A Short, Full Body Workout: FINALLY Getting My Lazy A$$ to the Gym! (Weightloss Wednesday)

in #health6 years ago (edited)

weightloss-wednesday-gym1.png

purple-chalk.png

april-180-pounds.png

So, I'm currently still holding steady right between 181 and 179. You can see my One Year Progress Video if you're interested.

This month I've challenged myself to do at least one 36 hour fast each week. Thus far I've actually done four already. It isn't a difficult thing for me to do when I'm in the right mindset. As a matter of fact, I usually end up going to 40-42 hours just because I'm in the groove. Other than that, I'm still following the fasting for 16-18 hours and 'feasting' for 6-8 hours. I want to keep my calories at an average of 1800 a day, so I have been really REALLY wanting to add in regular exercise.

If you have been following my progress, you'll know that is something that I've failed at being consistent about thus far. That is in part to the fact that I'm actually feeling pretty good about my physical self. Having spent five years WAY overweight, this weight feels comfortable and I'm okay 'hanging out' here for a while. Letting my body adapt to this new size. I DO however, want to work on strength and flexibility for health reasons... soooo... my BFF to the rescue!

purple-chalk.png

So, I finally found my motivation (or rather, my best friend, Marie found HERS and talked me into going along for the ride!). She's bad at being motivated AT the gym, while I'm bad at getting motivated to go TO the gym (or anywhere, for that matter. I'd stay home 24/7 for months at a time if I could!)

So, she talked me into meeting her at the gym this morning. Knowing that she is super busy, I tried to find a full body type workout that we could do twice a week or four times a week. She also has a few physical limitations that I wasn't aware of until we got to the gym, so there was some adjusting on the fly after we got there, but it all worked out.

I started with a plan from one of my favorite sites by Nia Shanks: Lift Like a Girl

The original plan was to do:
3 sets of 8 for each workout to start with, since neither of us have worked out in a while.

  • Dumb bell weighted squats

Super sets (no rest between the two exercises)

  • Dumb Bell Bench Press (I prefer these to barbell presses, because that way I can't over compensate with one arm over the other, even a little bit)
  • Dumb Bell Rows

Super sets (no rest between the two exercises)

  • Back Extensions
  • Leg Extensions on the bench for abs

Once we met at the gym, she told me that she can't lift ANY weight with her left shoulder, so we adapted a bit. I moved the bench press to the Smith Machine so she could still do the press with weight with her right arm alone, and just do the range of motion with her left shoulder (as long as it wasn't bothering her)

Warm Up

Since she also has a gimpy ankle, we hit the elliptical for our warm up. We did a moderate place (we were both slightly out of breath) for ten minutes before hitting the weights.

I forgot to get photos of the squats, but she does goblet squats by sitting back onto a bench when she first starts a workout routine. It helps her get proper form without feeling like she's going to fall/be unbalanced. Holding one smaller dumb bell in front of her is easier for her balance wise as well.

1: Squats

I just do dumbbells on the shoulders and do regular squats for my sets.

2: Bench Press

Gym-liftbbpress.png
For the bench press, I did 3x8 with 50 pounds. I probably should have went heavier, but I really didn't want to push it until I was SUPER sore on the first day, so that was a good weight for me to start with.

3: One Arm Dumb Bell Rows

Gym-liftdbrow2.png
I probably should have went up on weight with these, too. I always have a hard time knowing where to start when it's been a while.

4: Abs, Leg Extensions

Gym-abs2.png
Legs out straight, hold for the count of two (You can set a weighted medicine ball on your ankles if you need extra weight for this one)

gym-abs-ext.png
Tuck legs into chest and repeat for 8 sets. Move onto the next exercise without resting between them:

4: Back: Back Extensions

Gym-back2.png
I did these holding a 10# weight. I neeeeed the back strengthening workouts for sure!

Gym-back3.png
Hold at the top for a count of two.

Gym-back1.png

STRETCHING

Gym-stretch3.png
I am SO bad about committing to stretching, but it is SO important. We did each of these twice, holding for about 20-30 seconds each.

Gym-stretch2.png
The cat stretch is great for stretching the back all the way up and opening up the chest.

Gym-stretch1.png
This hip flexor stretch is one I should do DAILY, if not multiple times a day. It is good for those of us who sit a lot (which is me, all day every day) Press your hips forward and reach to the sky, feel the stretch where the front of your leg meets the pelvis.

Gym-stretch.png
This is my favorite stretch, great after doing squats or any glute work.

I am hoping that this will inspire me to at least spend a little time at least stretching each day. My friend and I are planning to hit the gym 2-3 times a week. If I'm already going, @abyni will probably feel inspried to drag me there on the weekends as well!

**I Know some people are all snobbish about Planet Fitness, but let me tell you, it's CLEAN, the people are nice and the equipment is updated regularly. Those are things that are sometimes hard to find. Will it suit you if you're a Crossfit or hardcore lifter type? Nope. But you know what? If that's your thing, you're probably able/willing to spend more than $10 a month to workout. For me, it's perfect, because I'm NOT that hardcore and I need a place where I can get started. I may someday be that person who needs more. I don't like that there aren't more barbell options, but it's not meant to be for everyone... and it works perfectly for me. Don't be afraid to give it a try, because it's been the perfect solution for a tight budget! If you're creative or do your research at ALL, you can get a pretty hardcore workout with a little bit of thought!

purple-chalk.png

This is not fitness advice or recommendation. This is just part of my own workouts that I'm posting to keep myself accountable.

purple-chalk.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

purple-chalk.png

Click the icons to read some of my other posts!

Storytime Saturday: Psychological Thriller

DrHouse.png

Sunday Funnies: Letters from a Boat Cat

TempestCover-250.png

Mommy Monday: Puppet Making Series, Part Two

Thumb-BMB-Cover-part2.png

Try Something NEW Tuesday: Learning the Ukulele

THUMB-trysomethingnew.png

Weightloss Wednesday: ONE YEAR!!! Progress and Meal Plans

THUMB2018-oneyar-front.png

Therapy Thursday: My Bucket List (Dreams and Life)

THUMB-THERAPYTHURSDAY1.png

Friday Favorites: Posts That Caught My Eye this Week

Thumb-FF-9-cover.png

purple-chalk.png

byn-sig.png

Sort:  

That's quite impressive... I should do that to, I know...
Today was supposed to be a decent vegetable soup kind of day.... ended up at McDonalds :(

Well don't beat yourself up over it. That only makes it worse! One meal at McD's isn't going to ruin everything. Just make the next meal a healthier choice and you'll start making progress :) Find what is sustainable for you!

I feel really bad to be eating pizza while I read this post 😱 I NEED to go to the gym but I'm so lazy.. Like you said, I would stay 24/7 at home if I could haha just eating junk food :( I so look up to you for having the motivation to go and exercise!! :)

If I had a workout partner at home, I'd definitely work out here, but I get so easily distracted by all the things that need to be done here! :)

I gonna try it!! Thanks for sharing.

I’ve not been in a gym for over a decade, but at the very least I should pick up a weight or a barbell every so often. I have these at home. I’m guilty in that I only do cardio, which results in injuries. Maybe I’ll think of you and try to do better this weekend. :)

I did cardio (taught Zumba) for about 6 years. And yeah, ended up with a lot of injuries because I wasn't cross training. Now I tend to veer way more into weight lifting. I usually work out at home, because I have plenty of stuff here to use, but I find it hard to get motivated when I'm home.

I think you look wonderful just the way you are! It is always nice to find a gym and to get out of the house! Plus the place is all purple which is perfect for pictures. Your outfit blended in perfectly.

I hope you keep at it, although it looks as if you may be a wee bit sore. New abs are a killer! You do inspire me to work out more, so ty for that! Maybe tomorrow :D

Have you seen the Zumba challenge yet??

I haven't done a lick of Zumba since I quit teaching 6 years ago. I got rather burned out on it.

I think I look fine, but I definitely need to gain some strength. I have no stamina and my back/posture needs built back up for sure!

Thank you for all the compliments!

You in it!!! I cannot do dumbells but maybe that's cause I'm scared of heavy lifting. I commend you. I'm glad that you got used to fasting first, because I would imagine starting both at the same time wouldn't be good for your health.

Gym is always more fun with friends. I might go to the gym, but not for a long long time xD

YAY for exercising! :D And wow with the full details of the workout!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67167.83
ETH 3499.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81