What's Your Routine When You Get Sick?

in #health7 years ago

Over the last week or two I've been trying to get over being sick and was curious what you all do when you're feeling ill. In the United States, healthcare is a big issue right now and though we spend more than most, from what I've seen, the quality of care we get isn't that great. I could go on and on about how messed up the insurance system is or how the loss of price discovery, government regulatory capture, and revolving door politics has influenced these things, but I'll save that discussion for another time.

What I'm curious about is what your routine is when you get sick? Do you go to the doctor right away? Do you use home-remedies, prescription drugs, or over-the-counter meds?

(Side note: one of my favorite quotes about medicine comes from the comedian Tim Minchin's Storm the Animated Movie: "Do you know what they call 'alternative' medicine that works? Medicine.")

I'm not a big fan of going to the doctor for most common things, because it seems to me, often our own bodies do the healing eventually anyway. Last Sunday, I could tell my cough/sinus headache was only getting worse so I went to the walk-in clinic and got X-rays, blood work, mouth swabs, etc. They found a bacterial infection, but the lungs looked good, so it hadn't yet developed into anything worse like pneumonia or bronchitis.

I got some antibiotics, and I've been basically taking it easy all week. I worked less than 20 hours and have been resting as much as possible. My thinking is while my immune system is fighting something off, I should be taking it easy, drinking plenty of water, etc. The sinus headaches were making it difficult to code anyway.

So here I am, seven days later, having run the full antibiotics course, and I'm not sure if I'm really all that much better. I'm still coughing and the sinus headache still comes and goes. Does this thing just need to run its course? Should I just forget about resting and get back to "normal life" using pain killers, decongestants, and the like? I don't really know.

I'm curious what you do. Healthcare is becoming more and more personal as people can now research their own symptoms online and get to know themselves better than most anyone else. At the same time, there's a growing distrust of experts which may be leading to a net result of decreased wellbeing. True experts can bring real value with their experience, training, and education. The "appeal to authority" fallacy has quite a few caveats as Wikipedia describes it also as an "argument from unqualified authority".

There's also the wisdom of the crowd to consider. Maybe that's what this post is about. I'm curious what you think and do.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

Sort:  

Drink Colloidal Silver

Yep, it works for me, tho it's no cure-all. It may reduce the length of time it takes to recover from a significant infection, and it can even prevent infections from getting worse.

I actually wrote an article here on steemit https://steemit.com/diy/@full-steem-ahead/build-a-colloidal-silver-maker about how to build a CS maker. Drinking colloidal silver is not a panacea but it won't hurt you if you use it properly.

Nice! Im gonna check that out.

Well, making your own colloidal-silver-maker is really cool. However, for those of us that are not salvy enough. I highly recommend silver lungs generator from https://silverlungs.com. I been using it for 8 years and it's been an blessing to have. With the doctors co-pay going up just to get meds this kit pays for it self .

Colloidal silver is good stuff, and it will certainly help, but that alone probably won't reverse a bad infection.

http://www.naturefoods.co.nz/supplements/other-supplements/colloidal-silver-500

It's a great start on road of recovery.

How much do you take?

The American media do their best to make out it's "dangerous" with fake stories of blue people, so that does indicate it could be really helpful

I've had my doubts about it, but I'll do some more reading. This seems like a good place to start. Up front, it mentions the FDA concerns.

FDA is reputable? Colloidal Silver 100% keeps the werewolves and vampires away. Everything comes back to your biosphere (energy systems) and cellular health. If you have a sick fish, do you treat the fish or do you change the water? Now change the word fish for human. Sickness, in general, is a condition brought on by lower vibrational health and environmental factors.

The FDA are corrupt drug company puppets - avoid them like the plague too!

By saying "it mentions the FDA concerns" I was trying to say "Oh, cool, they recognize those who disagree with them and then go on to make their case." Too often, IMO, discussions seem to avoid those who disagree instead of discussing the differences of opinion directly. As to werewolves, vampires, and vibrational health, I'm not really sure where you're coming from there, but I'm open to reasonable arguments. :)

Vampires is an analogy for sickness. Garlic and silver! A vampire is only allowed in your home if you invite it in. :) The truth is always right there in front of us. Vibrational and cellular health is what we all need to be focusing on. Everything is founded on energy, frequencies and vibrations and all our answers are found here including disease and sickness. Good health is found when we resonate above 62Mhz - 72Mhz. If our vibrational health drops below 58Mhz we can then become prone to mucus based conditions. Cancer is found at 42Mhz. Welcome to the future of health. You will see this type of language become more mainstream in the next few years as people wake up to the truth.

I've heard some of this before and it is quite interesting, for sure. How does one measure their frequency or vibration?

It has been measured and studies were done in the early 2000's by a guy (name escapes me). In the future I am sure we will all have access to vibrational devices similar to FitBits etc on our wrists which will tell us our vibrational state and also whether we are in healthy energy fields (EMF). Electromagnetic Fields are also disrupting our biosphere and causing sickness (Power lines, power fields in our homes, microwaves, computers and wifi). What we can't see is hurting us the most.

If you can provide links to verifiable, evidence-backed sources, I'd be interested to look into it further.

The absolute #1 key thing - this can turn everything around in less than 24 hours - is to take 10 - 20 grams of high quality Liposomal Vitamin C. I have a bunch more info about that here: http://www.frot.co.nz/design/health/vitamin-c/ It can reverse everything from colds to cancer.

Avoid the sickness industry like the plague that it is, and now that you have taken antibiotics I advise taking a probiotic to reverse the damage caused by the antibiotics.

Yes these are two of the most popular products that we are sell and I'm biased, but the stuff I've seen high dosage Vit C reverse is mind blowing.

http://www.naturefoods.co.nz/

Thanks for chiming in. Yeah, I got some live probiotics (had to be kept in the fridge) last time. Maybe I'll do the same this time a well.

Echinacea, homeopathic mixes, essential oils, and colloidal silver are places we start with for colds. I have the blessing of several Naturopath practitioners in my family. :)

Honestly, I'm quite skeptical of homeopathic remedies based on what I've looked into. At the same time, I think the placebo effect is real and powerful and I often wonder if many of these remedies work simply because we believe they do and we get our body acting in accordance with our mental state.

There are certainly some duds out there. Based on what Wim Hof is teaching us, I am intrigued how much healing is what we take in, and what we shape our mental state to be - placebo effect as you say.

I've been wondering about the Wim Hof stuff also as it seems to weaken my immune system even more than normal. Maybe I'm not doing it right or I just need to do it more consistently. I stop doing it when I get sick, but maybe I shouldn't?

That is odd. I have not heard of negative effects such as yours from Wim's methods.

When I first started looking into it, I was reading stuff on Reddit, in forums, and asking some friends here locally who do it, and I found it does happen to others as well. I wonder if it impacts different people in different ways.

That's interesting - time for me to research some more.

Sick is a state of mind. You're simply finding new ways to spew teh liquids from your body, that's all. There is no "sick"; it's a jedi mind-trick by the US government.

#feelsgoodman

Heheh. Is the presence or absence of a bacteria known to cause sickness also a state of mind? ;)

Bacteria only survives in a certain environment and is normally an opportunist. Lower vibrational health and acidic blood positions will support such bacteria. Keep your vibrations high via electric foods, water and good thoughts. We are balls of energy sending out frequencies and we will attract like minded vibrational beings.

Keep your vibrations high via electric foods, water and good thoughts.

@lukestokes : Masturbation is quicker and also works in a jam for time when you need to keep your vibrations high.

Disclaimer : I'm not a Doctor, but I have masturbated when my vibrations were low.

Camu Camu powder always seems to get the job done.

With over 1000% naturally sourced vitamin c per teaspoon this is a sure way to drastically boost your immune system.

Sold by Amazon get it here:

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01I25M5MA/ref=as_li_tl?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=9325&creativeASIN=B01I25M5MA&linkCode=as2&tag=rico07f-20&linkId=57bb8bd915f7b16c1beff9681bd92326

meep

i try not to bother the doc if its just a flu or cold, i just ride it out lol - vit c overload and soup

Yeah, that's my usual approach as well, but since we have a vacation on the beach coming up, I was hoping to just knock this thing out quickly.

I pretty much do exactly what you described. And only go to the doctor if i really need to. Being Canadian, I'm not worried about the cost -- more that I don't want to waste my time or anyone else's. I also avoid the emergency room at (almost) all cost. I know people who seemingly have their kids in emergency for one thing or another every few weeks. It drives me nuts to hear them complain about our healthcare system when they routinely use emergency services for small things like fevers, colds and scrapes.

I know people who seemingly have their kids in emergency for one thing or another every few weeks.

UGH! Yes. This bothers me also.

"The healthcare system is broken!"

"Yeah, that's because you're using it wrong, and you broke it."

Heheh.

sleep, tea, sauna, thick clothes... I'm no expert, but I never have been very ill nor have I had the need for antibiotics :D

Thanks for your input! :)

I eat raw ginger and sleep a lot. Helps to me!

Nice. I just drank some ginger water kefir which comes from scraped raw ginger to rebuild some probiotics. :)

Will try that one! Sounds great

Have you ever tried a neti pot? If you are stuffy or have sinus problems, it may help.
http://www.webmd.com/allergies/neti-pots#1

Yes, thanks for the reminder. We have a plastic bottle thingy we use with the salts that is just like a neti pot. This one has been mostly in my chest, but I should still be clearing out the sinuses as well, which I haven't been doing this week.

You could also try vix vapor rub on your chest, if you are coughing a lot and have chest congestion. Hope you feel better :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 68011.48
ETH 3275.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64