You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do you want to make your own natural liquid fertilizer? One that is especially rich in potassium and perfect to encourage flowers and fruit set?

in #gardening6 years ago

hanks for this post! Comfrey is my go to herbal for most wound healing! I also make tincture, and have found it to be effective on muscles, tendons, arthritis, bruising, and bone damage.

Great post! Re-steemed, and I planted 20 roots on the new land for tincture; I may need to double that now! :)

Sort:  

Thank you for the resteem. Comfrey is a must have here. So many uses for sure! I have been adding more to my food forest every year. Can't get enough of comfrey.

Comfrey is a great herbal for accelerated healing. It seems to be most effective on arthritis.

How do you use comfrey for accelerated healing? Poultice? Tincture? Herbal tea?

I use formentation of a tincture of comfrey, kept wet overnight. Sometimes I use a poltice of comfrey tea leaves, for forced healing. The tea itself is used to keep the poltice wet, and lasts for a couple of days in the refrigerator

Great info! Thanks for sharing.

The word for this function is 'volnerary'; it accelerates healing by cell proliferation. Comfrey is the most powerful volnerary I have yet found. It has been used for healing purposes for over 25 centuries.

But I love this post on fertilizer, more uses for an old friend! :)

You seem to have a lot of knowledge on the medicinal use of comfrey. You should do a post on that and share what you know! I would love to learn more and I bet more people would as well.

I will. I have tried postings with other herbals, with little response. I thought I might document the tincture making process, on the next batch. It takes a couple of weeks to extract the liquid from the root, and mix up the tincture, to get the allintoin (the active ingredient) out; without damaging it.

The information you posted on the fertilizer uses of Comfrey was good information, with well presented scientific support. I saw a post from England on fertilizer use of Comfrey, but it was just one person's opinion (it worked for me). Interesting but not enough for an informed decision.

Do you add the used comfrey leaves to a compost heap? THANKS! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65395.33
ETH 2611.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67