The Purpose of My Blog on Steemit

in #hf206 years ago

Imgur
Photo Credit: Me!

Hi, I'm Kips and this is my blog. There are many like it but this one is mine. My blog is my best friend. It is my life. I must master it as I must master my life. Without me, my blog is useless. Without my blog, I am useless...

(Taken and modified without permission from the movie, "Full Metal Jacket".)

So, there are several people who are willing to delegate some Steem Power to us minnows (I actually think I'm just plankton, at this point. Maybe krill...) and have requested that those interested in these delegations write an article or a blog post about our blog, what we're doing with it, why we're doing what we're doing, what we would do with the delegation we'd be given.

Well, okay, first, who am I?

I am the co-author of two books, "A Bouquet for Adam" with A. J. Marcus and "New Hoofprints in the Sand" with A. M. Burns.

I am an author, an editor, a proofreader, an amateur photographer, an Independent (in the political realm), a reader both of books and comics, a video gamer, a book/movie/video game reviewer, a mother of a child who has autism.

Sheesh, that's a lot of material to write about.

But my goal with Steemit is to help provide great content to the platform. Not just good content, but great content. After all, that's why we're all here, right? Because we want to read and write great content while supporting the authors of said content. Well, that's why I'm here.

With this delegation comes the arrival of probably the most important thing you can have on Steemit: Resource Credits. Without RCs, you can't blog. Without RCs, you can't upvote any material. Without RCs, you can't comment on anyone else's work to network with them and then reach out to other people. In other words, without RCs, you can't be social on this social network.

Without RCs, you will fail using Steemit. You simply can't do it.

The thing is I like Steemit and the idea of it. I like to be able to reward great content when I come across it. I want to help get the word out about other minnows (plankton here) so they can find their audience.

Steemit is a win only when we all have the resources to be able to create great content and then reward other great content that we find.

My personal goal with the network is not only to find and create good content but to help myself with my own work. I want a place to write once, twice, maybe even several times a day, where I can find myself not only accountable to myself, but find myself accountable to an audience.

Could I do this elsewhere? You bet I could. But I chose Steemit because of the fact that I can reward other creators of interesting material. So, not only would I be helping myself, but I'd be helping the Steemit community as well.

HF20 has left me (and others) in dire straits when it comes to doing any of this. And no one's going to change it.

I have 2 posts a day. I've already commented on a post, and I upvoted a post, and I will have to wait until I have more resource credits to be able to post this.

Thank you for your time and consideration as well as the opportunity that you're providing, if not me, then others to be able to do the same.

Sort:  

Good blog post. Thanks for entering my contest. Keep posting awesome stuff and the blockchain will reward you. :-)

Thank you -- that's my intent :)

Hola @kipswolfe, es muy cierto lo que dices aqui.

Steemit es una victoria solo cuando todos tenemos los recursos para poder crear un gran contenido y luego recompensar el otro gran contenido que encontremos.

Tomare tu post para participar en el concurso, "Pay It Forward".Estas invitado, a participar este es el enlace, está en su semana Nº 29, Es un concurso maravilloso.

Mucho gracias -- which is all I know in Spanish :)

jajaja! No hablo ingles me ayudo con el traductor Google, un abrazo

HF20 seems to have been poorly thought out and implemented, even though they had (supposedly) good intentions. I wish I had an easy way of sharing my extra RC as I have no way of using all of mine now.

I found your post thanks to @celinavisaez's Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry. Keep up the great work!

Loading...

First of all, I really like how you put your purpose of being here on Steemit. That is the most honest purpose I have read so far. I saw many and very new users here saying they are here because the "amazing people" and all those sugar-coated praising the big fishes when they don't even know anyone on the platform. For a while there I was swayed by that kind of thinking, sadly.

Second, I love how you expressed the challenges brought about by HF20. I see it factual and not emotional, not spreading hate unlike other posts I saw. Again, I have to admit I was swayed by the frustration because I myself got totally muted from Steemit after HF20. Thank you for keeping the aura conducive!

I guess my two observations above are what I can say that tell you are a very good writer. I am a struggling one... 😊

I came across your post through @celinavisaez who featured it for the Pay It Forward Curation Contest. You too can join the contest when your RC permits.

And @freedomshift mentioned about the #ccc which I am also a member of. You can check the link he shared and you are very much welcome to join. Or you can check the links on this which is actually on my signature for #ccc posts 😊


Join #ccc for Guaranteed Daily Income and Payout for Newbies (2.0) in #ccc and Follow the Honor Code - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

This was a hard change for new users, but I totally get it. And while there are some problems that new users face, I'm sure that will be solved as soon as the rest of us can delegate some RCs to the new users who deserve it.

Still, there is a big positive aspect of HF20, which is, the spammers and scammers are nearly gone. Before HF20, this post of yours would have at least 3 comments with links that, if you followed, could lead you to lose your account... and the few STEEM you had.

After HF20, the number of scammy messages you've received is... 0.

PS: I've found your post because @celinavisaez featured it in an entry for the Pay It Forward Contest

This was a hard change for new users, but I totally get it. And while there are some problems that new users face, I'm sure that will be solved as soon as the rest of us can delegate some RCs to the new users who deserve it.

This was a hard change for anyone who is interested in becoming involved with Steemit in general. Without RCs, you can't do anything and believe it or not, that matters. Especially when there are so many social networks out there who allow you to do anything without having to pay for it.

I also an not a new user but a user who's been around a while and decided to try and start using the platform again. Yesterday, it took me all day to post a comment and a post.

Plus there's something condescending about the word "deserve." I'm sure you didn't mean it that way, but that term bothers me. New users not only have problems posting and commenting (basically the same thing), but because of that, they have problems getting their content in front of the people who might be willing to help them. How many deserving users are going elsewhere because they can't post/comment more than 10 a week?

Still, there is a big positive aspect of HF20, which is, the spammers and scammers are nearly gone.

I've received two spammy messages actually -- both in memos in transactions of 0.001, which I don't really care about.

I just... I hate that I had to beg for delegations, just so I could be social on the site.

Thanks for stopping by :) I love hearing everyone else's thoughts on topics I don't know a lot about. Helps me form my own opinion. :)

Take care!

Loading...

Hello @kipswolfe 😉 you are doing good with your strategy so far? Posting twice a day while not so many readers upvoted? What about a "great content post" a day and then comments 10-13 a day on others or replies to human commenters on your post? What about not upvoted but just comments as an appreciation for the authors? What about joining any contest that you can win it 😉 HF20 is really troubling most planktons (Im a plankton 3 with 100 sp and 421 delegation) I got the delegation after showing my dedication to engage with other on steemit.

And I think you should try many strategy to maximize your grow in this situation. Great contents usually include more than 1 photo and at least 500 words.. you can try to be a curator for dailysneak..uhmm. are you on discord?

I found your post through @celivisaez entry post for the payitforward contest this week. I think that celinavisaez face the same problems with you but she managed to keep growing though.

Hey there @kipswolfe ;) You should check out an initiative that hitmeasap does here ... helping push people higher in terms of their SP.

I found your post because @celinavisaez featured you in her Pay it Forward Curation Contest entry. Feel free to join us with an entry of your own next week :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60812.47
ETH 2629.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62