To carb or not to carb? That is the BIG question!

in #health6 years ago

The high carb/low carb debate can be VISCIOUS!

Low and high carb diagrams.jpg

In a nutshell, carbs, or carbohydrates, are food components known as macronutrients, along with fat and protein. We need ALL of them in our diets – but what exactly is the correct balance of carbs to fat and protein? This causes intense debate.

Some health advocates recommend eating a diet high in carbs and low in fat and protein. Among these are people who follow a raw vegan lifestyle, including those who follow the "80-10-10" formula, where 80% of the calories in your diet come from carbs, 10% from protein and 10% from fat.

fruit copy.jpg

On the other side of the health debate are those who recommend eating a diet low in carbs and high in fat and protein. This is recommended by people who follow a "paleo" lifestyle, and followers of the Atkins and ketogenic diet plans.

paleo.jpg

People who follow the high carb, low fat philosophy generally eat lots and lots of fruit and vegetables, sometimes with nuts, pulses and whole grains, and sometimes only raw, depending on their particular outlook. They are more likely to be vegetarian or vegan, because they keep their protein levels low. Their fats often come from avocados, nuts and seeds.

Avocado salad.jpg

Low carb, high fat lifestylers will often eat a high protein diet including meat, fish and dairy along with salads and fresh vegetables, though the lifestyle can be followed by vegetarians and vegans who are happy to eat non-meat protein and fat. The emphasis is on healthy fats like butter from grass-fed cows, organic cream, avocados, nuts and seeds.

Avocado paleo.jpg

Not only have these competing health philosophies triggered monumental battles online – they even led to a high-profile court battle in 2015, when high raw vegan "Freelee the Banana Girl" was sued by Kayla Itsines, fitness trainer and creator of the Bikini Body Guide.

But how different are these two healthy eating philosophies? There is a lot of confusion over which foods actually are high in carbs. When we think of high-carb foods, we think of cakes, doughnuts, bread, pasta and sugar.

For example, these are mostly carbs:

Doughnuts.jpg

But vegetables are also high in carbs. Celery is about 73.5% carbs. Cauliflower is almost 72% carbs. Lettuce is almost 68% carbs.

These are also mostly carbs:

vegetables.jpg

Hmm... maybe we're focusing on the wrong thing. What's the difference between high-carb green vegetables and high-carb cake or doughnuts?

Gren vegetables have...

• fewer calories
• more fibre
• more micronutrients (vitamins and minerals)
• no refined sugar
• provide slow-release energy that can be used by the body

Cake and doughnuts are...

• high in calories
• low in fibre
• low in micronutrients
• high in refined sugar
• provide quick fix energy that is mostly stored as fat

High-carb-low-fat healthy eaters consume lots of fruit and vegetables and avoid refined carbs and sugar.

Low-carb-high-fat healthy eaters consume lots of vegetables and avoid refined carbs and sugar.

It seems to me that the two groups have more similarities than differences.

Forget about carbs!

Personally speaking, I don't think we should be focusing on carbs at all, or on fats, or protein. I think the focus should be on healthy foods vs refined and processed foods.

We all have different constitutions and different lifestyles. Some people need to consume more carbs, others less. Some need more fat, others less.

Instead of focusing on the balance of carbs, fat and protein and on rules, regulations and absolutes, why not just eat more healthy food? In other words, consume...

more fresh, unrefined food
more high-fibre foods, like fruit and vegetables
more fresh water
less convenience food
less processed food
less sugar

And... ENJOY it!

good food.jpg

Sort:  

Makes sense - I have focused more on intermittent fasting since it has proven to work for me as a lifestyle I can maintain. I still fail on the healthy balance part - but am now at least more conscious and aware of what I am consuming - one step at a time :)

Excellent - and I agree, one step at a time - as long as you're heading in the right direction, why rush things? I lost 31lbs last year by doing intermittent fasting from April to November. I loved it and found it much easier than expected. I still do one fast day a week, for maintenance and general health.

It's just my experience, but I lost a lot weight and just had the best phsyical in years, by just eating whole foods and hiking/backpacking. The problem is that people rabidly defend their diets without considering or completing ignoring the facts, it's just like politics. My advice; do what works for you!

I couldn't agree more!

This post has received a 2.47% upvote from @lovejuice thanks to @natubat. They love you, so does Aggroed. Please be sure to vote for Witnesses at https://steemit.com/~witnesses.

Thank you natubat for making a transfer to me for an upvote of 0.95% on this post!

Half of your bid goes to @budgets which funds growth projects for Steem like our top 25 posts on Steem!

The other half helps holders of Steem power earn about 60% APR on a delegation to me!

For help, will you please visit https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ because I check my discord server daily?

To learn more about Steem, will you please use http://steem.guide/ because this URL forwards to my most recently updated complete Steem tutorial?

As a diabetic bodybuilder with gout I can tell you, the ketogenic diet or modified Atkins is the best for me, and for most people. Not for everyone - but for most. Especially combined with Intermittent Fasting. My gout is gone completely, and my diabetes is better.

The body and brain just functions better when using ketones as fuel, rather than glucose. Of course veggies are fine but not too much of them or the body switches back to burning glucose again. Sugar, potatoes, rice, pasta and bread - starchy carbs - are all bad for most people. There's no minimum daily requirement for carbs, but there is for fat and protein. :)

Thanks for your comment stahlberg. I totally agree that sugar serves no nutritional purpose, and I also agree that some people - maybe most people - seem to thrive on keto or modified Atkins.
I used to think differently - about 5 years ago I started to follow a high carb 80% raw eating pattern, mainly because I was craving crunchy raw veg, especially cabbage. Maybe my body was crying out for more micronutrients or something. I thrived on it, lost about 30lbs and felt great.
But I accept that that was just my personal experience, and that kind of eating regime wouldn't work for everyone. It wouldn't work for me now.
I do a LOT of exercise due to being obsessed with hillwalking and climbing - and as a result I stuff my face with bread and potatoes, though I avoid sugar. I don't have a weight problem. I seem to thrive on a high-carb diet. Though I also eat a lot of healthy fats, and protein. I don't really hold back on anything except sugar.
I suppose I've always been a big carb eater. Yet I know so many people who have terrible problems with bread, wheat etc. I think we're all different. Some people need more carbs, some less. That's why I wonder if instead of trying to micromanage the balance of carbs, fat and protein we should be cutting out or reducing sugar, gluten and processed food.

Nice post, welcome to @thesteemengine. We do the high protein when we want to kick start our metabolism. I have friends who tell me they are on a zero carb diet. Which is basically impossible. They always crack me up.

Thanks! Yeah zero carb would mean zero food.

Congratulations @natubat! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 45 (2/14/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

That's fantastic news! Thanks :)

Steamengine tooot toot.

Nice post to read while im on the tread mill at the gym

Thanks - glad you enjoyed it!

Yes! Great post!

I don't think we should be focusing on carbs at all, or on fats, or protein. I think the focus should be on healthy foods vs refined and processed foods.

We all have different constitutions and different lifestyles. Some people need to consume more carbs, others less. Some need more fat, others less.

Instead of focusing on the balance of carbs, fat and protein and on rules, regulations and absolutes, why not just eat more healthy food?

If everyone would live here, we would be a healthy community!

Thanks coachjj! Glad you appreciated my post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67