Farm Update: Silkies (Rare Chickens) are Growing and Thriving!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

My silkie chickens Salt and Pepper are pampered, especially since having had a cold in their young lives. They've recovered (for the most part, Salt has always looked sickly) and are full of energy. I knew they were better when they started chronically knocking over their food and water bowls. They spend their afternoons outside in this tiny enclosure and I took these photos to show their progress.

They're growing and getting stronger by the day. I can feel it when I pick them up in the morning. They're just bigger and their muscles are more pronounced.

I'm a little attached to these birds to say the least. These are likely going to be bred and their babies sold once I've made enough for myself to be satisfied. This breed is also known for it's extreme tendency to go broody which means they love to sit on eggs, making them live egg incubators.

I still don't know their gender, but I'm hoping for a boy and a girl. The plan is to try and get more regardless, but still our sources are hours away and would require travel.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Farm Update: Lily Gets Adorable Favorite Silkie Chicks
Farm Update: How I Cured My Silkies (Rare Baby Chickens) Without Antibiotics
Farm Update: Two Broody Hens

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Acapulco 2018 New Years Midnight Fireworks Photo Shoot 6
Kombucha Chronicles Update: First 5 Gallon Brew
Sleepy Sammie Cute Dog Photo Shoot

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Those chickens look so unique! Love the names Salt and Pepper for them too, couldn't be more perfect :).

I'm just waiting till I get an orange one so I can name it ginger LOL

They are adorable! So fuzzy...

Hopefully they continue to recover and provide lots of enjoyment, and eggs, for you and your crew! No free ranging, eh? That must be something that depends on the breed or is it more of a neighborhood kind of thing?

It's called I live in very rugged terrain and free ranging means basically giving up my birds to the mountain LOL But especially for this breed they will be hyper protected.

they looks different from other !! glad to know they getting healthy .

I am glad to read that you silkies made it through their illness.
Keep us all pictured on the progress.

Good to see such beautiful chickens. They are growing and getting healthy. Stay blessed. Follow for more such cute photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56690.25
ETH 2380.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33