Farm Update: Two Broody Hens

in #photography7 years ago

I've got the suspicion many of my hens are going broody because of the winter time and Sizzle (the white speckled one) seems to be trying to at least pretend to be broody. I found her like this today, sitting on some of the eggs I've set under Judd, which is 4 now at this point as she seems very serious about this.

Sizzle seems to be pretending because she only sometimes sits on eggs, where I've only seen Judd (black one) off the eggs once to stretch her legs and drink water, soon returning to her spot.

They're still laying eggs that aren't fertilized so I've been getting them to stand up each day to allow me to remove the fresh eggs. I get noises of warning but I think so long as I leave them something to sit on they'll be fine.

Did you enjoy this post? Check out the links below for more like this one!



In case you missed them, some of my recent posts:



Hi there, if you're new to my blog here on Steemit check out this for more information on who we are and how we got here.

If you found this valuable don't forget to upvote, resteem or comment on this post!

Thanks for following and supporting us, until next time!

Sort:  

Yep; Judd looks pretty committed to sitting on those eggs!

Funny that Sizzle is just going through the motions. Perhaps she feels she needs to do something just to compete with Judd...

I think so. Her and Judd used to scratch around together all day and now Judd just sits in that spot with her determined face on.

nice hens. i like your animal photography. thanks for sharing

Wow great photography ..I appreciate to your blog..Carry on your activity ...Best of luck...

Great photos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43