relevant/@kazirahul12/a-zamindar-house-built-in

Then check this post
https://steemit.com/hive-185836/@mainuna/an-ancient-structure-built-in
Then check the comment section of this post

https://steemit.com/hive-179660/@mainuna/an-old-zamidar-house-in-my-area-or-or

And now check the mod of this post and he is now mod of two communities

https://steemit.com/hive-120861/@fajrulakmal99/the-diary-game-or-or-10-januari-2024-or-or-kesibukan-di-kebun-dan-bersama-keluarga#@steemcurator01/s77i9z

@dove11
We are not the same person. My ID and @rahulkazi are two different people. You can verify if you want. If you want to verify then you can tell me. Don't put others behind.

Posted using SteemPro Mobile

If you two are different persons then it is even more serious. You have copy pasted a post from hive blog and posted it here in WOX community and then reposted it in HWC. If you want more proof, I can give you more. So accept it and follow the rules.

 7 months ago 

Whenever you share a link, the username will trigger a notification to them so expect them to come and reply!

There are definitely shared photos across both posts, that cannot be denied. So "travel around together and take their own photos" appears to be dishonest when a photo like the below is used in both posts:

image.png

It would be impossible to claim that they both managed to take this photo.

It's a lot of effort, but highlighting indisputable details like this allows no room for argument. Although they will inevitably argue - they always do.

The content and look at this image

2dk2RRM2dZ8gG2NWUBL8wUVbdrSwVWpp6CGkP99ZhsyZYcwbrwQRewYVBCr7HZmHSUBxhFsD1ZYxourrEgDumNp7jvgtZsoeMViR7UeTqhAVaTCoPUvLdEUYCyekWc4a1SwLCPTbC6k4QGMuUANvvibbwqwZsPAPeNVSnTSDpi.jpg

 7 months ago 

My thoughts are the same as my previous reply... personally, I wouldn't trust any of their accounts.

When I look at the active Communities in your interface and, for example, look closer to Dream Steem by chance, I notice that muted posts are also visible here. I think that's a pity - at least without a corresponding note. Maybe you can eliminate that?

 7 months ago 

Good suggestion, thanks. It's possible to identify muted posts so I just need to filter them out 👍

Ah, I really like the fact that you have now implemented a community section with full community names. That makes your interface clearer - very nice!

filter out a lot of "shit-spam-pointless-waste-of-space-farming-fuck" communities

Best decision ever!

 7 months ago 

I think you'll like how I'm planning to include pinned posts too. I'm planning something along the lines of a full screen overlay which you can't close until you've scrolled through every single item... no matter how many there are. Sounds good doesn't it?

The perfect option! I would love it... 😂

The only question is whether this educational method will be effective (also for your community mates...) or whether they will prefer not to use your interface under these circumstances... 🤪

 7 months ago 

I know you don't like scrolling so I want to solve that problem 😉

I suspect my interface won't be universally popular but I'm sure that those who like it will really like it 🙂 Otherwise, it'll just go back to me being the only user and I can block a load more people 🤣

those who like it will really like it

Deal... 😉

These are some great innovations and a great way to start the year.

By the way, I am going to try the interface and give you feedback.

 7 months ago 

Thanks.

By the way, I am going to try the interface and give you feedback.

I hope you like it and it becomes your go-to interface 🙂

 7 months ago 

I've also just fixed the Promoted Posts which didn't seem to be working (when I tried to promote my own post!)

TEAM 1

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted through steemcurator04. We support quality posts , good comments anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @o1eh



 7 months ago 

Thanks @o1eh 👍

This post has been featured in the latest edition of Steem News...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39