Farm Update: How I Cured My Silkies (Baby Rare Chickens) Cold without Antibiotics

in #gardening6 years ago

So they're awkward and dirty but the silkies are officially better and no longer sick. It took several weeks and a lot of care but they made it through their cold, partially due to @jasonhenza rushing some natural medicine from the states for them.

So what to do with a sick silkie or baby chick?

There's an all natural product in the US called VetRx that chicken owners swear by. I had no access to that and had to take things into my own hands. The entire purpose of the VetRx is to help clear up the symptoms long enough for the birds to fight the cold naturally. So all I needed to do was try and find things to help with their issues from natural antibiotics like raw garlic to black pepper.

What I did without it was this, black pepper in the water. Yes, you read that right. It worked wonderfully as a decongestant. It'd take a silkie that was gasping for air to one that only sneezed every so often and it worked by making them sneeze out the stuff clogging their windpipes. I also gave them several chest rubs a day to help move around the stuff in their chest, it seemed to work.

Eventually I started adding garlic powder, black pepper and ground ginger to their food which seemed to stimulate their appetite. By the time @jasonhenza got here with the VetRx they were only sneezing once in a while. They also had plugged noses that needed wiped off several times a day.

The way colds work with chickens is just to keep them strong and happy through it and I did a surprisingly good job. We were always adjusting the climate for them to keep them comfortable from taking them outside during the day for fresh air (in a small one bird enclosure) to the chest rubs. I'm happy to say I didn't loose either of the over expensive chickens and they spend their days being feisty little chicks. They chat up a storm and have stolen my heart.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!

Farm Update: Lily Gets Adorable Favorite Silkie Chicks
Farm Update: Hoping for Fertilized Chicken Eggs
Farm Update: She's Gone Broody Side Burned Chicken Sitting on Eggs

In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:

Lily's Little Garden: Still Growing Up Here 2
Acapulco New Years Fireworks Blowout
Acapulco 2018 New Years Midnight Fireworks Photo Shoot

Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Wow! They are so cute!!! 😍

Wow great your farm and this baby chicken is very nice..Thanks for sharing...

I’m starting to get a cold... perhaps I’ll try the same thing!

I like your heirloom chickens! So glad things are looking up for them!

This post has received gratitude of 0.62 % from @appreciator thanks to: @lily-da-vine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98