The African kitchen show #2 (How to Cook Bitter leave Soup)

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago

Screenshot_20221014-071551.png

Hello my wonderful friends how has your week been I hope all your plans for the week is running smoothly mine is amazing and thank God it's Friday! And I'm so excited that weekend is here.

Ok so it's a second edition of African kitchen show. This week I prepared a very sumptuous meal known as the Bitter leave Soup for us, The soup is called Efere Etidot in my Ibibio Language you know this is not just a meal but a sweet medicine 😅 because they meal comes with countless health benefits, please you really need to give it a try.



IMG_20221015_201015_990.jpg
Bitter leave Soup


Etidot soup Is one of my native dish it is popular due to the medicinal value of bitter leaves. This soup requires protein ingredients to make it tasty, By protein I mean assorted meats, smoke fish, prawns, stock fish, Periwinkles, etc, these will help you get that excellent taste.

Most west African countries and not just eaten the bitter leaf soup but they value it due to the medicinal properties gotten from the bitterness, which is good for hypertension and diabetes.

To make the soup you need to watch the leaves in order to get rid of some bitter taste. You know you can actually drink the juice (just a class of it) it comes with numerous benefits. Make sure you don't completely get rid of the bitter taste when washing it.



IMG_20221015_201915_821.jpg
I ate mine with Eba

You can eat the soup with any swallow, be it eba, semovita or unripe plantain, it goes well. There is something special about bitter leaf soup, if you drink water immediately after eating it you will get a slight sweetness in the mouth. That's interesting right?

INGREDIENTS:

Screenshot_20221021-143246.png

Bitter leaf, waterleaf, meat (goat meat, and cow skin. Assorted) dry fish Periwinkles, melon seeds, prawns, seasoning cubes, Pepper, salt and palm oil.



PREPARATION:

  • Wash your bitter leaf to get rid of some Bitter taste. In my case I bought the one that was already wash in the market.
  • Pick your water leaves, wash and slice it, then squeeze it well and put on sieve for water to drain well.
  • Wash and cook your stockfish, add seasonal cubes, salt and palm oil to it.
  • Wash and cook here assorted meat, season it with onions, Peppers, seasoning cubes and salt to taste.
  • Grind your melon seeds and keep i bought the already grind one, in the market.


NOW TO THE COOKING:

  • Wash your unshelled periwinkles and add to the cooking pot.
  • Wash your dry fish and add
  • Pound shrimps and add and allow it to cook for some minutes.
  • Add your already seasoning meats to the pot and allow it cook for some minutes.
  • Add the water leaf to soup stir the soup and allow it cook for some minutes.


  • Add your grounded Melon to the soup, add salt, seasoning cubes and pepper to your taste, stir the soup and allow it simmering for some. Minutes
  • Finally, add the bitter leaf to the soup, add onions too. Stir the soup and allow it simmering for 3 minutes.

Boom boom 💥 your Etidot soup is ready!

IMG_20221015_200324_155.jpg

This food is a balance diet, it contains all the necessary ingredients to keep you strong and healthy. A pot of the soup cost me 6,000 Naira which is approximately 37Steems with the current rate of Steems to Naira.

IMG_20221015_201732_226.jpg

Do you like my native dish? If yes will you give it a try? Let me know this at the comment section.



Last week 2 Users @eliany and @jueco answered my question, so they've won 2trons. Have sent your prizes.

This week Engagement Question:


Screenshot_20221021-080149_1.png
bitter leaf plant

What is Bitter leaf called in your language?

First 10 users to answer correctly will win 2 Tron each for themselves.

This Week's Kitchen Tips:

Don't store your onions and potatoes together, the two produces a gas that causes either of them to quickly spoil.

What do you think about the kitchen show? Do you like it? You can contact me on telegram if you want me to guide you on how to prepare any of our special meal, or do you have any suggestion for me? https://t.me/goodybestt

Check out our previous meal #1

Your Cheerful Chef:
@goodybest

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Thanks for the reward.

In yoruba land where I reside, bitterleaf soup is called obe ewuro.

Obe meaning soup and ewuro meaning bitterleaf 😊

 2 years ago 

You're welcome 🤗 and thanks for telling us what bitter leaf is called in your language.

 2 years ago 

Mouth watering bitter leaf soup. I am coming to your house right away to have mine. Hope it will be served with fufu?

In my language, bitter leaf is called olugbu. It is named after the bitter taste

 2 years ago 

O My! thank you so much for your nice commendations. Yes you can come over I still have the soup. And thank you for telling us what bitter leaf is called in your language. I appreciate 💕

 2 years ago 

Oh my goodness what a mouth watery soup, it looks yummy 😋 thank you for your tutorial this week I will cook this bitter leaf soup this week. I've learned a new method thank you for your tutorial mama African kitchen show

 2 years ago 

Hehehe @eliany I'm glad you've learned the new way of cooking the soup, and don't fell to tell me how it turned out. I appreciate 💕

 2 years ago (edited)

Oh thank you, bitter leaf is called Etidot in my language, thank you for last week reward

 2 years ago 

You're welcome 🤗

you are very great and creative in concocting delicious dishes,, it's always nice if you have special skills in cooking, success always for you @goodybest....

 2 years ago 

Aww 🥰 I really appreciate your beautiful commendations and good wishes @mahyulmaulana, thank you! May I know do you have these leaves in your country?

I mean this👇

Screenshot_20221021-080723.png
Bitter leaf

Screenshot_20221021-080529.png
Water leaves

If yes, how do you call it in your language?

Bitter leaf soup is a popular delicacy in Nigeria. You have perfectly described how it can be made. Well done.

 2 years ago 

Thanks dear, I appreciate your nice commendations

You're welcome. Bitter leaf is called "onubu" in my local language, Igbo.

 2 years ago 

Thanks for telling us!

 2 years ago (edited)

It's called onubu in Anambra state, you are really an awesome author.

Thanks for sharing.

 2 years ago 

I really appreciate your nice commendations, and thanks for telling us how bitter leaf is called in your language.

Your post has been successfully curated by our Team 5 via @chant at 35%.

ezgif.com-gif-maker.gif

IN IGBO IS CALLED OLUGBO

 2 years ago 

Thanks for telling us!

 2 years ago 

This soup is really rich and it's looking yummy!🤤
It is called usùm olubri in my language ( Obolo/ Andoni language).

Bitter leaf soup is one of my best soup. I love that sweet feelings I get when drinking water while eating or immediately after eating bitter leaf soup.
Who else usually experience that? I guess I'm not the only one on this table. 😆
I really enjoy your African kitchen show. 🤗

Dear chef , your post has been added to the 12th Series of Unique and Amazing Recipes Collection.

Keep sharing amazing recipes with us❤️
Thank you for this week's show!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66494.63
ETH 3508.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66