You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rethinking Coconut Oil - The Not-So-Healthy-Anymore Oil?

in #health7 years ago

This is BS. The brain is largely saturated fatty acids, and the cholesterols in these kinds of oils is not the same as what ends up clogging the heart - the sticky cholesterols are synthesised in response to excessive blood sugar levels from a high carb diet.

Lard, Dripping, Butter, Cream, these are all very good for you, in fact, and anyone who has tried the paleo/zero carb diets can attest that you actually get a lot more consistent energy out of high fat versus high starch food. I personally have a metabolism that aggressively purges sugar from my blood, and only 4-5 hours after a massive bowl of cereal I am starving. But if I instead had about 40g of fat in my breakfast, I'm not sure if I am that hungry by dinner time.

Sort:  

Agreed.

We need saturated fat and cholesterol which among other benefits is a building block for hormones like testosterone (have low T? Maybe it's your low fat diet).

I've been eating coconut oil for years and at 50, I'm very lean and fit and last time I checked, my cholesterol levels were spot on.

I always keep an open mind and will change it if I find convincing evidence to do so but IMO the AHA has been dishing out bad dietary advice for 50 years or however long it's been around..

I see evidence of this every morning I run down the beach and see big and sickly looking round people wobbling across the sand...it's very sad.

Sugar is the white devil that causes inflammation in your arteries and cholesterol is sent there to repair the damage.

Want to lose weight? Regain health? Stop eating sugar and things that turn to sugar inside your body.

That strategy works for me :o)

Yes yes yes, sugar is the devil! I have been looking into this for awhile, especiallylooking at the history of my community and out intake of sugar. There are so many levels to this but sugar is the main culprit. I am one who regularly takes coconut oil in my diet and it has proven to be a good decision for me.

You make good and correct points !

I'll have to agree with you 100%

Correct, I agree with you !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59466.22
ETH 2616.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44