Do you want to make your own natural liquid fertilizer? One that is especially rich in potassium and perfect to encourage flowers and fruit set?

in #gardening6 years ago (edited)

comfrey5.jpg

Do you want to make your own natural liquid fertilizer? One that is especially rich in potassium and perfect to encourage flowers and fruit set? I will show you how I make it with photos taken from my own creation of this potassium rich, super plant food.

No need to purchase fertilizer from the store. You too can make this potent liquid fertilizer at home by growing comfrey. Comfrey liquid fertilizer is completely natural. That means you are not exposing yourself or your plants to any type of synthetic chemicals. Also, you are not financially supporting the companies that make money contaminating the soil and food supply. I mostly use this fertilizer on my tomatoes, peppers, potatoes, squashes, cucumbers, melons, berries, and fruit trees. But I will also use it on any plant that needs a little pick me up.
white_space.jpg
comfrey11.jpg

Comfrey

Comfrey (Symphytum officinale) is a quintessential permaculture plant. It has so many uses in and out of the garden and a must have in any food forest. I first learned about comfrey when I started on the permaculture journey a few years ago. I guess I was lucky to come across such a versatile staple so early in my permaculture journey. But I guarantee you, it's never too late to make comfrey a permanent addition to your growing area.
white_space.jpg

What is Permaculture?

If you are new to permaculture, I highly recommend the book by Toby Hemenway called "Gaia's Garden". It is a great entry book and to quote the book:

white_space.jpgPermaculture uses a set of principles and practices to design sustainable human settlements. Permaculture began as a set tool for designing landscapes that are modeled after nature, yet include humans.white_space.jpg

comfrey6.jpg

white_space.jpg

divider3_space.jpg

Why is Comfrey a Quintessential Plant?

  • Comfrey is a member of the borage family. It blooms in my food forest from early Spring to frost. Its white and purple blossoms are adored by pollinators. I have the Bocking #4 strain of Russian comfrey in my food forest. This variety and the Bocking #14 variety of comfrey are sterile, which means seeds are not viable. The sterile varieties are propagated by root cuttings.
  • Comfrey is an awesome nutrient accumulator. Its long fat tap roots reach deep into the soil and pull out nutrients that are otherwise beyond the reach of average plant roots. Comfrey accumulates the nutrients in its leaves, stems and roots. You can chop and drop comfrey leaves as mulch and bring the nutrients back to the top of the soil, so the nutrients are again accessible to shallow rooted plants.
  • Comfrey is an amazing biomass producer. I cut my comfrey leaves about three to five times each growing season. Mulching with comfrey leaves is a great way to add fertility to your soil. Comfrey leaves have high amounts of nitrogen. Therefore, it will not steal, or use up the nitrogen in the soil while decomposing. Now that sounds like the perfect mulch. Make sure to water the comfrey plants well after each cut to encourage new growth.
  • Comfrey has medicinal properties that promote healing of many types of injuries. It was once called knitebone because it increases healing and recovery time from bone injuries. I make tinctures and poultices with my own comfrey.

white_space.jpg

comfrey7.jpg

divider3_space.jpg

Nutritional Value of Comfrey

white_space.jpgComfrey is high in just about every nutrient a plant needs, but it is especially rich in potassium. white_space.jpgYou can see from the table below that wilted Comfrey contains significantly higher quantities of Potash compared to other organic fertilizers. It’s well recorded that Comfrey is an excellent source of potassium (K). This is a major nutrient that is required by plants in large amounts for proper growth and reproduction.white_space.jpg

comfrey_1.jpgsource

divider3_space.jpg

Natural Fertilizer You Can Grow Yourself

I am going to show you my preferred way of using comfrey to produce free, natural, and potent liquid fertilizer for our food forest.

  1. Get two 5 gallon plastic buckets. Drill a few small holes on the bottom of one of the buckets. This is the top bucket. I drilled four 1/4" holes, evenly spaced. The other bucket will not have holes. That will be your bottom or collection bucket.
  2. Cut your comfrey at the base of the plant about 4" above ground. Put the cut comfrey in the top bucket. that's the one with the 1/4" drilledholes. Place one, or several, rocks or stones on top of the comfrey to act as a weight or press. This will slowly squeeze the juices from the plants.
  3. Put a rock in the bottom bucket. My rock is about the size of a fist. This will act as a spacer between the two buckets. Put the bucket full of cut comfrey (top bucket)inside the bucket without holes (bottom bucket). The rock inside the bottom bucket, acting as a spacer, will keep the top bucket with comfrey elevated. This will allow the juices to drip through the top bucket holes into the bottom bucket and accumulate.
  4. Secure the top bucket with a lid to prevent rain from getting in. Set both buckets (stacked on top of each other) in a shady area and wait a couple of weeks.
  5. The cut comfrey leaves in the top bucket will start to produce a dark liquid as the leaves decompose. This liquid will drain to the bottom bucket through the holes. Don't forget to place a rock at the bottom of the bucket without holes prior to stacking the one full of comfrey (with holes) on top, so this black liquid produced by comfrey can drain down.
  6. This dark liquid produced by cut comfrey leaves after a few weeks is super potent. I dilute mine 15 to 1 with water for established plants and dilute more if plants are small. I use this liquid to encourage plants to set flowers and fruits or when they just need a little pick me up. You can use this liquid fertilizer when watering into the soil. Or it can be sprayed directly onto the leaves. Have to warn you though, this liquid does not smell good. Not good at all. But, like my husband says, "I don't care how bad it smells since I know where the smell is coming from". You can store this liquid fertilizer if not used right away.

divider3_space.jpg

Photo illustration of how I make free comfrey liquid fertilizer

white_space.jpg

comfrey9.jpgCut & chop comfrey at the base of the plant a few inches above ground

comfrey.jpgPut the cut comfrey leaves in the bucket with holes. Weight the whole thing down with a heavy rock (put a heavy rock on top where you see a pair of scissors in the photo)

comfrey3.jpgPlace a rock in the bucket without holes, so once the second bucket is placed inside this bucket, it will be alleviated and liquid can drain to the bottom bucket through the holes freely

comfrey2.jpgStack the two buckets by adding the bucket full of cut comfrey inside the bucket without holes

comfrey8.jpgSecure the top bucket with a lid to prevent rain from getting into the buckets

comfrey10.jpgSet both buckets (stacked on top of each other) in a shady area. Check the bottom bucket after a couple of weeks for dark comfrey liquid

comfrey_fertilizer.jpg This potent comfrey liquid fertilizer is especially rich in potassium, perfect to encourage flowers and fruit set. You can store this liquid fertilizer if not used right away

Building up Soil and Saving Money

When growing vegetables, I am harvesting on a regular basis. That means soil fertility is constantly being diminished. Adding cut comfrey leaves directly on top of the soil or applying liquid comfrey fertilizer on it will rapidly add fertility back into the soil. Fresh comfrey leaves have high nitrogen content and will not steal nitrogen from the soil while decomposing. I also plant comfrey plants right at the base of fruit trees. Then, as the comfrey leaves break down, they slowly feed the fruit trees. Using nutrient accumulating plants such as comfrey in the garden can save you money on fertilizer and is a great way to build up soil.

The dark nutrient rich liquid produced by comfrey is an amazing natural fertilizer you can make at home from comfrey you can grow yourself. How awesome is that! Talk about self sufficiency and closing the loop on a food forest by recycling and using everything on the property.

Remember fertility in nature does not come from a bag of fertilizer, it comes from vegetation and living organisms. It's a whole nother world below our feet. One that is alive and ready to share it's accomplishments so all can flourish. It's up to us to take advantage of those properties and realize their purpose.

white_space.jpg
Two buckets, a few holes, rocks, comfrey, and time is all one needs to pull the concentrated fertility from comfrey. If you buy it, you probably had to work a few hours for the money to purchase it. Why not spend a bit of your hard earned wages on these simple items and learn how to make it. Then, you never have to work another day to buy comfrey. It will be working for you instead.
white_space.jpg

white_space.jpg
comfrey4.jpg

All photos come from my food forest
Photo copyright: @thelaundrylady

I am so glad to find like minded people on Steemit! It's a community I am happy to be part of. If you like my post, please upvote, resteem and comment. I would love to hear from you.

I am so honored to be an official passenger on the #ecotrain, a group of great people who are working hard to make this world a better place. Check out the previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain.

white_space.jpg

etrain.png

Sort:  

Definitely coming back to read this in detail. Looks like great info!

Thank you. You won't be disappointed if you make comefrey fertilizer at home.

I grow a lot of comfrey, and think I might try this. Resteeming so I can find it.

I like using Busy to bookmark stuff, though I like scrolling through Steemit too! I wish Steemit had a bookmark function!

Great information you are sharing @thelaundrylady, I have made nettle fertilizer which is the same process, so geed for the garden xgreat to see it on here and welcome on board the EcoTrain xxx

Thank you so much! I am so honored to be part of EcoTrain

Oh my god woman... I was going to write about comfrey fertiliser today.. you beat me to it haha... I must say, stellar job!! Mine is more 'Chuck it in a bucket' kinda deal.

For anyone reading this DO NOT HESITATE ... it's seriously a WONDER fertiliser!!! I've given it to friends who doubted me and they were amazed with what it did to their vegies.

I love the sophistication of your bucket system!!!!

You should still do a post on how you make comfrey fertilizer. I would love to read it. Plus you have way more followers and it's important to show people how to make fertilizers from comfrey at home for free, so more people can start growing naturally and stop spending money and end up supporting big corporations that are destroying our environment. I think people only buy "Miracle Grows" because they don't know there is a much better option that is natural and free.

You and I have both experienced how wonderful comfrey fertilizer is for growing food, so let's spread the word.

I will just resteem yours!!!

I used to buy a seaweed fertiliser and every one buys that here. It's good but comfrey is cheap... free! And fab. I have a huge amount so I'm always ripping it off to chuck in for compost layers too!

Thank you for the resteem! How do you use your comfrey fertilizer? Do you spray on the leaves or use it to water?

I use it to water, as i use it en masse in the garden. But thats a good point... you could use it on leaves, as you do that with seaweed fertiliser on ailing plants?

Also... to water in seedlings....

Yes, I do both. I have read different views from different people. Some people believe it's best to use to feed the roots and some believe it's best used on leaves. Not sure who is right, but I do both and plants seem to love it no matter which way I apply. I was just curious if you had a different opinion or experience.

No and to be honest Id never thought abput it. What i wpuld really like is an attachment on my hose so i can spray it that way instead of a waterering can.

This is a great post on so many levels! I grow tons of comfrey "bocking 14" as you do and have had great sucess with everything you mention, except its medicinal properties/uses so i ill be reading up on that. Thanks so much for postong. Resteemed,upvoted and followed!

Thank you! Glad to hear you had great success as well with comfrey! The medicinal property of comfrey is amazing. You will definitely be using it if you read up on it.

Woah very cool! Had no idea this was a thing. Will be following you. I haven't seen any comfrey on the land I work. Do you have any idea if Burdock might work as well? Thanks for the informative post.

Thank you. Sorry I don't have any experience with Burdock.

Thanks anyway. Love your article

yes. this post is also helpful for me. i will follow him for make a big garden. thank you bro.

yes it will work?

I've just sown some comfrey and its close relative borage. It's an amazing plant that has so many uses. I'm glad it's not just seen as an annoying weed anymore. Great post and welcome aboard fellow passenger ❤❤

Thank you so much! You are the reason I am even a passenger on the ecoTrain. Thank you for taking the time to walk me through everything! Truly enjoy everything I have read with the tag so far.

Aww thank you too! I'm glad you're finding your way on Steemit and Ecotrain. You deserve to be recognized. :-) xx <3

You won't regret it!!!! The bees love it too!!!!

Thank you. xxx

hanks for this post! Comfrey is my go to herbal for most wound healing! I also make tincture, and have found it to be effective on muscles, tendons, arthritis, bruising, and bone damage.

Great post! Re-steemed, and I planted 20 roots on the new land for tincture; I may need to double that now! :)

Thank you for the resteem. Comfrey is a must have here. So many uses for sure! I have been adding more to my food forest every year. Can't get enough of comfrey.

Comfrey is a great herbal for accelerated healing. It seems to be most effective on arthritis.

How do you use comfrey for accelerated healing? Poultice? Tincture? Herbal tea?

I use formentation of a tincture of comfrey, kept wet overnight. Sometimes I use a poltice of comfrey tea leaves, for forced healing. The tea itself is used to keep the poltice wet, and lasts for a couple of days in the refrigerator

Great info! Thanks for sharing.

The word for this function is 'volnerary'; it accelerates healing by cell proliferation. Comfrey is the most powerful volnerary I have yet found. It has been used for healing purposes for over 25 centuries.

But I love this post on fertilizer, more uses for an old friend! :)

You seem to have a lot of knowledge on the medicinal use of comfrey. You should do a post on that and share what you know! I would love to learn more and I bet more people would as well.

This is FANTASTIC information.

I'm off to check my weeds to see if we already have any. If not, I'm getting seeds. Pronto.

Thanks for the great post!

As a followup, I read up on the different kinds of comfrey, found three wild plants in my yard and then decided to order a crown of the Russian Bocking 14 from a seller on Etsy who had good ratings from the past month. I started thinking about what would happen if I tried to propagate heirloom comfrey by seed and thought I might have a tough time rescuing everything else from it considering I recognized it right away when I went out in my small suburban back yard and immediately found it. I've pulled a lot of comfrey plants in my life, it turns out!

The sterile variety such as bocking 14 will not spread by seeds. I like that about the sterile variety, that way I don't have comfrey showing up everywhere that's unwanted. I purchased all my comfrey from Coe's comfrey. I have ordered from other sources before and not happy with them. Coe's comfrey always gives me extra root cuttings for free with each purchase.

This is really really cool! It may be too late in my zone for me to start comfrey this year, but I'll definitely add it to my list for next year! Thanks so much for all the amazing information. This is a really well written and photographed post. Resteem!

Thank you for the resteem and so glad you find the post helpful! I love the bocking #4 variety of comfrey I grow and since it is sterile, I don't have to worry about it popping up in unwanted places like common comfrey can do.

Good tip! Does common comfrey spread like wildfire?

I don't have common comfrey in my food forest but that is what I have heard. They can become a weed from the seeds. You can purchase the sterile variety online easily if interested. I purchased mine online.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58130.32
ETH 2361.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38