Cryptopia SmartCash Situation: A Perfect Reminder of Why You Shouldn't Hold Crypto On Exchanges

in #smartcash7 years ago

As of this writing, Cryptopia's SmartCash wallet is still disabled.

Image result for smart cash


Due to an update to the SmartCash wallet because of the release of smartnodes, trading on Cryptopia remains suspended. This has been incredibly frustrating for those who want to sell or move their Smart into their wallets. With the smartrewards snapshot fast approaching on the 25th of this month, it is becoming more annoying with each passing day.

Cryptopia is one of the few exchanges where SmartCash is available for purchase, and unfortunately, I have some Smart stuck in limbo because of this situation. Thankfully, most of mine is stored in the official wallet, so I won't be losing out on all smartrewards if this drags on past the 25th.

Nevertheless, it is aggravating that Cryptopia has taken this long to update their wallet. As a result, it is very unlikely that I will be using this particular exchange in the future, as this situation is unacceptable. But it is a stark reminder of something that many people have reiterated:

Don't hold your coin on exchanges!

Image result for cryptopia
Image Source


There are plenty of reasons why you shouldn't hold your coin on exchanges. If the site is hacked or shut down for some reason, you're SOL. And if your preferred exchange happens to be taking an excessive amount of time to update their wallet, you lose the ability to take profits or do ANYTHING with your coin.

Obviously, using exchanges is a necessary evil when it comes to buying and selling crypto, but it is incredibly important to transfer it out of them ASAP.


All uncredited pictures from the pixabay.com

If you received value from this post, please upvote, follow, and resteem!


My latest Posts

Classic Hits

Sort:  

CryptoBridge is now available to trade SmartCash, paired with both BTC and LTC.

Right on, thanks for the tip!

I really just want my transfer to be completed from Cryptopia. It's not showing up in my smartcash wallet, though Cryptopia says the transaction is complete.

The bizarre thing is that it showed up in my smartcash wallet for a brief moment, but is no longer there.

Σ$$$ Tipped @colinhoward Σ10 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $1.075 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $10.75 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

As @cloudyspyder said, cryptobridge is exchanging smartcash. Also I hear masternodeXchange is pretty good too.

Great, that's good to know. I have a friend looking to buy some and can let him know that :)

Personally, I probably won't be selling any time soon, as I believe in the project. I wouldn't mind buying things once a smartcash market launches, however.

Yeah exactly, I'm not looking to sell right now either. Although I wouldn't mind buying some at a dip.

Does anyone know if there's any plans to get smartcash on other exchanges like binance, bitgrail or bitfinex? I just can't handle having to sign up to yet another exchange! :)

Its the nature of the beast. Unfortunately we just keep signing up to all exchanges. I have lost count to the number I have signed up with. HitBTC being the latest as my BTC was stuck on its way to Coin Exchange and Cryptopia for days. Started using HitBTC because BTC was becoming a real pain to move. I guess we could start a vote on either we have the community to make it count.

I will follow you from now

This is additinal information for me since I am just a beginner of learning cryptocurrency. I hope I can join a workshop or seminar about this blessing. Thank you @colinhoward tou are a blessing to me ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62820.16
ETH 2438.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69