Is Centrism the New Extremism?

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

The other day, I did something I haven't done in a long time: I posted a status update on facebook.
Image result for ideology
Image Source


The last few years, I've avoided posting anything even mildly political or controversial, as the level of discourse has become increasingly tense over the last few years. I also went a bit too far in trying to convince others of my worldview a few years back, and I eventually realized that I was probably doing myself a disservice by getting on a soapbox and shoving my views into people's newsfeed too aggressively.

I also happen to enjoy not having an online argument hang over my day like a black cloud of bullshit. During my active forum and facebook days, online debates with people I didn't know would take up far too much of my headspace, subsequently making me less present in my actual interactions with humans in real time.

But with the recent strain of extreme ideological zeal by many people on the left and right, I decided it was time to make a statement about the state of our society's political conversation (or lack thereof). This is the status I posted:

Ideologies are the most divisive force in the world today. Stop attaching yourself to your beliefs as if your life depended on it. Talk to people you vehemently disagree with, and do so without resorting to name calling. The world will be better off with less self righteousness. You're not totally right and your 'enemies' likely are not completely wrong. Seriously, stop with the division, it's far more toxic to our world than any one politician ever could be.

Pretty reasonable, right? I was merely asking for people to be willing to discuss serious issues with others who have differing viewpoints. The response I received was deeply troubling.

I poked the beast, and it bit back

Angry, Upset, Pout, Face, Dissatisfied


Let me get something out of the way here, to provide some context: I am a straight white male. There's a disturbing trend that my opinion is irrelevant or invalid as a result of this in some people's eyes. Even though I am certainly not 'right wing', I have my own opinions about politics and social issues that don't fall neatly into one side or the other.

I enjoy serious discussion with others who see the world differently. I am not threatened by another person's viewpoint, even if it is radically different from my own. I see it as a way to learn more about why people believe the things they do, and use it as a way to reflect and reexamine my own perspective.

Apparently, this level of thinking is unacceptable to those who are fiercely attached to their ideology, especially because of my priveledge. Here is one of the responses I received (brace yourself):

That's the dumbest shit I ever heard. Sounds like you can afford to be complacent and "look at both sides". If you don't believe we should fight against racist sexist white supremacist violent ideologies, then you're just wrong. If you're a person of color and a member of your family is deported or shot and killed you can't afford to be like "hmmm Maybe there is some merit in the racist ideology that led to the systemic destruction if the lives of Black and brown people , maybe I should ask someone who has that ideology". There are dangerous ideologies that have to be eliminated. Period.

It's actually neo-liberal ideology that's harmful. These ideologies actually kill people. That is what I'm saying. And I'm not going to compromise my beliefs because I can't afford to. You don't understand how privileged you sound. You being a white man has everything to do with this.

You're self righteous holier than though attitude is incredibly patronizing. Why the hell do you think you can say I'm "doing a disserve to my movement???' when you're not even part of one, you don't know what this movement is and why we have to keep fighting these harmful ideologies and policies that have REAL effects on people's lives. You think in the civil war black people should have considered white supremacy as having any justification? Do you think people would have gotten anywhere with that centrist bull shit mentality? You can go and sit in your bubble but don't tell me how I'm supposed to think and walk through this world

Clearly, I touched a nerve

Sheep, Bleat, Communication, Communicate, Talk, Discuss


I never said people should be complacent in this world and not take action on their beliefs. We shouldn't sit idly by and allow injustice to take place in our world.

But my main point was that we desperately need to speak to each other about issues that matter without resorting to emotional and irrational name-calling. Leftist don't realize that by demonizing the 'other side', they embolden it even more.

This person's idea that certain ideologies need to be eliminated is a scary reminder that some people literally cannot tolerate the existence of certain belief systems. And to them, centrism is equally unacceptable.

To ideologues, being open to discussion is a form of extremism. This is dangerous and does not bode well for our society as a whole. The otherization of those we disagree with mutes the debate, and turns it into a battle instead of a discussion.

By shutting down 'the other side', we regress into our own bubbles and echo-chambers. It inevitably leads to dehumanizing those we disagree with, which allows violence to be justified.

I'm not sure how to bridge this gap, but this situation has reaffirmed the idea that we desperately need to more dialogue as a society. Centrism cannot become an unacceptable position, and more attempts need to be made to mediate between the alt-right and anti-fa movements before things really get out of hand.


All uncredited pictures from the pixabay.com

If you received value from this post, please upvote, follow, and resteem!


My latest Posts

Classic Hits

Sort:  

wow such an amazing post worth reading well done :)

I dont have an updat sith my facebook anymore when After I joined steemut and learning how to earn through thoughts... very nice info ;)

true, I agree that once you should also open yourself to other people's opinion. and be open to what might slap you. keep steeming

Dialog and discussion are important. There is usually a reason or story around why someone believes the way they do. It might not be sound or logical, but it makes sense to them. Taking the time to understand and listen to where they are coming from can lead to conversation and discussion.

I don't see a lot of those discussions happing online. It quickly escalates to personal attacks and both parties digging in there heals.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62108.38
ETH 2582.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57