The African kitchen show #7 (How to prepare Editan Soup)

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

Polish_20221014_071553162.png

Dear Friends!

It's my pleasure to welcome you all to 2023! I trust you're having a great time wherever you are, and for those who traveled home, I hope you're enjoying all the local delegacy you've missed. In the #7 edition of the African kitchen show, I took time to prepare one of my local soups ~ Editan Soup! Editan Soup is one of our national cuisines that originated from the Efik people of Cross River State, but we the Ibibio people of Akwa Ibom State also like the soup, yeah it's one of the favorites.


IMG_20221119_205616_711.jpg
Editan Soup with swallow

The fascinating thing about this soup is that it comes in various flavors, most people cook it with water leaves while some add chili pepper yet some add okra to it. The soup is a vegetable soup and Beyond the great taste the Editan leaf is known for its countless health benefits, please permit me to spotlight some of its benefits.

HEALTH BENEFITS OF EDITAN LEAF(LASIANTHERA AFRICANA LEAVES):

Editan is known to have therapeutic potential for managing neurological disorders and this is due to the alkaloids and phenolic compounds in it. It can help with cognitive dysfunction. It contains A and C Vitamins and may help in the treatment of malaria.


IMG_20221215_150151_16.jpg
Editan leaf(LASIANTHERA AFRICANA LEAVES)

It has strong antioxidant properties which include b~carotene, flavonoids, and polyphenols to protect against oxidative stress. It's good for bowel health and healthy weight, and another of its benefits is 🔊 loud, it increases libido and enhances ovulation which leads to conception, it's believed that Editan leaf promotes erection in men because it improves blood flow to the reproductive organs.

This leaf is not just for soup but nature bestowed the plant with medicinal contains for humankind. Now we're aquatinted with its benefits, let's get to cooking 🔪! Note I used water leaves in cooking it.

INGREDIENTS:

Polish_20230105_015424061.jpg

Editan leaf, water leaves, Stock fish, Goat meat, cow skin, smoked Fish, Periwinkles, chili's 🌶️, Crayfish, palm oil, salt, onions and seasoningcubes.

PREPARATION:

  • Slice your Editan leaf, add salt to it and pound. Boil hot and pour into the pounded Editan leaf and leave it for some time, then wash out the bitterness in the leaf to your desired taste and keep aside.
  • Wash your water leaves, slice, squeeze it and keep aside.

  • Wash your meat and cow skin, seasoning it with salt, onions, pepper 🌶️ and seasoning cubes, cook it to soft.
  • Wash your stock fish and smoked fish, season with salt, seasoning cubes, and palm oil, add water and cook for it to be soft. Add Pounded crayfish too.
  • Add your cooked meat and allow it to simmering for some time.

  • Add your water leaves and allow it cooked for some time.

  • Add your Editan leaf, onions and pounded chili's 🌶️

  • Turn your soup to mixed-up everything, and allow it simmering for 2mins.

Yes!!! My delicious, finger licking Editan Soup is ready!


We normally eat Editan Soup with Eba, Fufu, semovita, poundo potato etc. You really need to have a taste of this soup, it's exciting eating it! One thing I like about my culture is our cuisine menu, indeed we blessed abundantly!!

Do you have this leaf in your locality, then try out this soup or you can check it out in any African or Nigerian restaurants.

Note another method of washing out the bitterness in the leaf is by adding bicarbonate soda powder to the pounded Editan leaf, pour the leaves into cooking pot add water and cook it. Please stir the pot continuously when it starts to simmer so that everything will not pour out.

This is the 🔚 I wish you an amazing week ahead!!! Please don't fail to tell me if you like my Editan soup, note I welcome 🤗 suggestions, you can contact me on telegram https://t.me/goodybestt. Bye for now and see you next week!!!

Presented by:
❤️@goodybest.

Previous show: #1 #2 #3 #4 #5, #6

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hello, @goodybest Your Editan soup looks delicious. This cuisine is unfamiliar to me because there isn't a soup by that name in my country, although there are several soups made with other vegetables. We appreciate you giving us some of your soup.

 2 years ago 

Ho I understand dear @senehasa, the soup even sound unfamiliar to some of my national people, so how much you. Your appreciation means a lot for me. Thank you!

 2 years ago 

It is my pleasure dear friend.

Congratulations!
This comment has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @chiabertrand

TEAM 4 CURATORS

 2 years ago 

Thanks for your support.

Greetings friend, a pleasure to greet you. I was delighted with their soup. I did not know Editan's leaves and its great properties and vitamins that it possesses. How interesting to see this very well prepared recipe.

One thing I like about Steemit is being able to learn about the gastronomy of other countries, culture and traditions.

I will be looking for this leaf in Venezuela and also adding it to soups.

Thank you very much for sharing such excellent content with all steemians.

God bless her 🙏

 2 years ago 

Aww 🥰 I'm glad you liked this post, indeed Steemit is one of it's kind, we learned from one another everyday, you will like the leaf if you probably find it. Thank you, and I appreciate you 💕

That's how it is friend, it is unique, because we learn and there are no barriers. Blessed day to you 🙏🌺💜

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator07.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @chiabertrand

TEAM 4 CURATORS

 2 years ago 

I appreciate my friend @chiabertrand

 2 years ago 

That soup looks delicious with quite a few interesting nutrients that I didn't know about and very beneficial for health. Thanks for the contribution of your culture and knowledge.

Greetings, blessings to you, I send you a big hug.

 2 years ago 

OMG @casv, I'm sending you big hug 🤗 too, I'm glad you liked the post and My culture. Thank you for coming around!

 2 years ago 

It is a pleasure to greet you and meet you through Steemit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64867.61
ETH 3451.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55