Concert photography and available light.

in #portraitphotography7 years ago (edited)

Live concerts have always been a favorite of mine to shoot. Infact, I would say concerts are the reason I got into photography in the first place. When I was living in San Francisco I did a lot of work in the music industry including booking live shows. It wasn't always easy to find a reliable concert photographer at the time so I bought myself a camera and decided to try my hand at it. It was definitely love at first click ;)

Though I eventually branched out to other forms of photography, concerts have always held a special place in my heart. There is a unique challenge to working with the light is available to you and not relying on studio lights or flash. Many concerts are dim (or completely lit in red, the bane of any photographers existence!), add to that the fact that you are shooting a moving target and you've just upped the difficulty level substantially. On the other hand, when you do manage to capture a great shot, the result can be so much more rewarding and oftentimes more interesting than studio lighting. So I'd like to share some of my concert photos from back in the day with you. I hope you enjoy!

2570849325_e07d7e778d_o.jpg
The Strand live in Albuquerque, NM
.

2144650885_7491f24aba_o.jpg
Cyanotic live at Julies Supper Club in San Francisco, CA
.

4762365216_158e7270e4_o.jpg
Big Bad Voodoo Daddy live at The Santa Fe Brewing Co. in Santa Fe, NM
.

3195628811_7f347e8459_o.jpg
Skinny Puppy live at The Launchpad in Albuquerque, NM
.

1935736328_eb550b1af5_o.jpg
Psyclon Nine live in Cleveland, OH
.

4743393559_c6177b2710_o.jpg
ChemLab live at The DNA Lounge in San Francisco, CA

I have so many more I could share but I will save it for another time. What are some of your favorite subjects to shoot? Let me know in the comments.
.
.
.
Check out some more of my recent posts:
Music: Valborg-Endstrand (vine and vinyl, metal and wine pairings)
Travel: Twiske park in Amsterdam
Art: Oil on canvas portrait painting.
Travel: A quick glimpse at Cologne, Germany.
.
.
.
Follow me for more travel, art, and music related content. Let me know you're following and I'll follow you back! :)
Terminal Blue: custom painting and design
Red Finch Virtual Assistance
Terminal Blue on Instagram
JewelrybyBazil on Instagram
Handmade natural stone and wire jewelry on Etsy

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #portraitphotography, the weekly selection will be released on Saturday.

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 12:31:32
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 102.40/200.00
Total Photos: 16
Total comments: 19
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.54 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

really amazing light!

thank you so much!

These are great, I really love the lighting!

thank you so much!

Nice work! You're right, concerts really are difficult but very rewarding when you get the shot! Followed you back!

Very nice shots, love that shot of Psyclon Nine, awesome emotion and light!

thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59488.68
ETH 2538.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52