Rethinking Coconut Oil - The Not-So-Healthy-Anymore Oil?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

For years now people have been talking about the alleged health benefits of eating coconut oil. It's been the headline in many mainstream news reports, both on television and in print online and in newspapers. The alternative media was talking about it in droves, turning coconut oil and other things coconut into a big hype.

I don't know if it's still a thing, but I recall a few years ago that coconut water was the big rage in Hollywood that many other people started emulating into their social spheres.

Coconut oil does have health benefits compared to other oils, but it is still an oil with fats that have harmful health effects. Coconut oil is healthier than other oils, but that doesn't actually make it healthy in itself. Something healthy in itself doesn't have negative effects. Different fats can contribute different levels of heart disease risk. Cardiovascular disease is the leading cause of death on the planet, with 17.3 million each year. Knowing what we are eating and how it effects our bodies can save our lives.

Most people don't even know the difference between saturated and unsaturated fat. But even though some people do, they still think unsaturated fat is actually a "healthy food". The American Heart Association did a survey where 72% of the American public think coconut oil is a healthy food, while only 37% of nutritionists consider it a healthy food. It's not "healthy", it's just less bad for your health, more healthy than less healthy. Stealing someone's bike is less wrong and more good than murdering someone, but stealing the bike still isn't a good thing.

Mass-marketing has heavily influenced the public consciousness to accept coconut oil as some form of weight loss, to help in digestion issues, and even to boost your metabolism. Do people fail to recognize that coconut oil is 80% saturated fat? That's saturated fat, not poly or monounsaturated fat. Even if coconut oil has more of the "healthier" unsaturated fat compared to other foods, it still is 80% saturated fat.

Saturated fat is associated with the increase in blood cholesterol and the waxy cholesterol buildup in the arteries. There is good HDL and bad LDL cholesterol though. Things like butter, lard, cakes, processed food, chips and other junk food are high in saturated fat (LDL), while unsaturated fat (HDL) is found in plant sources like olive oil, nuts and seeds. Coconut oil has both saturated and unsaturated fat, and raises both HDL and LDL blood cholesterol levels.

The important thing is the LDL that raises your blood cholesterol in a bad way, because changes in HDL cholesterol don't appear to be directly linked to changes in cardiovascular disease. The focus needs to be on the negative LDL and removing it from our bodies, as mixing the two doesn't work to eliminate cardiovascular disease threats.

This is why a recent review by the American Heart Association has advised to avoid eating coconut oil because there is still the risk present. The media again ran this story about coconut oil, but some have changed the story tell people to eat other saturated fats instead of coconut oil, which isn't the right thing to do. The AHA is trying to clear up some misunderstanding with some evidence-based advice to the public. Switching out saturated fats for unsaturated fats is still a good thing to do as it decreases the incidence of cardiovascular disease by 30%.

So for anyone who thought of coconut oil as something "healthy" as opposed to something "healthier" than other fats, needs to reevaluate their eating habits. Coconut oil can still be used in a diet but should be considered more of a treat like other fats in order to keep consumption levels down. The good news is you can still put it in your hair if you used it for that or any other external purpose and it won't affect your heart's health.

Some people use coconut oil to fry things instead of the standard oils, and think they are "eating healthy"...

None of the information is new for the science of coconut oil. Getting the information for the first time might be new to some though.


Thank you for your time and attention! I appreciate the knowledge reaching more people. Take care. Peace.


References:


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider:
Upvoting ,    Sharing or   Reblogging below.

Follow me for more content to come!


Please consider supporting me as a Steem Witness by voting for me at the bottom of the Witness page; or just click on the upvote button if I am in the top 50.

Sort:  

Wow! I love this post! Thank you! I love coconut Oil, But I saw some things talking about eating scoopfuls of it every day, and I tried doing that, And I just felt gross doing that. It doesn't make sense to do that.
But for daily lotion, make up remover, and cooking and stuff, I will still continue to use it.

I also voted for your witness :)

Cool, use away, at least you seem to use it more externally hehe ;)

This is BS. The brain is largely saturated fatty acids, and the cholesterols in these kinds of oils is not the same as what ends up clogging the heart - the sticky cholesterols are synthesised in response to excessive blood sugar levels from a high carb diet.

Lard, Dripping, Butter, Cream, these are all very good for you, in fact, and anyone who has tried the paleo/zero carb diets can attest that you actually get a lot more consistent energy out of high fat versus high starch food. I personally have a metabolism that aggressively purges sugar from my blood, and only 4-5 hours after a massive bowl of cereal I am starving. But if I instead had about 40g of fat in my breakfast, I'm not sure if I am that hungry by dinner time.

Agreed.

We need saturated fat and cholesterol which among other benefits is a building block for hormones like testosterone (have low T? Maybe it's your low fat diet).

I've been eating coconut oil for years and at 50, I'm very lean and fit and last time I checked, my cholesterol levels were spot on.

I always keep an open mind and will change it if I find convincing evidence to do so but IMO the AHA has been dishing out bad dietary advice for 50 years or however long it's been around..

I see evidence of this every morning I run down the beach and see big and sickly looking round people wobbling across the sand...it's very sad.

Sugar is the white devil that causes inflammation in your arteries and cholesterol is sent there to repair the damage.

Want to lose weight? Regain health? Stop eating sugar and things that turn to sugar inside your body.

That strategy works for me :o)

Yes yes yes, sugar is the devil! I have been looking into this for awhile, especiallylooking at the history of my community and out intake of sugar. There are so many levels to this but sugar is the main culprit. I am one who regularly takes coconut oil in my diet and it has proven to be a good decision for me.

You make good and correct points !

I'll have to agree with you 100%

Correct, I agree with you !

Loading...

I do not agree with this post and I think if you do a little more study you will find that coconut oil is actually good for you, as well as saturated fats. Its the excess sugar, trans fats and processed carbs that is the killer...plus lack of mobility, cos we are all stuck here 'steeming' instead getting out and about !!

I like to use it for my skin and hair.

Also used it to fry things and instead of butter.

The fun thing about diet and food is, what was healthy yesterday is the new "poison" of tomorrow.

Tbh I dont follow a real diet. I try to eat a lot of fruit and vegetables and dont want to fall too much into the new food or diet hypes.

Not even vegans can find a common ground what would be the perfect diet.

So I just go with my common sence so far.

This is news to me. Thank you for sharing as i eat coconut oil as well to lower cholesterol ,so its actual all for nothing .The power of Good marketing !!!

If you're looking to lower serum cholesterol you should raise dietary cholesterol. Eat more eggs, cooked in a real fat.(not one of those rancid vegetable oils, soybean oils, CANOLA oil, etc.)

Yes quite so ! and most oils are GMO especially corn and soybean oils ! (90%)

Damn straight. Godawful stuff. Might as well drink cleaning fluid.

bruh eggs are literally toxic chicken periods...

like bruh, we've totally been eating them for hundreds of thousands of years.

but hey, keep being media healthy. I'm sure that'll work out great for you.

Haha, yeah. It's better than other stuff potentially, its got the good HDL, but it still has the bad too. Google some research and learn more about how it works.

I strongly suggest you look into spices. I've had great success with them. Cayenne pepper in particular.

I've been using it for many things, including dry hands/lips and sometimes a hair mask. I'm using it for cooking, instead of butter, but I'd not really eat it for it being 'healthy'. It's just a substitute for me. I also use it for baking a lot, mostly because I always have it in the house, whereas I hardly ever have butter.

Eat raw, grass fed butter , nothing better :)

I don't think I've ever had that! I'm not even sure where to buy it actually :D

Sounds like you use it for many things hehe! I use it to fry some veggies rarely, but mostly steam. Thanks for the feedback.

Know what you eat and how it affects your body. You said it right! Just because something is said to be good for you it doesn't mean that it can't harm you. It's about eating the right amounts and living a lifestyle conducive to good health.

Thanks for sharing! Lots of detailed information.

Everything in moderation. A lot of people believe so much hype and overdo a lot of stuff. Yeah I agree there are health benefits and risks to most everything especially if you overdo it. Everything in moderation is the best way. I use Coconut oil a lot in different things but never over use. I recently started giving it to my mother since she was developing Dementia since it does help to clear the plaque in the frontal lobe of the brain which can in some people increase their ability to think and reason. Doesn't work in all people but does in most. It did help my Mom some but not as much as I would have liked it to. Good post sir. Thanks!

I didn't know about that potential for the brain plaque... amazing. At least it did help a bit. Thanks for the feedback.

Thanks, that's really good to keep in mind. Especially since I use it. I guess It's still fine to use in "lesser" dozes. I use it instead of butter. For the other things I use olive oil.

Raw grass fed butter is absolutely great to use. If you use olive oil do not fry with it, Coconut oil is fine at high temp and doesn't go carcinogenic or spoil - truth :)

Oh yes, at first I picked up coconut oil to cook some "green stuff". I noticed that It doesn't boil. I rarely fry anything, but I'll definitely keep this in mind, thanks!

Yeah, I only use some oils when I cook in a pot. Otherwise no need.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58503.45
ETH 2594.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45