Hate exercising? Got 2 minutes?

in #health6 years ago

20180114untitled-weightsbwsm.jpg
Image by me

Did that New Year's resolution to start exercising already fail? Do you wish you had the strength and energy to play with your kids more? Go on an adventure vacation? Or just accomplish everyday tasks?

All those things require a strong and resilient body, which means you're going to have to work at it. Deep down we all know that exercise is good for you. But deep down most of us also dislike doing it. So what if I can show you an exercise that can be done anywhere and with a really small time commitment that will also give you a whole ton of benefit?

Exactly what benefits are we talking about here?

High-Intensity Interval Training (HIIT) offers these benefits (and more) in just 3 short sessions per week:

  • Increased metabolic rate
  • Increased calorie burn during and AFTER workouts
  • Muscle retention while losing fat
  • Improved insulin sensitivity and blood sugar regulation
  • Boosts Human Growth Hormone (HGH)- see here for a list of all the great things this does.
  • Decreases oxidative stress (3)
  • Decreases abdominal and visceral fat (1)
  • Increased cardiovascular fitness

woman-3202388_640.jpg Image from Pixabay

Ok, great, that all looks good but I still hate to exercise and I don't belong to a gym...

Here is the question.
Can you spare 2 minutes 3 times a week?
Answer:
a) Yes! Perfect. Skip to "How Do I Start?"
b) No! Seriously? Skip to your unhealthy lunch at McDonald's.

Magic 8 HIIT Program

How Do I Start?

  1. Pick an activity - New to exercise? Start with one of the first two options:

    • Walking/Jogging in place (or outside, on a treadmill, etc.)
    • Jumping jacks
    • Burpees [ YouTube video if you don't know how to do a burpee]
    • Squat jumps [YouTube video of squat jumps]
    • You can do almost any exercise using the HIIT method - google HIIT exercises and find one that appeals to you or you can find numerous HIIT workouts online.
  2. For 1 minute and 30 seconds (90 seconds - recovery phase) do your selected activity at a level 5 for you.

Level 1 is standing still staring at the ceiling, level 10 is all out heart-pumping - if you continue at this pace you're going to die. This is one of the beauties of this particular form of exercise, it adjusts to your fitness level and grows with you as your fitness improves.

Maybe a slow march is your level 5 and barely a jog is your level 8-9. That's okay, and as you continue it will improve. Or a slow jog is your level 5 and an all-out sprint is your level 8-9 - perfect. As your fitness improves so will the intensity of each level.

During your 'recovery' phase (which is the 90 seconds) you want to be moving, warming things up, as you progress to adding more intervals this will be the time for you to catch your breath.

  1. After the 90 seconds continue the activity for 30 seconds (high-intensity phase) at a level of 8-9 FOR YOU.

These 3 thoughts that should be going through your head during the high-intensity - Level 8-9 phase are:

  • I'm running from a tiger!
  • My life is in danger - MOVE!
  • I can do ANYTHING for 30 seconds! (my personal favorite)

Go as fast and as hard as you can AT YOUR PRESENT FITNESS LEVEL.

man-1245658_640.jpg Image from Pixabay

How do you progress?

You've done your first week - 3 sessions of HIIT for 2 minutes a piece. A whopping total of 6 minutes of exercise. You feel proud for at least doing some exercise (bravo!) but your subconscious is saying - "Really? I think you can do more." Your next challenge is to add 1 more round to your routine.

Which will look like this:

  1. 90 seconds - recovery phase - level 5 effort
  2. 30 seconds - high intensity - level 8-9 effort
  3. 90 seconds - recovery phase (and now you actually will be recovering) - level 5 effort
  4. 30 seconds - high intensity - level 8-9 effort

So now you've gone from 1 round of HIIT to 2. Which takes your total exercise time for the week to 12 minutes. Great job! And you said you'd never exercise!

On to the next challenge - keep adding rounds.

As you progress week by week add 1 more round until you end up with 6-8 rounds total. Listen to your body and find the right number of rounds for you.

Once you get to about 4 rounds, I suggest tacking on an extra 90 second warm-up period to the beginning. For Example:

  1. 3 minutes warm-up
  2. 30 seconds high intensity followed by 90 seconds recovery - do this 6-8 times and you're done!

It takes about 20 minutes, 3 times a week for a total of 1 hour of exercise per week. All done in the comfort of your own home, or the park, or the gym - wherever you choose. With a whole host of benefits including fat loss, more energy, and a better fitness level.

If you've been meaning to start exercising but just couldn't find the time - this is for you.

If you hate to exercise (but know you really should) - this is for you.

Tools:

  1. Use your stopwatch on your phone to time the intervals.
    Or
  2. Download "Seconds" HIIT timer app to your phone Android iOS

In Peace, Love and Health,
T

Disclaimer: I am not a doctor and I don't play one on TV or the internet. Please consult with your doctor before starting any exercise regimen. Or don't. Your health is in your hands and you should be smart about it.

References:

  1. https://www.hindawi.com/journals/jobe/2012/480467/
    2.Https://fitness.mercola.com/sites/fitness/archive/2013/06/21/interval-training.aspx
  2. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26351856
  3. https://chriskresser.com/how-to-lose-weight-and-prevent-diabetes-in-6-minutes-a-week/
Sort:  

I'm 58 with diabetes and gout, do weight lifting and HIIT 6 days a week. I also been on keto for many months now, and a little bit of IF. I've tried many different programs. This is the one that's worked the best for me so far.

@stahlberg - Did your doctor put you on this lifestyle program or did you find it yourself?

I can only imagine with going keto your gout has all but disappeared, as we know this is caused from sugar in the diet, and your HbA1C numbers are dropping.

I too live a ketogenic lifestyle, utilize IF (normally a 6-8 hour eating window - and then a 24-36 hour fast weekly), do HIIT and weights.

What kind of lifting program do you do?

Thanks for stopping by and commenting - I applaud your commitment to your health! Because without that what do we have?

All my best! Tamala

Yeah keto rocks! haha no not my doctors, they don't know anything about this. Most still tell diabetics to eat low fat high carbs diet, and people with gout to eat less foods high in purine (red meat, mushrooms, anchovis, yeast, etc). Which leads to people having to buy more medication... wonder if there's a connection there. :)

Since I'm aging my recovery time is going sky-high, I have to take it a bit easier these days, each muscle group about once a week. And due to my diabetes I can only do so much in one session, before my glucose goes too low. I try to focus on squats, deadlifts, and maybe a barbell for shoulders and traps. The rest is body-weight exercises, cables, dumbells.

Have you found the "Headbanger's Kitchen" on Youtube? I just had some of his latest coconut bread recipe, it's the closest to bread I've had so far! :D

@stahlberg Funny about the doctors right? What you say is so true. Although there are a few, mainly the functional medicine docs, who actually do have a clue about how much diet really does effect outcome.

I’ve been doing the 5X5 workout for weights - short, intense and effective. You only do 5 sets of 5 reps of 3 exercises (squat, bench, overhead press, row, deadlift ) and only 1 set of the deadlift on that day. Might be right up your ally.

I will definitely check out the headbangers kitchen - I am unfamiliar - but always happy to find some new keto recipes especially bread! Thanks for the tip!

Very good post @tamala. Thanks for letting me know about it in your commment on my post! I think you have a very comprehensive plan here that would be really useful to anyone, not just beginners. I love the idea of thinking “I can do anything for 30 seconds.” I say that to my track athletes the time about racing the 400 meters, which is a brutal distance since it requires running as fast as you can in a total oxygen deprived state. Resteeming, and I will check back and give you a vote when power is back up.

Great post @tamala :) I really liked the layout. Your introduction was grabbing and engaging and I particularly liked this:

You've done your first week - 3 sessions of HIIT for 2 minutes a piece. A whopping total of 6 minutes of exercise. You feel proud for at least doing some exercise (bravo!) but your subconscious is saying - "Really? I think you can do more." Your next challenge is to add 1 more round to your routine.

This paragraph is top notch. It leads the reader to an epiphany, or at least I think so. Highlighting to them that not only did it take only 6 minutes, but after that 6 minutes you'll be wanting to do more. It does something to the mind, it leads them onto an epiphany of; "Yeah, I can do that.".

I think you really need to speak with @CoachJJ! You too will get on brilliantly, I'm going to be curating this into post-spot because of the great writing, so I'll tag her into the message :)

@calumam Wow! Thanks so much for your very kind and thoughtful comment!

I was really trying to be persuasive with this post and hopefully, I got there for a few of our fellow non-exercising Steemians.

I will look forward to working with you more and connecting with @CoachJJ on BuddyUp!

Thanks again!

This IS an excellent post. It looks great, easy to read, draws me in, makes the reader feel it CAN be done! I’d love to connect with you more!

@coachjj Thanks so much! I will look forward to connecting with you on BuddyUp!

All my best!

This is great!
From a curation perspective... if you actually link the images from pixelbay so people can click on them straight away, then it's easier for @curie, @ocd and @quarto to put you forward for a bigger upvote.
Also, headings! Just breaks up the text a little bit... otherwise... amazing!

I really need to do more HIIT myself, it's definitely a gap in my training! Awesome post, well done @tamala!

@aussieninja Thank you so much for the great constructive criticism.

I will definitely link those pictures in the future - what a great point. And I knew there was something a little off with the layout and YES headers would have helped.

Thanks for your feedback, it is greatly appreciated! And now go get your HIIT on :)

I absolutely love doing HIIT or Tabata, whichever one wants to call it. I've found that pairing HIIT with intermittent fasting and using HIIT as a way to end my workouts, on days I lift, has been one of the most beneficial things I have done for my body.

I'm happy you took the time to share HIIT with more people. :)

@branbello - Thanks so much for stopping by! I agree with you IF, HIIT and weights are an incredible way to take care of your body.

Do you follow any particular eating protocol (I hate the word diet) :)?

Ehh. Not really. I just make sure i watch my macros and micros with the help of myfitnesspal.

MyFitnessPal is an awesome app! Thanks again for stopping by :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Tamala from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Good luck to you
Sports is a must-have

Really nice post @tamala. Keep up the good work 👍🏾

Thanks for sharing valuable post.
I continue follow your post.
I appreciate your contest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60133.79
ETH 2686.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49