You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hate exercising? Got 2 minutes?

in #health6 years ago

I'm 58 with diabetes and gout, do weight lifting and HIIT 6 days a week. I also been on keto for many months now, and a little bit of IF. I've tried many different programs. This is the one that's worked the best for me so far.

Sort:  

@stahlberg - Did your doctor put you on this lifestyle program or did you find it yourself?

I can only imagine with going keto your gout has all but disappeared, as we know this is caused from sugar in the diet, and your HbA1C numbers are dropping.

I too live a ketogenic lifestyle, utilize IF (normally a 6-8 hour eating window - and then a 24-36 hour fast weekly), do HIIT and weights.

What kind of lifting program do you do?

Thanks for stopping by and commenting - I applaud your commitment to your health! Because without that what do we have?

All my best! Tamala

Yeah keto rocks! haha no not my doctors, they don't know anything about this. Most still tell diabetics to eat low fat high carbs diet, and people with gout to eat less foods high in purine (red meat, mushrooms, anchovis, yeast, etc). Which leads to people having to buy more medication... wonder if there's a connection there. :)

Since I'm aging my recovery time is going sky-high, I have to take it a bit easier these days, each muscle group about once a week. And due to my diabetes I can only do so much in one session, before my glucose goes too low. I try to focus on squats, deadlifts, and maybe a barbell for shoulders and traps. The rest is body-weight exercises, cables, dumbells.

Have you found the "Headbanger's Kitchen" on Youtube? I just had some of his latest coconut bread recipe, it's the closest to bread I've had so far! :D

@stahlberg Funny about the doctors right? What you say is so true. Although there are a few, mainly the functional medicine docs, who actually do have a clue about how much diet really does effect outcome.

I’ve been doing the 5X5 workout for weights - short, intense and effective. You only do 5 sets of 5 reps of 3 exercises (squat, bench, overhead press, row, deadlift ) and only 1 set of the deadlift on that day. Might be right up your ally.

I will definitely check out the headbangers kitchen - I am unfamiliar - but always happy to find some new keto recipes especially bread! Thanks for the tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59046.50
ETH 2654.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50