Lions Mane Mushroom: Why You Should Consider Consuming This Every Day

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Recently I've been getting into the use of various nootropics as a way to enhance my cognitive abilities.

Image result for lions mane mushroom
Image Source


One such substance is Yamabushitake mushroom, otherwise known as Lion's Mane mushroom. I first heard about this incredible organism through Joe Rogan, specifically his episode with Paul Stamets. Stamets is famous for his promotion of all different types of fungi and their potential to help human health as well as the health of the planet. He wrote the book "How Mushrooms Can Save the World", for reference.

One of the most important mushrooms he recommended is Lion's Mane mushroom. This mushroom has shown a strong ability to benefit individuals who are struggling with dementia, Alzheimer's, and other cognitive impairments.

Lion's mane has the potential to stimulate neural growth factor, a neuropeptide that helps with neurogenesis. Stanley Cohen and Rita Levi-Montalcini were the first people to identify NGF, which enhances cognition by reducing inflammation, improving overall brain health, and encouraging neural growth. source

In terms of my own experience in taking it, I have experienced immediate benefits including increased focus and energy.


Just about everyone who has tried it has experienced tangible, noticeable benefits within their first dose. This substance, in concert with a few other substances, has been incredibly helpful for me in terms increasing my energy and focus. In fact, I just put some Lion's Mane Mushroom powder into the tea that I'm drinking while writing this post ;) I recommend the Om brand of Lion's Mane powder as an easy way to consume it instead of searching for the actual mushroom in stores, though I would like to have it fresh one day!

Interestingly, this substance has also been beneficial in regards to achieving a deeper level of sleep. It's fascinating to experience both energy, focus, and improved sleep from the same substance. I can't imagine using something like Adderall to sleep or Ambien for focus, but I digress...

Lion's mane has shown benefits in treating anxiety, depression, and contains anti-cancer properties. Nerve health can be an easy thing to forget (har har), but it is vitally important. If you or someone you love could benefit from using Lion's Mane, I suggest you watch this episode of Joe Rogan:

Sort:  

I like mushrooms and include them in my food to cook. Nice post!

That's a lot of benefits from one supplement! Why do you prefer Om over Stamet's brand?

What are the other supplements you're taking along with the Lion's Mane?

I just tried some for the first time right now haha thanks to https://steemit.com/@silascjgoss

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57307.38
ETH 2434.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32