Introductory Post To "The African Kitchen Show"

in Steem4Nigeria2 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20221014-071551.png

Hi Friends!

It's my Delight to Introduce to you " The African Kitchen Show"! Henceforth, I will be publishing a weekly publication known as the African kitchen, I want to teach us how to cook some African foods.

We have numerous elegant meals in Nigeria, and they're not just delicious but packed with countless health benefits. We must eat healthy because we're what we eat and health is wealth.

My intentions in making this weekly publication are to teach both my foreign and indigenous friends how to prepare some African foods.

To Show you our lifestyle about meals

To teach you the health benefits of some foods, thus guiding you to eat healthily.

I will also tell you how we normally serve each meal and the Occasions we eat it.

The #food content is diminishing in the platform, maybe because the famous food community is no more, so I want to use this medium to teach others about African lifestyles about what we eat.

I will be encouraging engagement in the weekly publication by asking a simple question at the end of each weekly publication. The first 10 users who will give the correct answer to the question(s) will be rewarded 2 Tron tokens each.

On This Grand Opening Of The Show I Want To Show You How To Prepare Plantain Porridge:


Screenshot_20221014-082750_1.png


The plantain Pottage or you can call it porridge(oto ukom) is one of our favorite local meals, it is one of the palatable meals which happens to be widely known in Africa the western part in particular. it is one of the dishes cooked with spicy leaves like the scent leaves (ntong) curry leaves (iko)or you can cook it with the bitter leaf (utazi)

This meal is tasty and finger-licking! and the good thing about this food is that it's easy to prepare. We have different ways of preparing it but in this particular version, I infuse goat meat, smoked fish, and crayfish with a touch of scent leaves. You only need a pot of this food and it will be ready in no time!

Ok, let's get cooking!!!

Ingredients:

Screenshot_20221014-134050.png

Plantain, palm oil, crayfish, goat meat, smoke fish, scent leaves seasoning cubes, onions, Pepper, salt, and periwinkles.

Preparation Steps:

  • Wash and season your goat meat with salt, pepper, onions, and seasoning cubes, cook it to be soft.
  • Cut and wash your periwinkles and keep them. I bought the already-cut one
  • Pound your crayfish and pepper and keep aside

  • Wash your smoke fish and keep it aside

  • Wash and slice your scent leaves & onions and keep them aside

  • Wash and peel the plantain

  • Cut them into your desired sizes

  • Add water to it and start cooking (put your pot on fire 🔥)
  • Add all your condiments, including goat meat, crayfish, and smoked fish to it when it's getting soft, and add palm oil too And continue cooking. (Put all the condiments to your taste)
  • Add the sliced scent leaves and onions to it and allow the food to simmer for some minutes, boom 💥 your plantain porridge is ready!


IMG_20210718_200241_839.jpg
my plantain porridge

Health Benefits Of Plantains:

  • Plantains are rich in carbohydrate and is a good service of vital vitamins and minerals along with fiber.

  • plantain contains antioxidants which is an important ingredient that fights free radicals in our body

  • A great level of vitamin C content in plantains to support our immunity and help it functions well.

  • Vitamin B6 contains in plantain it improves our mood and reduces cardiovascular risk.

  • Consuming plantain is beneficial as it helps to avoid bowel irritation as well as bloating and constipation. Lastly, it's a good source of potassium. etc

The food contains protein, fat & oil, and water, because of other ingredients using to cook it, so it's a balance diet!

You can eat plantain porridge as breakfast if you want to feel fuller throughout the day, but we specifically used to eat it as lunch.

A plate of plantain porridge cost 1,500 naira which is approximately 10steems price with the current rate of naira to Steems.

You can cook a pot of plantain porridge with 6000 naira which is 40Steems.

Try this out and you will love it, You know "variety is the spice of life".

Engagement questions:

How Do you call plantain porridge in your language? If it's your first time hearing about this meal how do you call plantain in your language? (Please tell us your language).

Which of the African meals will you love me feature or show you how to prepare? Feel free to comment or contact me on telegram: https://t.me/goodybestt

CC:
@ubongudofot

ABOUT ME

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

Wow this is really interesting I will be following you your kitchen everyday oo your food looks yummy 😋, with this I will get to know some cooking secrets and try it at home trust me this is going to make sense to the blog. Meanwhile I will like to have a taste of this yummy plantain porridge mama African kitchen show. Plantain is called "Ukom" in my language

 2 years ago 

Aww 🥰 thank you dear, I'm glad you find this initiative interesting! Sure you will get to know more African dishes. You know what? I like that name **mama African kitchen haha 😆

Thanks for telling us how plantain is called in your language. And which Language is this?

 2 years ago 

Wonderful initiative! It will be cool to showcase our meals and delicacies. You have prepared the Oto Ukom so nicely. It is so inviting. I will like to have some. This food is packed with healthy ingredients. Thanks for sharing. I will be following your blog to learn more

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your nice commendation, I'm glad you liked the initiative. I appreciate you 💕

@tipu curate 2

;) Holisss...

--
This is a manual curation from the @tipU Curation Project.

Your article has been supported with a 40% upvote by @afrizalbinalka from Team 2 of the community curator program. We encourage you to keep producing quality content on Steem to enjoy more support from us and a likely spot in our weekly top 7.

20220902_095909_0000.png

 2 years ago 

I appreciate your support @afrizalbinalka!

 2 years ago (edited)

Wow this is a very detailed post, thank you for sharing with us.

I live in Yoruba land and here, we call yam/plantain porridge "Asaro"

I don't think I will spend up to 40 steems to prepare this, well it depends on the family size.

I can't imagine preparing another one, you making me salivate right now

 2 years ago 

Yeah it depends on the family size, thanks for telling us how plantain porridge is called in Yoruba.

Plantain porridge is a really amazing Nigerian dish with a lot of nutrients. I love it a lot. Thanks for this great post.

 2 years ago 

I'm glad you liked the post thanks for your contribution.

Very delicious meal! I can see you're a good cook. Keep it up!

 2 years ago 

Woow this is amazing i can't wait to learn more delicious meal and recipes from your African kitchen ma'am.

Yummy plantain porridge 😋😋😋

 2 years ago 

It's gonna be awesome dear! Let's hope for the best

 2 years ago 

Alright 🤗🤗

 2 years ago 

Thanks for the mention goodybest. I can only say, its a nice initiative and i wish you success....I am keen to see more of it in the blog....

 2 years ago 

Sure you will see more of it bro! Thank you for the encouragement, I appreciate!!

This post has been featured in the latest edition of Steem News...

 2 years ago 

It means a lot for me 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68734.33
ETH 3745.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72