Farm Update: Turtle Hatching Experiment

in #gardening7 years ago

I know they look like sandy golf balls in a bag but those things are actually turtle eggs. John noticed them at the market, 70 pesos for that bag and I bought them. I wasn't sure if they could be hatched but I had a hunch and it seems I might get lucky after some research, I figured out how to hatch them if they're viable.

Oddly enough you basically plant them in moist soil and keep it moist for 50-55 days until they hatch. Some people do an incubator to 80 degrees Fahrenheit but it's not necessary, you just cannot go over 90 degrees or they'll die.

Not sure yet what I'm going do do with the turtles once they hatch. My guess is they'll be sea turtles that I'll go and release into the ocean.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Farm Update: Silkies (Rare Chickens) Are Growing and Thriving
Farm Update: Two Broody Hens
Farm Update: How I cured My Silkies (Rare Chickens) Cold without Antibiotics

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco Sunsets: Getting Forking Ready
Jungle Shots: A Walk to the Cemetary
Anarchaforko Anarchapulco Fork Update: Calling All Creators Who Do We Want Involved with This Thing?

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

I just heard today that the temperature of the ground determines their sex. And with warming temps worldwide there are too many female turtles. Not sure if you have any control over that, but the wild population needs males!

If anything I suspect my temps of being a little on the cold side, if that's true I'm doing what I can lol

If they're the size of golf balls, they'd have to be sea turtles which means it really sux that someone dug them up to sell... I hope they hatch so you can release them...

They're likely sea turtles. I hope they hatch too

You have a knack for creating cliff-hanger type posts...

This experiment is awesome! I really hope that some, if not all of these eggs, are viable. And I wonder if they hatch, if they might imprint on you? Wouldn't that be something marvelous!?!

releasing them back to their natural habitat is the best thing you can do for them, if they are sea turtles then the sea will be the only place worthy for them, would love to see how they look when they hatch

That's my idea. I'll take some photos then take em and release them :)

Can’t wait to see if they hatch ☺️

I really didn't before that someone can hatch the turtle eggs at home. That's interesting one. Thanks for enriched me in knowledge.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33