My Water Only Fasting Experience – 32 Days [FINAL]

in #health6 years ago
  • Wednesday, September 27th 2017

    Day_32.png

Final update of fasting on just water For 32 Days.


Well, the daily updates ground to a halt about half way through. After Day 13 in fact. Seeing that I’ve had many friends ask me about how the fast went since I’d finished, I’ve decided to post the final part of the story, even though it should have been posted months ago.

So I’m going to do my best to fill in the things that I remember happening between day 14 and the final, 32nd day as well as a few things I noticed in the next couple of weeks after I had started to eat again..

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg

WHY 32 DAYS?

Four And A Half Weeks On Water Alone.

My actual target was 40 days, but on day 32, “Mrs Hammaraxx” insisted that I put an end to the fast as she didn’t think I was looking very well. Actually, I hadn’t been feeling very well since the day before. I think it was more of a bug than anything to do with the fasting though.

I’d been keen to try a 40 day fast for close to ten years now, ever since seeing a presentation on whole food living by Don Tolman. Not long after I turned 50, I decided the time was right to give my system a rest from digesting and allow it to perform a good clean out. It sure did.

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg

FROM DAY 14 TO DAY 26

Filling In The Steemit Posting Gap.

After swimming on day 14, I did some more work in my parent’s back yard which combined with being up late the night before, performing with the band, took nearly all my available energy. Having no commitments for day 15, a Sunday, I pretty much rested the whole day.

The main ‘highlight’ on day 20, if you could call it that, was a visit to the dentist to have a tooth removed. Not pleasant, but the tooth had broken beyond repair so had to come out. The tooth came out nicely and fasting didn’t seem to have any effect on my ability to have the tooth extracted.

The other ‘highlight’ would be a change to my urine. It became very orange in colour and had an oily almost sedimentary appearance to it. My urine continued like that from this point until a few days after I stopped the fast.

I attended an all day seminar on day 21, a Saturday, and even though I drank plenty of water throughout the event, the day was exhausting. With travel to and from the seminar, and nursing a missing tooth I was once again, glad to not have any plans for the next day.

It was pretty much a normal thing not to be eating now, I had no cravings for anything anymore and as long as I had my water bottle handy, I was quite comfortable.

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg

OVER DOING IT ON DAY 27

Running On Empty.

I went on an excursion as a volunteer, planting trees on Day 27. A bus load of us headed out into the mountains and after an introduction and demonstration using the tree planting tools we split into groups of three and began to plant hundreds of trees over a few hours.

Once we had planted all of our trees, everyone stopped for lunch, which I just drank my water. At about the same time I became overwhelmed by feelings of exhaustion. So, as the others went on a walk, exploring more of the surrounding lands, I reluctantly stayed back at base and rested.

The bus trip back home felt extra long and I wasn’t feeling to well by the time I arrived home. I could tell I had really overdone it on such little energy.

I spent almost the whole weekend recovering, resting in bed.

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg

Days 31 And 32

All Good Things Come To An End.

Day 31 began with a stomach pain, the type that comes with a case of gastro. The nauseating butterfly like feelings also followed and I’m pretty sure I vomited a few times that day. Spent that day resting up and trying not to feel unwell. In that condition, I even abstained from drinking too much water. Just the occasional sip to ease a dry mouth.

Day 32 wasn’t much better. It was early afternoon, when ‘Mrs Hammaraxx’ told me she didn’t think I was looking too good and that I needed to break my fast and start eating something. A look in the mirror confirmed it to me too. I had started looking really worn out and very thin. Besides that, I wasn’t feeling well and I felt that I needed to start eating again to get back some energy.

I decided the fast was over.

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg

FIRST FOOD AFTER 32 DAYS

What Was The First Thing I Chose To Eat?

I was slightly disappointed for not reaching my target of 40 days, but as I wasn’t feeling the greatest, the thought of eating again was a comforting idea. I didn’t really crave any particular food, but I had already decided a few weeks earlier, that my first food would be watermelon and then lots of fruit and light salads for meals afterwards.

The watermelon was amazing…

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg

WEIGHT LOSS

How Much Weight Did I Lose?

I had lost a lot of weight, about 15kg in total, perhaps a bit more, since the start of the fast and I don’t think I’ve been that light since I was a young lad. I wasn’t fasting to lose weight so it took a few weeks to regain all the weight I lost.

Lowest weight: 54.2kg

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg

GETTING BACK TO NORMAL

Internals Getting Back To Normal Function?

I didn’t eat a lot for the first two days, eating lots of fruit and salads, but then some really crazy cravings set in. I felt the need for very hot chilli and I couldn’t get it hot enough using the available chilli in my pantry. Close but I kept wanting it hotter.

I started mixing all sorts of things together, really weird combinations like yogurt, hot chilli, mustard, pickles and hummus on celery sticks. Those bazaar desires lasted for a few days before my tastes got back to my normal choices.

My exits were interesting for a few weeks after I started eating too. They appeared undigested. Appearing as if a whole pile of fresh food had been mixed in a food processor and poured into the bowl. Watching exits return to normal after a while, I am satisfied that the whole fasting process gave my insides a really good opportunity to clean out.

Unfortunately, the great eyesight I had experienced didn’t last and my eyes have returned to the poor vision state they were in prior to the fast.

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg

SUMMING UP

Would I Do It Again?

I think I probably will have another go at a 40 day water only fast someday. It will be at least a year before I’d try it again and I’d probably eat a lot more and a lot more healthily for a few weeks before starting another fast too.

I think I tried to do too much while fasting this time and suffered from loss of energy a lot, especially in the last couple of weeks. If I do attempt another fast it will probably be in my best interest to plan holidays for the last few weeks to conserve as much energy as possible.

I will also do my best to make a post at the end of each day, unlike this time. The old saying along the lines of “It’s better to keep up than to have to catch up.” really applies here. I learned the hard way.

Anyway…

Thank you for reading this far.
If you think your followers may be interesting in this do them a favour and resteem ;p

hammaraxx_steemit_horizontal_line.jpg


water_only.jpg
Stay Hydrated & Steem On!

Cheers
Thor
@hammaraxx

Rock'N'Roll From Melbourne, Australia


Previous Posts In This Series:

Please, Leave a Comment Below.


Sort:  

Funny... it popped into my head a few days ago about your fast and that I hadn't seen any more about your progress. Interested reading your update, well done on your challenge!

Thanks for dropping by for the rest of the story.
It's a bit late but feels like a huge weight off my shoulders, now that I've posted it.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @hammaraxx to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Gee l am glad you enjoyed the experience but did sound a little hard on the body. By the sounds of it. You have a great misses to help you deal with the time and getting your strength back.

xoxoxoxo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54