[IntroduceYourself] All of This and Nothing

Sometimes I am Kips. In fact, a lot of time, I am Kips, even when the person I am talking to knows my real name. It becomes ingrained to call people by their online persona's name over a period of time.

Sometimes I am a gamer. Ok, truth be told, a lot of times I am a gamer. But I'm not just a gamer..., am I? I am a gamergirl. Yes, we do exist -- we're not just fantasy, I promise. I'll list my favorite games and why in a future post if there's demand.

I used to be a scientist. Well, a student scientist anyway. I even took an REU (Research Experience for Undergraduates) in Astrophysics at the American Museum of Natural History in New York City, NY. (Yes, I met Neill deGrasse Tyson and sat at his feet as we argued about the existence of a god while drining wine and eating cheese.) I completed my Bachelor in Science degrees in both math and physics -- and, at the time, I thought they were the most difficult subjects that I had ever come across. Boy, would my life change later.

Sometimes I am a mom to an 11 year-old child with autism. Thank God for school and the fact that she can go to a good school where I know she'll be taken care of all day. It is rough being a mom of a... but you know what? I can just stop there. It is rough just being a mom. Period. But there are days that this is one of the more challenging hats that I wear. Due to the challenges of being a mom with a daughter who has autism, I learned that being a scientist would have to take a back seat to my daughter. But that's okay. It opened up the world for other activities I had always wanted to do.

Sometmes I am a writer. There's some serious glorious fun in being a writer... well, at least, in planning what to write anyway. Writing can become work and when you're slogging through the middle of your book, you can become frustrated and angry and disillusioned -- sometimes you want to throw the book away or start over -- or, even better, a new shiny idea will fly through the window and into your house, teasing you, telling you that you coulod start working on it, rather than the sludgefest you're currently working on. Yes, yes, it can feel like that sometimes. And then there are the times that it's wonderful and beautiful and everything goes exactly as you planned... and those times last about fifteen minutes. If that, sometimes.

The-Culture-of-Writing-Things-Down-Photo.jpg

Sometimes I am a published author. As much as this is one of my favorite hats, it's not one that seems to last very long when I wear it. Once the book is out of your hands and on sale, sometimes it seems like your job is done. It's not, though. You have to pick up the slack in promotions. Another author-friend of mine spends his time -- when he's not writing his ass off -- at writing conventions, comic-cons, LGBT Pride parades, being available with his 30 lbs of books to sell.

Sometimes I am an editor and I get to make a mess of other people's manuscripts with either a red ink pen or Microsoft Word's Track Changes... I can be ruthless, changing things to be exactly the way I want them to be... then I remember that it's not my work and I settle back and read, letting the author's voice come through. It's amazing how difficult this frame of mind can be.

Sometimes I am a horseman and an intern at Sisters Quarter Horses, LLC. And, believe it or not, this is the most challenging hat I have. There is nothing, and I mean nothing, I like more than learning about horses. I've been on this track for six years now... sometimes it feels like longer. I've been kicked in the face by a hind hoof -- yep, that left a mark. This was the first time I actually learned that endorphins are a fantastic thing. I've fallen off and broken my right wrist along with most (if not all) of the ribs on my left side, had a partially collapsed lung, and a small amount of worrisome internal bleeding near my aorta and one of my kidneys. That was the time the doctor said that he usually saw patients in my shape come in an ambulance. I still go learn, learning how to work on the ground which I can do... well, essentially. Now I'm learning how to trust and how to show the horse I am worthy of being trusted. Eventually I'll learn to ride.

skipper oak.jpg

Sometimes I feel as though I am the perpetual mourner. The lady who I was taking horsemanship lessons for four(?) years, at least, passed away from complications due to chronic Lyme disease this summer. I idolized her in many ways and she helped me develop a philosophy about horses that I may explain later. As many of you may already know, last Monday (2/5/18), we had to put my beloved cat, Jacq, to sleep due to complications of mammary gland cancer that had metatisized to her lungs. I mourn my wasted youth, just as I mourn my mental paralysis sometimes, but I think that's typical as you reach my age.

charlie-brown-for-real.jpg

Sometimes I am a philosopher sitting back in my lawn chair in my crown and kingly robes. I can point out to you the wrongness of your argument whie lashing out at you for the rightness of my own. Especially when I'm wound up and end up taking troll bait.

However I am the eternal student, wantng to understand, wanting to learn more about different cultures and societies. I want to know why people believe what they believe in. I want to hear their reasoning for what they believe -- even... no, especially if it's not what I believe. I want to make decisions of belief for myself -- and, if what I hear makes more logical sense than my reasoning for believing what I believe? Than I change my beliefs. But only I can decide that. And that's pretty good for me.

Always I am the wife to my husband whom I love dearly but who frustrates me more than any one person ever will, but I think that's the sign of a good relationship. He's the one who makes my life -- the fact that I can wear so many hats -- possible. He's supportive... usually... but most of all, he's realistic and helps anchor me to the ground when I need it. All the grandiose ideas in the world... and I have to always remember it takes work to do them. Sometimes I don't want to do the work -- like climbing Mount Everest. I'd love to have climbed Mount Everest, but actually go through everything it would take, getting into that kind of shape and then some kind of corporate sponsorship? Nah, too much work -- I'll pass.

Most of the time, I am anxiety-riddled, depression-wracked, so wrougt with impostor syndrome that it's near paralyzing. It happens to the best of us and I'm dealing with it in several ways. We'll see how much Steemit becomes a part of that way in my life. It has sidetracked me from playing videogames -- not a bad thing -- and given me something else to think about rather than mourning the loss of my friend and the loss of my cat.

Oh! I almost forgot! I am a die-hard Devotee of Depeche Mode. I think David Gahan is my spirit animal. I love Depeche Mode. Occasionally, I may play around with deconstructing their lyrics on here. I crack up when I do, because if you pay attention to them, sometimes they don't say what you think they say.

Anyway, this is who I am.

All of This and Nothing.

Jacq_me.jpg

P.S. After I get my hair done tomorrow, I'll post a picture with "Steemit" on it!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit and that is the deepest intro post I have seen so far!

I am also a new user and just getting the hang of things too. I also found https://steemfollower.com/?r=12904 which is an easy way to help you get upvotes. Also, don’t forget to set up all resources for minnows like us to get free upvotes!

Follow me @byzantinehash
For a chance to get into two new cryptocurrency’s for free early on.

If you are interested in crypto currency that you can mine yourself feel free to check out my blog and give me a follow if anything interests you. My projects will be mineable without processing power later on allowing you to mine cryptocurrency by playing games, sharing information, curating information, and more.

Hi @byzantinehash, thanks for stopping by. It's kinda hard to choose what aspect of me I want to show people -- I wear lots of hats :)

Hey there, I'm Oatmeal Joey, and life can be tough. And I probably struggled with autism growing up and maybe depression. My mom taught me at home and that helped a lot. I hear what you are saying.

Life can indeed be tough. I'm glad to hear that your mother could help you!

It would seem that sometimes you wear a few hats, and sometimes so many that you might block out the sun, Kips, so happy to meet you!

To have dined and debated with Tyson, what a treat that must have been! and while I have never ridden a horse, I am in awe of the skill at those who do.

Love your catte and your love of the kings of 80's darkwave, and so happy to be able to welcome you here to Steem.

To be sure, impostor syndrome is a fickle rival, and I feel I've bumped into that one many more times than I would ever want; hope you continue to best that one and continue being the awesome person you are now, and the awesome person you will be.

(not to condense your entire post into moments as if the spaces between were not monuments in and of themselves)

Should you find yourself with any questions or anything, please feel free to ask - I'm still fairly new myself, but I was much more overwhelmed a few weeks ago when I first joined this corner of the interweb. Happy to help in any way I can.

All the best to you in all your endeavors here, @kipswolfe!

Dining with Tyson... heh, would you believe at the time I really had no idea who he was? ;)

Riding a horse takes a lot of work. I'll be there one day -- but working with horses is one of my favorite things in the world. I'm hoping to have my own one day.

Jacq was a wonderful kitty. I posted earlier about her if you're interested as well.

I think sometimes life is a series of moments, one right after the other. And opportunities always arise -- but it's up to you to notice them and grab them by the tail. :)

Nice meeting you and good luck to yourself on Steemit as well!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!
Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!
You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.
Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it! Of course you can share my post -- the picture I would use is the very bottom one, personally. That's me and my kitty, Jacq, curled up taking a nap together.

Sorry for not responding sooner! I guess I had forgotten to hit post! (blush)

well written and heartfelt intro, Kips! 😃

it's good to know you and see that you're such a multi-facets (as in gems cuts that is) like person - not some narrowly focused or framed / conditioned 👍

this perhaps is the main trait:

However I am the eternal student, wantng to understand, wanting to learn more about different cultures and societies. I want to know why people believe what they believe in. I want to hear their reasoning for what they believe -- even... no, especially if it's not what I believe

👏
to me, as long as one is wanting, able and willing to learn, not thinking that already knows everything - that person is moving forward! :)
(in personal improvement / development / growth)

keep sharing your Content with community. it would certainly help to make some difference to tip the balance with all that flow of useless junk posted in disguise of a genuine "Content", which is auto-upvoted by bots...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63