The Acropolis in gold

in #goldenhourphotography7 years ago (edited)

golden2.jpg

Since moving to Athens I've been lucky enough to have several friends from the states visit me. One of the best things about having friends visit from out of town is that it forces you to play tourist in your own city and perhaps do some things you wouldn't normally do. All of my friends have had different things on their Athens bucket list depending on what type of travelers they are. Some come for the food, some the cocktails and nightlife, some the history, but the one thing they universally want to see is the Acropolis. And can I blame them? After all, you can see it shining from above from most areas of downtown Athens just begging for a closer look.

As a result I've visited the Acropolis quite a few times over the past several months. Most recently we decided to go right before closing to catch the sunset from top. Here are a few photos of the temples bathed in golden light (and one of the Erechtheion Temple from another visit for contrast). I hope you enjoy!

golden.jpg
The Erechtheion Temple at sunset.
.
18767880_10156236638522729_5625817318194907539_n.jpg
The Erechtheion Temple on a slightly overcast day.
.
golden3.jpg
The view from below
.
21369307_10156639599527729_5890412878453118465_n.jpg
Sunset over Athens from the hill of the muses.
.
.
.
Check out some more of my recent posts:
Photography: Concert photography with available light.
Music: Valborg-Endstrand (vine and vinyl, metal and wine pairings)
Travel: Twiske park in Amsterdam
Art: Oil on canvas portrait painting.
Travel: A quick glimpse at Cologne, Germany.
.
.
.
Follow me for more travel, art, and music related content. Let me know you're following and I'll follow you back! :)
Terminal Blue: custom painting and design
Red Finch Virtual Assistance
Terminal Blue on Instagram
JewelrybyBazil on Instagram
Handmade natural stone and wire jewelry on Etsy

Sort:  

Haha. I know what you mean by becoming a tourist in your new home. That's how I discover Scotland. 😊
Beautiful photos. I enjoyed comparing the first two.

Its a great way to explore...sometimes I find myself putting off the touristy stuff because I figure I can see it any time, but then I rarely get around to it on my own!

Yes, exactly my problem too. By now I should know the country way better than I do, considering the years I've lived here. Visitors give me the motivation to research interesting sights or things to do and the excuse to take time off.

Gosh I miss Athens sometimes... Having lived 2 years there, seeing any pic of the city makes my heart go all strange :) I'll publish one of my favourite pic later on, taken from Philopappou Hill for the goldenhourphotography too.

where do you live now? And please let me know when you post that pic, I'd love to see it!

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #goldenhourphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Monday.

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 12:34:37
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 112.90/200.00
Total Photos: 17
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.14 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Thanks for sharing with us, it's so unique place!

thank you! And it truly is, I never get sick of going!

Beautiful photos!! ☺ Looks like gold!!

Nice, I just posted my travel pics from Greece. Was an epic trip with too much raki.

Too much raki? No such thing ;p
I'll be sure to check out your photos!

nature and its magical way of surprising us

its truly amazing :)

Great pictures, I love the light reflecting off the buildings, literally shows them in a different light...

thanks! I've actually made it a habit now to try and take some of the same pictures every time I visit the Acropolis in order to show the different affects weather can have on the mood of photos :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.54
ETH 2521.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53