Build a Colloidal Silver MakersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #diy8 years ago (edited)


I've been feeling a bit under the weather as they say the last few days so I drug out my DIY colloidal silver maker I built a few years ago and thought it would be a good project to write about. It isn't a trivial project if your electronics skills are lacking but hopefully the info in this article will be sufficient for any hobbyist who dabbles in building basic electronic gadgetry.


What is Colloidal Silver and What is it Used For?

Definition: Colloid - Physical Chemistry. a substance made up of a system of particles with linear dimensions in the range of about 10 −7to 5 × 10 −5cm dispersed in a continuous gaseous, liquid, or solid medium

For those of you who may not be aware, silver is an antibacterial agent. The use of silver in medical applications dates back all the way to the time of Hippocrates, who wrote about the use of silver in wound care. Although silver is still used today for some medical applications, colloidal silver is not approved by the U.S. FDA. I couldn't find a source but I recall reading that the Bubonic Plague that wiped out millions in the middle ages hit mostly working class people, in part because the wealthy ate using silverware.

Regardless of what the FDA says or "Big Pharma" studies indicate, my own personal experience is colloidal silver is effective for combating infections. A few gulps of it will often eliminate a sore throat, as it did for me this morning.

Essentially, colloidal silver is a solution of water with a trace amount of pure silver in it. It can be made through the process of electrolysis using a very small amount of electrical current with pure silver electrodes immersed in distilled water.

A very crude colloidal silver maker can be
constructed with 9 volt batteries and pure silver electrodes in water, however that method must be monitored or you will end up with a brown liquid with a high concentration of silver clusters which are far bigger than your body can effectively use. The amount of silver in the solution increases rapidly with time, because silver is conductive, causing positive feedback such that as the silver content increases so does the current, resulting in large clusters of silver atoms rather than a colloidal solution.

You can easily find colloidal silver machines as well as colloidal silver on the market. A local friend of mine bought one and it cost her $300 over 10 years ago. She allowed me to take it apart to see how it was built. Its' primary component was a common LM741 op amp IC which was configured as a constant current source. It also used a few transistors along with various passive components. I felt it was greatly overpriced, but at least it was well constructed, far better than many on the market that rely on you timing the process to determine the PPM (parts per million) potency.

The Design
I designed this "CS Generator" with 3 primary concepts in mind: 1) It must use a very controlled amount of current for electrolysis, 2) It must provide a way to circulate the solution during production and 3) It must shut off automatically. I had just moved, and most of my supplies and tools were still packed away, so the construction is not the best example of my work. Nevertheless it has served me well over the years and I suspect it will for the rest of my life.

Here is the schematic and PCB artwork for the design:

Q1, R1, R2, R5, D1, D2 and P1 form the constant current source. The amount of the current is determined by the values of R2 and R5 which set the maximum possible current. Potentiometer P1 is adjusted to vary the current, which controls the rate of electrolysis.

IC1, Q3, P2, R5, R6 comprise the monitoring and shut off functionality. The open collector LM311 compares the voltage on the non-grounded silver electrode which reflects the conductivity of the solution and thus the concentration of silver in it. Resistor R5 pulls pin 7 of IC1 up to near the supply voltage when the comparator is off and R6 provides a small amount of negative feedback to prevent oscillation during switching.

Once the voltage on pin 2 of IC1 goes more positive than the reference voltage on pin 3, set by potentiometer P2, the comparator turns on bringing pin 7 to ground, turning off the constant current source. This also causes the cathode of LED2 to swing negative to light the "Complete" LED, as well as turning off transistor Q3 which disables the stir motor and "Active" LED1. Diode D3 protects Q3 from any back EMF "kickback" that may be produced by the inductance of the stir motor. Capacitor C1 filters any noise that might trigger premature completion.

The stir "motor" is a little vibrator device I pulled from an old cell phone. It's the little round thing dangling between the two electrodes by a very flexible wire, and helps to circulate the solution while electrolysis is underway. You can actually see the wire is blurry in the picture of the electrodes.





You can see the internals here on the right:






Here is a closeup of the silver electrodes. I cut a .9999 pure silver round in half and drilled a small hole in each to attach the wire leading up to the control box. I sealed everything with plumber's goop. BTW, that's actually a brand name if you didn't know, and works very well, but you should use it with good ventilation as the fumes are very pungent and toxic to breathe.




I also added two test points I can measure the shutoff threshold and solution voltage near the power connector. I used a "wall wart" power supply from an 18 volt Harbor Freight Tools cordless drill which I modified to add filtering and provide the yellow and white leads to power the generator. I never got around to adding a proper connector for the power, which is why diode D4 was added in case I plugged the power connector on wrong.

I calibrated my unit in terms of the PPM strength of the solution it produces against my friends unit. The red marks can be seen on the current adjustment and a lighter mark on the shutoff threshold. That's about it. Thanks for reading!


Sort:  

How about writing about how to make "ormus" (white powder of gold) next? I hear that it has some amazing properties.

I never heard of ormus. Are you kidding? Wikipedia says: this
Perhaps you should ask @krnel, some of his material get into alchemy :)

Thanks for the support!

Try "ormus" in youtube. I was not kidding.

There seems to be a lot of variations of how to make ormus. It doesn't seem to be terribly expensive from several sources I found, and that is quite interesting. $30 or so for 1oz of ormus powder is the avg price I found.

It also seems possible, tho this is speculation, that by substituting the pure silver electrodes with pure gold in my apparatus would result in a colloidal gold solution. If I were going to try that I would locate a source of gold wire, as using a coin for electrodes would be wasteful and expensive. A quick check found 1mm (18 gauge) x 6 inches at $225 each. Ouch!

I have heard from a number of different sources over the years that consumption of gold can have positive health benefits. I have not validated or researched that claim, so I won't claim it's true.

Thanks again for introducing me to ormus. I will research it more as I have time.

Yes, I'm sure that you could make colloidal gold. But colloidal gold would not be monatomic gold, which is needed for ormus.

As to being available cheap, I wouldn't know who to trust to be sure I was getting the real thing. I would guess that most sources are NOT providing the real thing.

Indeed, if there actually are health benefits of monatomic gold it would first be necessary to have a reliable and consistent source to validate benefits & side affects.

Regarding your colloidal silver maker schematic, can it be configured to include polarity switching every few minutes (so the silver electrodes wear evenly)?

A friend of mine used to make it out of of a simple 9V battery, timed it as soon as it was hooked to the silver coin and that was pretty much it... Your system is a state of the art compared to his. thanks for sharing this important knowledge with us all, namaste :)

Thanks Eric, maximum respect right back at ya!

If you ever find a way to make the famous and illusive ormus, count me in too! Namaste :)

the circuit i use is in here, among other things.
http://www.bobbeck.com/pdfs/beck-protocol-handbook.pdf

That's quite an excellent read, it will take some time to digest. It provides much more info that my article here, and I recommend anyone interested to study it well and come up with their own conclusions. I just might have to build that apparatus and do some of my own experiments based on the info in that PDF. Thanks for posting it, very apropos!

There is quite a bit of additional information out there. This is the best compact bit of it I've found. There are full tutorials on how to build these on youtube, some geared to people much less electronically competent than you appear to be. If you have any questions about my experience with this, feel free to ask. I'm happy to have found someone interested. I've thus far been unable to interest anyone else in any of it.

Do you use the pulser and if so how often and for how long? Do you use it on your wrist? What benefits have you seen from using it?

The colloidal silver maker looked like a pretty standard constant current source.

I do use the pulser. I do use it on my wrist. It took a bit of trial and error to find the exact spots. It has been over five years since I started using it. These days, I usually forget about it until I'm not feeling 100%. I probably use it about one hour every other month. I found it when I was diagnosed with lymphoma and prostate cancer. I don't have peer reviewed clinical trials, just my N=1, but I am convinced that it is at least in part, due to this that I am alive. It took six weeks to be entirely symptom free. I used it a minimum of two hours a day for six weeks. It also cleared up chronic, lifelong respiratory and sinus infections, that I thought were normal parts of life. I used to get a cold or flu twice a year, every year, like clockwork. Since I started the pulser, I haven't had either, not once. I have made other dietary changes so I can't be sure to what extent it is due to the blood electrification, but after being sickly my whole life, an hour every other month is nothing, to feel great. I have even found that I don't need the colloidal silver anymore, though I use it for cleaning, to extend the life of milk and juice, and to keep down the smell of wet cat food.

The colloidal silver production is the thing I spent the most time researching, at the time. I found other methods that use tap water or added salt, but I did not think these were wise due to the inability to control the chemical contaminants in either. the method I chose uses distilled water, and takes longer, but produces the results that I want.

This is my personal experience. This is not medical advice.

Sorry, I have to make sure and do that. All of this is public, after all. Any more questions, let me know. I enjoy chatting about, and researching this.

Awesome, thanks so much for answering all those questions. I'm glad it has worked well for you, and I hope you have continued good health.

Peace out.

So I guess you use colloidal silver-- does it help your health?

I'd have to say yes, though not dramatically. As I mentioned in the article it alleviated a sore throat. I've also used it on my cats when they were injured.

Thanks for stopping by.

Hello, great work. Can you please specify the value of P2? It is not noted on the schematic. Thank you very much !

What do you suggest for P2 potentiometer? Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65800.35
ETH 3464.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68